Skip to Main Content

How a speeding ticket impacts your insurance in Utah

USA, Utah, Salt Lake City, Empty road with speed limit sign
Jessica Peterson/Getty Images
Bankrate Logo

Why you can trust Bankrate

While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation for . This content is powered by (NPN: 8781838). For more information, please see our

Receiving a speeding ticket is usually viewed as a minor offense, but the penalties are different in every state. In Utah, drivers pulled over for speeding are subject to various consequences, including hefty fines, higher car insurance premiums and possible license suspension. Utah drivers should understand how a speeding ticket will impact their cost of car insurance and what other penalties they might face.

How much is a speeding ticket in Utah?

The cost of a speeding ticket in Utah depends on the type of violation and how fast the driver was going over the posted speed limit. For instance, a driver going 10mph or less over the speed limit will be fined $130. If a driver travels more than 31mph over the speed limit, they can be fined as much as $480.

In addition, speeding tickets in Utah are more expensive if a driver is caught speeding in a school zone or a construction zone. For perspective, the cost of a speeding ticket in a work zone can be as much as $880 for traveling 31mph or more over the limit.

Utah drivers who receive a speeding ticket will also incur points on their license, typically between 35 and 75 points. If a driver over 21 collects 200 points or more within three years, their license can be suspended for three months to one year. Drivers under 21 years old can lose their license due to one speeding violation.

How much does a speeding ticket increase your car insurance in Utah?

Drivers convicted of speeding in Utah usually see their car insurance rates increase, but the actual increase depends on their age and gender. Data from Quadrant Information Services indicates that Utah drivers can face drastic premium increases from receiving one speeding ticket.

Age Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket % increase
40-year-old male $1,291 $1,725 34%
40-year-old female $1,320 $1,694 28%

How to lower your car insurance after a speeding ticket in Utah

Unfortunately, there is not much you can do to avoid a car insurance rate hike after getting a speeding ticket in Utah. Fortunately, there are a few ways to lower your premium.

Get quotes from other car insurance companies

If you feel like you are paying too much for car insurance after a speeding ticket, get quotes from other insurers. If you find a better rate elsewhere, you might consider switching insurance companies. The table below includes some of the best car insurance companies in Utah and the average annual rate increase after a speeding ticket:

Car insurance company Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket % increase
Allstate $1,421 $2,368 67%
American Family $1,676 $1,755 5%
Farmers $1,116 $1,678 50%
Geico $971 $1,204 24%
Iowa Farm Bureau $1,180 $1,353 15%
Kemper $2,340 $2,953 26%
Nationwide $1,052 $1,278 21%
Progressive $1,195 $1,375 15%
State Farm $1,648 $1,775 8%
USAA $839 $1,012 21%

*Premiums are average annual full coverage premiums for 40-year-olds

When comparing car insurance companies, make sure you are looking at factors besides price, including the coverage options and discounts available, as well as customer reviews and claim handling ratings. Remember that the cheapest car insurance company is not necessarily the best provider for your needs.

Look for discounts

You can find car insurance discounts from most car insurance companies in Utah. However, the exact savings available are unique to each provider. Some of the most common car insurance discounts include savings for bundling your auto and home insurance policies, insuring a new vehicle, being a good student, having no accidents on your record and having certain safety features in your car.

Raise your deductible

A deductible is an out-of-pocket expense you must pay during a claim. The higher your deductible, the lower your premium will be. To get a cheaper car insurance rate, consider increasing your deductible, as long as you can afford the higher out-of-pocket cost in the event of a claim.

Other speeding ticket considerations

In Utah, the biggest consequences for a speeding ticket include a fine, a higher car insurance rate and potential license suspension, depending on how many points are on your record.

Most drivers will not have to attend traffic court after a standard speeding ticket unless they contest the violation. Jail time is not a consequence of getting a speeding ticket in Utah, even for traveling more than 31mph over the speed limit.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best car insurance company for drivers with speeding tickets?

The best car insurance company for drivers with a speeding ticket depends on multiple factors, including the driver’s geographic location, budget and coverage needs. To find the right carrier for you, shop around and compare providers using your criteria. Then, get a few quotes to see which company can offer you the lowest rate with the best coverage.

How much does car insurance cost in Utah?

Utah’s average annual car insurance premium is $1,306 for a full coverage policy and $528 for a minimum coverage policy. However, car insurance premiums are personalized. You might pay a higher or lower rate based on your age, credit score, driving record and claims history.

What are the car insurance laws in Utah?

Utah residents are required to carry at least a minimum amount of car insurance of 25/65/15, which includes $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person, $65,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident and $15,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident. In addition, Utah is a no-fault state, so every driver must carry at least $3,000 in personal injury protection (PIP).


Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on 40-year-old male and female drivers with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:

  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $50,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • $500 collision deductible
  • $500 comprehensive deductible

To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.

Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base) and a single speeding ticket.

These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.

Written by
Elizabeth Rivelli
Insurance Contributor
Elizabeth Rivelli is a contributing insurance writer for Bankrate and has years of experience writing for insurance domains such as The Simple Dollar, and NextAdvisor, among others
Edited by
Managing Editor