Coverage.com, LLC is a licensed insurance producer (NPN: 19966249). Coverage.com services are only available in states where it is licensed. Coverage.com may not offer insurance coverage in all states or scenarios. All insurance products are governed by the terms in the applicable insurance policy, and all related decisions (such as approval for coverage, premiums, commissions and fees) and policy obligations are the sole responsibility of the underwriting insurer. The information on this site does not modify any insurance policy terms in any way.
Average cost of car insurance in Arkansas for 2022
Why you can trust Bankrate
At Bankrate we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation for . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
Arkansas auto insurance rates average $470 for minimum coverage and $1,914 for full coverage. If you are shopping for car insurance in Arkansas, you’ll need to get the minimum amount of insurance required by the state to legally drive, but keep in mind that many factors will influence how much you pay.
How much does car insurance cost in Arkansas?
Besides Arkansas’ minimum car insurance requirements, the factors that will influence your actual premium include:
- Zip code
- Insurance provider
- Driving history
- Car make and model
- Credit score
- Coverage level
- Marital status
The average amount drivers pay for car insurance across the United States is $565 for minimum and $1,674 for full coverage, which means that while Arkansas is cheaper on average for minimum coverage, it is typically more expensive for full coverage.
Arkansas car insurance rates by company
If you are shopping for car insurance in Arkansas, take note of the average premium these companies charge to help you get started. Sometimes the biggest companies offer the lowest rates, and sometimes they don’t. Some companies may start with higher premiums but offer multiple discounts to bring prices down and make them a cheaper option.
|Car insurance company||Average annual premium for minimum coverage||Average annual premium for full coverage|
|Southern Farm Bureau||$316||$1,215|
Arkansas car insurance rates by city
Where you live in Arkansas can also affect the car insurance premium you pay. Below are some average rates in the most populated cities in the state to use as a starting point and how average rates stack up against the state average premium for full coverage.
|City||Average annual premium for full coverage||% increase in average annual premium|
|North Little Rock||$1,964||3%|
Arkansas car insurance rates by age
Like other states, one of the most significant factors that influence Arkansas auto insurance rates is a driver’s age. Drivers under 25 typically pay the highest rates (keeping in mind that the 16-year-old rate assumes the driver is on their parents’ policy), but keep in mind that other factors can drastically change these premiums even if you’re an older driver, such as a poor driving record or a very expensive car.
|Age||Average annual premium in Arkansas|
*16 year old calculated on parent’s policy disclosure
Arkansas car insurance rates by driving record
Car insurance rates in Arkansas, like anywhere, are heavily influenced by your driving record. A speeding ticket, accident or DUI on your record can drive premiums up quickly. And the rates below show the average increase after just a single instance; count on your premiums to rise exponentially if you have multiple offenses over a certain amount of time.
|Driving incident||Average annual full coverage premium in Arkansas||% increase in average annual premium|
How to save on car insurance in Arkansas
Average car insurance rates in Arkansas are not a given. Not only will your unique circumstances affect your premium to begin with, but you can also take several steps to help lower your car insurance costs, including:
- Shop around: Car insurance rates are different from one provider to the next, and getting a cheaper premium may be as simple as switching carriers. Get quotes from several providers in your area to see which company is right for you.
- Compare discounts: The amount you’ll save with discounts varies from one company to the next. Though two companies may offer the same ways to save, you may save more with one in particular. To determine how much you can save with a carrier, you may want to speak with an agent rather than hunt for available discounts online.
- Increase deductible: Increase your deductible, and you’ll likely pay less each month for the same policy. The drawback is that the insurance company will pay out less money towards a claim. Choose a deductible amount that suits your comfort level and budget.
- Increase your credit score: It’s legal in Arkansas for car insurance companies to use your credit score to calculate your premium. Studies have shown that drivers with low credit scores are statistically more likely to file a claim than those with strong scores. Therefore, if you increase your credit score, your premium may go down.
- Drive an older car: Older cars don’t cost as much to insure. To save even more money, drive an older car with a high safety rating that you can also pair up with car-related discounts such as dual airbags and anti-lock brakes.
Frequently asked questions
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.