You’re probably aware that a speeding ticket will raise your insurance, but how much of a difference do Nevada drivers see? It might help to compare average rates. Nevada drivers with a clean driving record pay an average of $2,997 per year for full coverage and $913 for minimum coverage. Those relatively high average rates jump even more after that same driver receives a speeding ticket, with drivers paying an average of $3,597 for full coverage per year and $1,111 for minimum coverage after the infraction.

How much is a speeding ticket in Nevada?

How much you pay for a speeding ticket in Nevada depends on how fast you’re caught driving. Specifically, you can expect to pay $20 for every mile per hour over the speed limit you are driving. For example, a 10-over speeding ticket in Nevada will result in a $200 ticket. Fines do top out at $1,000, but at that point, you may get dinged with a more substantial infraction than speeding, such as reckless driving, which may be punishable by jail time.

In order to curb repeat offenders, Nevada also uses a demerit point system for traffic violations. Accumulating 12 or more demerit points within a 12-month period will result in a six-month license suspension. Here’s a breakdown of the number of points that may be added to your license if convicted of speeding:

  • 41 mph over speed limit: 5 points
  • 31 to 40 mph over speed limit: 4 points
  • 21 to 30 mph over speed limit: 3 points
  • 11 to 20 mph over speed limit: 2 points
  • 1 to 10 mph over speed limit: 1 point
  • Driving too fast for conditions: 2 points

A speeding ticket will typically stay on your record for 12 months before falling off your demerit point total. Suspensions may be longer for drivers who continue to drive recklessly. Should your license be suspended, you can apply for a hardship license. If approved, it will solely allow you to drive to and from work or school.

Compare auto insurance rates

Answer a few questions to see personalized rates from top carriers.
Your information is kept secure

Powered by (NPN: 19966249)

Advertising disclosure
This advertisement is powered by, LLC, a licensed insurance producer (NPN: 19966249) and a corporate affiliate of Bankrate. The offers and links that appear on this advertisement are from companies that compensate in different ways. The compensation received and other factors, such as your location, may impact what offers and links appear, and how, where and in what order they appear. While we seek to provide a wide range of offers, we do not include every product or service that may be available. Our goal is to keep information accurate and timely, but some information may not be current. Your actual offer from an advertiser may be different from the offer on this advertisement. All offers are subject to additional terms and conditions., LLC is a licensed insurance producer (NPN: 19966249). services are only available in states where it is licensed. may not offer insurance coverage in all states or scenarios. All insurance products are governed by the terms in the applicable insurance policy, and all related decisions (such as approval for coverage, premiums, commissions and fees) and policy obligations are the sole responsibility of the underwriting insurer. The information on this site does not modify any insurance policy terms in any way.

How much does a speeding ticket increase your car insurance in Nevada?

Insurers calculate drivers’ insurance premiums based on risk. As such, Nevada car insurance companies are unlikely to turn a blind eye toward convicted speeders. If you have a speeding ticket on your record, you may see a significant increase in your car insurance costs, as reflected in the table below. Serious or repeat offenders may even be labeled high-risk drivers and find it challenging to find coverage at all.

Age Premium before speeding ticket* Premium after speeding ticket* Percentage increase
40-year-old male $3,000 $3,524 17%
40-year-old female $2,994 $3,669 23%
Total average $2,997 $3,597 20%

*Premiums are average annual full coverage premiums for 40-year-olds

How to lower your car insurance after a speeding ticket in Nevada

After any traffic violation, including speeding, you can expect your car insurance rate to increase. However, this doesn’t mean lower rates are out of reach. Experts recommend getting quotes from several insurers to compare and asking an agent about potential discounts for which you may qualify.

Get quotes from other car insurance companies

Some insurance carriers penalize speeding tickets more than others. So, to increase your odds of finding the right quote for your situation, it might be beneficial to shop around and compare several companies. The chart below shows how vast the difference in your premium may be from one carrier to another. We’ve sorted the rates from cheapest to most expensive average rates after a speeding ticket in Nevada.

Car insurance company Premium before speeding ticket* Premium after speeding ticket* Percentage increase
Geico $1,347 $1,639 22%
USAA $1,934 $2,290 18%
Progressive $2,030 $2,700 33%
Country Financial $2,726 $3,249 19%
State Farm $2,850 $3,426 20%

*Premiums are average annual full coverage premiums for 40-year-olds

Look for discounts

With a speeding ticket on your record, you may no longer qualify for certain safe driving discounts — at least in the short term. But that doesn’t mean you’ll be barred from all savings opportunities. Here are some car insurance discounts you may want to ask your provider about:

  • Bundling: By purchasing your home and auto coverage from the same provider, you can lower your total insurance costs.
  • Safe driving course: Taking an approved driving course could result in savings. In addition, it may allow you to remove demerit points from your driving record.
  • Telematics program: These programs involve installing a device into your vehicle or downloading an app on your phone to track your driving habits. This is an opportunity to prove that you are a safe driver, even with a speeding ticket on your record, and may amount to insurance savings.
  • Multi-car policies: Having multiple cars on one policy can lower your total costs by 10 to 25 percent, which could help offset the rate hike from your speeding ticket.
  • Deductibles: This is less of a discount and more of a strategy. But raising your deductible will ultimately lower your premium. However, you will have to pay more out of pocket if you have to file a claim, so proceed with caution.
  • Vehicle safety features: Many insurers provide discounts if your vehicle is equipped with specific safety features like daytime running lights, adaptive cruise control, anti-lock brakes or security systems.

Frequently asked questions

    • If you have a speeding ticket on your record, you can still find the best insurance company for your driving needs. Comparing multiple providers is a smart way to find the best rates, plus the coverage options you need. You can also explore discounts and reviews for more in-depth information on individual companies.
    • Nevada charges $20 for every mile over the limit. So, if you’re going 10 mph over the speed limit, you can expect to receive a fine of around $200. Keep in mind that the state also utilizes a demerit point system, so you’ll also get 1 point added to your license. It takes one year for speeding points to fall off.
    • Most speeding ticket points fall off of your license after 12 months. However, if you’ve accumulated 12 points or more from speeding, your license may be suspended for up to six months. Keep in mind that a speeding ticket coupled with a more serious offense, like a DUI, could result in an automatic license suspension.

      While speeding ticket points typically fall off of your license after a year, insurance providers in Nevada will usually look for infractions like speeding within the past three years. Even if the points are no longer on your license, you may pay higher insurance premiums for a few years.
    • You are technically not required to tell your insurance company about a speeding ticket. However, they will likely find out about it when they look over your driving record at the time of your policy renewal. And if you decide to switch providers, you must report all accidents and traffic violations before receiving a quote (and they’ll check your driving record, as well).
    • No one provider offers the cheapest car insurance to every driver. Each insurer has a proprietary method for calculating rates and weighing the factors that play into your quote. But, keeping speeding tickets off your record is undoubtedly one of the best ways to qualify for more affordable rates.


Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze April 2024 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Rates are weighted based on the population density in each geographic region. Quoted rates are based on a single, 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:

  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $50,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • $500 collision deductible
  • $500 comprehensive deductible

To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2022 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.

These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.

Incidents: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base) and single speeding ticket.

Gender: The following states do not use gender as a determining factor in calculating premiums: California, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, North Carolina, Pennsylvania.