Drivers in Missouri may be required to get a SR-22 insurance form if they get their license suspended following a serious accident or traffic violation. Despite the name, SR-22 insurance is not a true form of insurance. It is a certificate that proves you carry the minimum amount of required car insurance in the state.
Some Missouri drivers are also required to purchase a similar certificate, called an SR-22A form, to prove their insurance coverage. Having an SR-22 or SR-22A form on your driving record will affect your car insurance premium, plus it comes with additional fines and fees that will impact you financially once your license is reinstated.
What is “SR-22 insurance?”
SR-22 insurance is a special form of proof of insurance that is required for high-risk drivers. It certifies that you carry the minimum amount of car insurance required in Missouri, which is represented as 25/50/10. It includes the following liability coverages:
- $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person
- $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident
- $10,000 in property damage coverage per accident
High-risk drivers include individuals who have been convicted of a DUI, were caught driving without car insurance, caused an accident that had fatalities or major injuries or received any serious traffic violation that resulted in license suspension.
Getting an SR-22 in Missouri is pretty straight forward. First, you will need to find an insurance company that offers it. You will be required to fill out basic paperwork and pay a filing fee. If you do not have car insurance, you will need to buy a policy. Then, the insurance company will send the documents to the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR) to get processed.
SR-22 Missouri alternatives
SR-22s are not the only form of proof of financial responsibility. Some states use SR-22 alternatives based on the type of violation, the insurance requirements and the number of offenses that the driver has committed. For example, Missouri requires SR-22A forms in some situations. Here is a look at SR-22 alternatives used in other states:
|Form||States issued||Required insurance minimums|
|SR-22||Every state except Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New, Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma and Pennsylvania||State minimum insurance coverage|
|SR-19||California and Texas||State minimum uninsured motorist coverage|
|SR-21||Florida, Georgia and Indiana||State minimum insurance coverage|
|SR-22A||Georgia, Texas and Missouri||State minimum insurance coverage|
|FR-44||Florida and Virginia||State minimum coverage with higher liability insurance limits|
|SR-50||Indiana||State minimum insurance coverage|
- SR-19: In California and Texas, an individual is required to submit an SR-19 form if they get hit by an uninsured driver and want to file a claim with their insurance provider.
- SR-21: The SR-21 form is used in Florida, Georgia and Indiana. This form is used to verify a driver’s insurance coverage at the time of an at-fault accident or traffic violation.
- SR-22A: In Georgia, Texas and Missouri, drivers may be required to file an SR-22A form if their driving privileges have been revoked. This form is similar to an SR-22, but it requires the driver to pay their premium bi-annually, rather than monthly.
- FR-44: Florida and Virginia require high-risk drivers to purchase FR-44 insurance, which is almost the same thing as an SR-22. The main difference is that an FR-44 requires drivers to purchase more liability coverage than the state minimum.
- SR-50: Indiana is the only state that uses the SR-50 form, which is used to verify a driver’s insurance coverage if they cause an accident or receive a traffic violation that gets reported to the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).
Missouri drivers who get their license suspended while borrowing someone else’s car are required to purchase a special certificate called a non-owner SR-22. This form only pertains to drivers who do not have their own registered vehicle. In terms of insurance requirements, the SR-22 and the non-owner SR-22 are identical, and both forms stay on your record for the same amount of time.
SR-22A in Missouri
In addition to SR-22 insurance, Missouri also requires some drivers to purchase SR-22A forms. These two forms are similar, but with an SR-22A form, the driver is required to pay their car insurance premium every six months, rather than in 12 monthly installments. The SR-22A form is typically required for drivers who commit multiple offenses or have several serious at-fault accidents on their record.
SR-22 Missouri insurance costs
SR-22 certificates are much cheaper than the cost of car insurance. Drivers pay a small filing fee that is typically no more than $50. There may also be a renewal fee that you are required to pay for every year that the SR-22 stays on your record.
In addition, drivers who get their license suspended in Missouri have to pay a license reinstatement fee. This can range between $20-$400 depending on the type of violation and the number of offenses committed.
Missouri drivers should also know that having an SR-22 on your record will have a big impact on your car insurance premium. Serious violations, like a DUI or driving without insurance citation will cause your insurance premium to skyrocket. Your rate will only start to decrease once the SR-22 has been removed from your driving record.
How long do I need an SR-22 in Missouri?
In Missouri, the amount of time that a driver has to maintain SR-22 insurance depends on the type of offense and the number of offenses committed. For example, after a serious accident, most drivers have an SR-22 for two years. After an insurance-related incident, the SR-22 will stay on your record for three years.
How do I get SR-22 insurance in Missouri?
Getting SR-22 insurance forms in Missouri is simple. The first step is to find an insurance company that sells it. You can usually find SR-22 insurance and SR-22A forms from non-standard insurance providers. You will fill out some paperwork and pay the filing fee. The insurance company will file the paperwork for you and then you will receive a confirmation that your certificate was processed by the Missouri DOR.
How much does SR-22 insurance cost in Missouri?
Missouri SR-22 insurance forms are not expensive. You will pay a small filing fee in order for the insurance company to file and process the documents on your behalf. SR-22 insurance is not really a form of insurance, so the typical factors like credit score and age will not affect the cost.
Which company sells cheap SR-22 insurance in Missouri?
If you are looking for cheap SR-22 insurance in Missouri, call a few providers and ask about their filing fee. Choosing the carrier that charges the lowest fee can help you save some money.