Arkansas SR-22

1
Kilito Chan/Getty Images
Bankrate Logo

Why you can trust Bankrate

While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation for . This content is powered by HomeInsurance.com (NPN: 8781838). For more information, please see our

Most states have car insurance requirements. If you’ve recently been convinced of a major traffic violation like a DUI or reckless driving in the Land of Opportunity, you may have been told that you need to purchase Arkansas SR-22 insurance. Your state may require you to obtain a SR-22 to reinstate your license or as a condition to prevent revocation.

Contrary to what you may have heard, though, an SR-22 isn’t actually an insurance policy. It’s a form that your car insurance company files with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) on your behalf. Some car insurance companies will be able to provide you with a SR-22, but the form often comes with higher premiums due to the associated driving infraction. In addition to higher premiums, your insurance company choices could be limited.

What is “SR-22 insurance?”

An SR-22 is an official document that confirms you have bought at least the minimum required insurance coverage types and limits set forth by your state. These forms are often required if you have a major violation on your driving record. If you cancel or let your policy lapse, your insurance company will alert the state, which could result in fines and license suspension.

If you are required to have an SR-22 in Arkansas, you must purchase at least the state’s minimum insurance requirements, which are:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident.

Your Arkansas insurance company will then file the SR-22 with the state’s DMV on your behalf.

SR-22 Arkansas alternatives

Because each state has its own insurance rules, you may have to file another type of document rather than the SR-22. Whether you will need an alternative to an SR-22 will largely depend on your state and the severity of your violation. If you need a different form, you will be notified.

Form States issued Required insurance minimums
SR-22 Most states (excluding Delaware, Kentucky, Maryland, Minnesota, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma and Pennsylvania) State minimum
SR-19 California, Texas Uninsured motorist coverage
SR-21 Florida, Hawaii State minimum
SR-22A Georgia, Texas, Missouri State minimum or more, pre-paid
FR-44 Florida, Virginia Higher than state minimum (up to double)
FR-19 Maryland State minimum
SR-50 Indiana State minimum
  • SR-19: The SR-19 form is usually required when you are involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist. In Texas and California, you may need an SR-19 after an uninsured motorist accident.
  • SR-21: An SR-21 is used to verify that you had insurance at the time of an accident. It is usually requested after an accident to prove that you were insured, regardless of fault.
  • SR-22A: This form is similar to an SR-22, but it is used to show proof that you have paid for your insurance coverage for an extended length of time.
  • FR-44: An FR-44 is similar to the SR-22 but it requires that you carry levels of coverage that are higher than the state minimum.
  • FR-19: This form is only used in Maryland and provides proof of insurance for 30 days.
  • SR-50: An SR-50 is used to confirm that a driver had satisfactory insurance coverage at a past date.

Non-owner SR-22

A non-owner SR-22 may be required for those who must have an SR-22 but do not own their own vehicle. You’ll first need to purchase a non-owner car insurance policy and then ask the company to file the SR-22 form on your behalf.

SR-22 Arkansas insurance costs

Needing an SR-22 in Arkansas can become quite expensive. Although filing fees are generally not too high, the driving incident that led to you needing the SR-22 will likely increase your insurance premiums substantially.

The average cost of car insurance in Arkansas is $1,914 per year for full coverage. However, insurance costs vary by a number of factors, including your driving record. The more severe the citation that warranted the SR-22 requirement, the greater your rate increase will likely be. Even the best car insurance companies will likely increase your rates after a driving incident, to compensate for the greater risk of insuring you. You may still be able to find cheap car insurance, though, by using a few strategies like shopping around, switching carriers and taking advantage of discounts.

Frequently asked questions

How long do I need an SR-22 in Arkansas?

If you are required to obtain an SR-22 in Arkansas, you will most likely need to keep it on file for three years, although the time period could vary. During the three-year period, you will be required to have the proper insurance continuously without any gaps. Failure to maintain your insurance will result in the state being notified, which could then mean your license is suspended until you show proof of the SR-22 insurance again.

How do I get SR-22 insurance in Arkansas?

To obtain an SR-22 in Arkansas, you will have to purchase at least the state’s minimum liability car insurance requirements. Once you select an insurance company, you can ask the carrier to file an SR-22 form with the DMV. You may get a copy of the form or it may be filed electronically directly to the state.

How much does SR-22 insurance cost in Arkansas?

On average, insurance companies charge a small filing fee to file an SR-22 in Arkansas. However, although SR-22s are not insurance, your premium will likely still be affected by the incident that led to the SR-22. Car insurance rates vary by state and company, and your rate will depend on your specific driving history and other rating factors.

What if I move from Arkansas?

If you move, the best course of action is to notify the state to ask for guidance. You may have to abide by the requirements of the state that you are moving to, which could mean filing an SR-22 form with that state’s DMV or switching to a different type of form, if an SR-22 is not the proper filing for that state.

What is the cheapest company in Arkansas for SR-22 insurance?

Based on our research, USAA, Southern Farm Bureau and Farmers offer the cheapest car insurance in Arkansas. However, rates will vary based on the infraction that is causing you to need the SR-22 and your other rating factors. Shopping around and getting quotes from several carriers could help you find the cheapest option for you.

Written by
Grace Kim
Insurance Contributor
Grace Kim has two years of experience in writing for finance and insurance domains such as The Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in New Jersey at Bankrate and Reviews.com. She has written about auto, homeowners, renters and life insurance. She holds an M.Sc from New York University in Corporate Communications and has spent most of her professional experience writing about finance and tech topics.
Edited by
Insurance Writer & Editor