After a significant traffic violation or DWI conviction, some Alaska drivers are required to purchase SR-22 insurance. SR-22 insurance is not actually a type of car insurance policy. You can think of an SR-22 like a special type of proof of insurance that confirms you meet the state’s minimum car insurance coverage requirements.
In some states, SR-22s are replaced by similar financial responsibility certificates, like an FR-44 or SR-21. Additionally, the cost of a SR-22 insurance can vary by state. We will discuss the SR-22 laws in Alaska specifically and what fees are required when you need to file SR-22.
What is “SR-22 insurance?”
SR-22 insurance is a form of proof of insurance. It verifies that you carry the state’s minimum amount of required insurance coverage. In Alaska, drivers are required to carry at least 50/100/25 liability insurance, which includes $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, $100,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident and $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident.
Alaska drivers typically need SR-22 insurance when they receive a serious traffic citation or lose their driver’s license. Common situations when you might need an SR-22 include getting a DWI, getting caught driving without insurance or causing an accident with fatalities.
Not every car insurance company offers SR-22s in Alaska. To get SR-22 insurance in Alaska, you might need to find an insurance carrier that specializes in non-standard insurance. Once you find a provider, you will fill out the SR-22 paperwork and the insurance company will file it with the Alaska DMV. If you do not have car insurance, you will also need to purchase a policy.
SR-22 Alaska alternatives
An SR-22 is just one certificate that proves you carry the required amount of car insurance in your state. Some states use SR-22 alternatives to verify your insurance coverage after an accident or traffic violation. Here are some common SR-22 alternatives, which states offer them and how they affect your car insurance requirements.
|Form||States issued||Required insurance minimums|
|SR-22||Every state except Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New, Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma and Pennsylvania||State minimum insurance coverage|
|SR-19||California and Texas||State minimum coverage for uninsured motorist insurance|
|SR-21||Florida, Georgia and Indiana||State minimum insurance coverage|
|SR-22A||Georgia, Texas and Missouri||State minimum insurance coverage|
|FR-44||Florida and Virginia||State minimum coverage with increased liability insurance limits|
|SR-50||Indiana||State minimum insurance coverage|
- SR-19: SR-19 forms are used in California and Texas. An SR-19 is required in order to file an insurance claim if a driver gets hit by someone who does not have insurance. Submitting an SR-19 does not have any impact on car insurance requirements, as long as the driver carries the minimum amount of uninsured motorist coverage.
- SR-21: SR-21 forms are used in Florida, Georgia and Indiana after an at-fault car accident. An SR-21 certifies that a driver held the state’s minimum required amount of insurance on the day of the crash.
- SR-22A: Georgia, Texas and Missouri require the SR-22A form, which is essentially the same as a traditional SR-22 form. It is required if a driver gets their license suspended after a notable traffic violation or serious crash.
- FR-44: The only states that use FR-44 forms are Florida and Virginia. FR-44s are similar to SR-22s, but an FR-44 requires drivers to carry more liability insurance than what is typically required with minimum coverage insurance.
- SR-50: SR-50 forms are only used in Indiana. The Indiana SR-50 form is used to provide proof of insurance coverage with the policy’s start and end date.
Alaska drivers should know that you can still be required to purchase an SR-22 if you do not own a vehicle. If you receive a violation or lose your license when you are borrowing someone else’s vehicle, you will need to get what is called non-owner SR-22 insurance. The insurance requirements for non-owner SR-22 insurance are the same for a regular SR-22.
SR-22 Alaska insurance costs
SR-22 insurance does not cost as much as regular car insurance. When you purchase an SR-22, you will be required to pay a filing fee. This is usually a small cost that does not exceed $50. Once you pay the filing fee, the insurance company will submit the form to the Alaska DMV. If your license has been suspended, you will need to pay a reinstatement fee to get it back.
Having an SR-22 on your record will also impact the cost of your car insurance premium. High-risk drivers pay the highest insurance rates, so expect your rate to increase—potentially significantly—for as long as the SR-22 has to stay on your driving record.
Additionally, drivers in Alaska should consider the legal and financial costs surrounding their violation, especially if you are uninsured. For example, if you get a DUI and go to court, you would be responsible for your lawyer fees and court costs, plus a settlement with other drivers if you caused an accident.
How long do I need an SR-22 in Alaska?
Alaska has strict rules around SR-22s. The required time period is based on the type of offense and the number of offenses you have committed. For most offenses, you will need to have an SR-22 on your record for three years. For a DWI and refusal convictions, you will have the SR-22 for five years for a first offense, 10 years for a second offense and 20 years for a third offense. After a fourth DWI offense or an unsatisfied judgement, you will have the SR-22 on your record for the rest of your life.
How do I get SR-22 insurance in Alaska?
To get Alaska SR-22 insurance, find an insurance company that offers it. If your personal car insurance company does not offer SR-22 insurance, look for providers that specialize in non-standard insurance. Once you fill out the required paperwork, verify your existing insurance coverage or purchase a new policy, the carrier will file the forms with the Alaska DMV.
How much does SR-22 insurance cost in Alaska?
In the state of Alaska, SR-22 insurance is relatively inexpensive. The cost to file an SR-22 is typically less than $50. Remember that SR-22 certificates are not a real insurance policy, so your age, claims history or the type of car you drive will not impact the cost.
How can I get cheap SR-22 insurance in Alaska?
The price of SR-22 insurance in Alaska will not vary significantly between providers. However, you can call around to see which carrier charges the lowest filing fee.
Will Alaska SR-22 insurance affect my credit score?
No, having an SR-22 on your record will not affect your credit score. An SR-22 is linked to your driving record, but it is not reported to the major credit bureaus.