Kansas SR-22

1
Johner Images/Getty Images
Bankrate Logo

Why you can trust Bankrate

While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation for . This content is powered by HomeInsurance.com (NPN: 8781838). For more information, please see our

Depending on the state you live in, the minimum car insurance requirements will vary and, depending on your driving record, you may need to file an SR-22 form with the state. Kansas SR-22 insurance isn’t actually an insurance policy; an SR-22 is a certificate that is often required if you have committed a serious traffic violation or have multiple traffic violations on your driving record. If your license has been suspended, you’ll likely need to show proof of car insurance, via an SR-22 form, to reinstate it.

Not all states require SR-22s, however, as each state has its own traffic laws and insurance requirements. An alternative to SR-22 is an FR-44, which requires more liability coverage than the SR-22. There is also an SR-21, which is requested after damages have been incurred from an accident. Depending on the state you reside in, you may be asked for any of these or even another form like an SR-22A or SR-50.

What is “SR-22 insurance?”

An SR-22 is a form that your car insurance company files with the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) on your behalf that certifies that you have purchased your state’s minimum insurance requirements. Typically, states that require an SR-22 will require you to hold the form for three years. If you cancel your policy or let it lapse, the insurance company will alert your state and your state might revoke or suspend your license until you show proof of insurance again via the SR-22 filing.

An SR-22 is usually required for major traffic violations. For example, you may need an SR-22 if you are convicted of a DUI or reckless driving. To obtain an SR-22 in Kansas, you will have to first purchase at least the state’s minimum insurance requirements. The requirements in Kansas are:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $25,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 underinsured motorist bodily injury per person

You must also purchase personal injury protection (PIP), which has a minimum limit of $4,500 per person for medical expenses and additional individual minimum limits for disability, loss of income, in-home services, funeral, burial or cremation expenses, rehabilitation expenses and survivor benefits.

Your Kansas car insurance company can then file the SR-22 on your behalf with the Kansas DMV. Not all insurance companies will file SR-22 forms, though, so make sure you are upfront about needing the form as you search for carriers.

SR-22 Kansas alternatives

Each state has different insurance rates, requirements and traffic laws. Therefore, not all states require an SR-22; some states have different requirements after different traffic incidents. Whether you actually will have to file an SR-22 and how long you will need to hold it for will depend on your state, the state traffic and insurance laws, and the severity of your traffic violation.

Form States issued Required insurance minimums
SR-22 Most states (excluding Delaware, Kentucky, Maryland, Minnesota, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma and Pennsylvania) State minimum
SR-19 California, Texas Uninsured motorist coverage
SR-21 Florida, Hawaii State minimum
SR-22A Georgia, Texas, Missouri State minimum or more, pre-paid
FR-44 Florida, Virginia Higher than state minimum (up to double)
FR-19 Maryland State minimum
SR-50 Indiana State minimum
  • SR-19: If you get into a car accident with an uninsured driver, you may need to file an SR-19 form if you live in California or Texas.
  • SR-21: SR-21s are usually required after accidents and tickets to confirm that you were insured at the time.
  • SR-22A: The incidents leading up to an SR-22A are similar to that of an SR-22. However, this version of the form means that you are showing proof that you have paid for your insurance coverage for an extended period of time.
  • FR-44: FR-44 forms are used in a few states for repeat offenders or particularly high-risk drivers. These forms show proof to the state that you are carrying higher-than-minimum coverage limits.
  • FR-19: Maryland uses this form to show that you have proof of insurance for a short period of time, usually just 30 days.
  • SR-50: Indiana requires an SR-50 if you have been convicted of two traffic violations in the same year. An SR-50 is similar to an SR-22 as it verifies that you have purchased the state’s minimum insurance requirements.

Non-owner SR-22

If you do not own a vehicle but your state is requiring you to file an SR-22, you may need to purchase a non-owner car insurance policy to obtain the filing. Non-owner car insurance policies are essentially policies for drivers who need insurance coverage but don’t own a car. As you are getting quotes, let the carriers know that you’ll need an SR-22 filing.

SR-22 Kansas insurance costs

If you need to file an SR-22 in Kansas, although the filing fees are not generally too expensive, your insurance premiums can go up significantly due to the traffic violation that is prompting the SR-22. Even the best car insurance companies charge higher rates, on average, for drivers with a history of risky driving behavior.

In Kansas, the average cost of car insurance is $1,698 for full coverage. The increase in your insurance premium due to your SR-22 will likely vary depending on the reason that you are required to file an SR-22 and the severity of your violation, as well as what company you choose and the types and levels of coverage you purchase. However, you may be able to find cheaper car insurance by shopping around. If you find a lower carrier, you might consider switching your insurance for the savings.

Frequently asked questions

How long do I need an SR-22 in Kansas?

Most states require that you carry an SR-22 form for three years but this could vary depending on the specific violation and your state’s laws. During the requirement period, you must maintain your insurance continuously without having any lapse. If you fail to do so, your insurance company will notify the state, and that could result in your license being suspended until you can show that you have the proper insurance and SR-22 filing again.

How do I get SR-22 insurance in Kansas?

If you are required to get SR-22 insurance in Kansas, you will have to research insurance providers that offer SR-22 certificates. You will also have to purchase at least the state’s minimum car insurance requirements. When you file for your minimum liability insurance, you can file an SR-22 with your carrier. Your insurance provider will file your SR-22 on your behalf with the Kansas DMV.

How much does SR-22 insurance cost in Kansas?

If you are filing an SR-22 in Kansas, your insurance company will likely charge a small filing fee for the form itself. However, your insurance premium will likely increase after you file for an SR-22 due to the driving violation that prompted the need for the form. To save money, you could try shopping around to find a cheap Kansas car insurance company.

Do all insurance companies offer SR-22?

No. Some insurance companies will not write policies for drivers who have high-risk incidents on their driving records and will not provide SR-22 filings. To find out if your insurance company offers an SR-22 option, you may want to talk to a representative. If you need to shop for different coverage, you could try seeking out companies that are specifically tailored to high-risk drivers.

How do I know if I need an SR-22?

You’ll be advised by the state. After a serious driving violation, your license may be suspended. You’ll receive a notice with next steps, and if an SR-22 form is required to reinstate your driving privileges, that will be noted. If you are required to file any other type of form, you’ll be advised as well.

Written by
Grace Kim
Insurance Contributor
Grace Kim has two years of experience in writing for finance and insurance domains such as The Cheapest Car Insurance Companies in New Jersey at Bankrate and Reviews.com. She has written about auto, homeowners, renters and life insurance. She holds an M.Sc from New York University in Corporate Communications and has spent most of her professional experience writing about finance and tech topics.
Edited by
Insurance Writer & Editor