Have you recently been ordered to get an Iowa SR-22? Before you start searching the Internet for “Cheap SR22 insurance in Iowa” or “sr22 insurance Iowa”, you should know that SR-22 insurance isn’t a thing. An SR-22 is not a type of insurance or an add-on. It’s basically a certificate confirming you’re insured. States and DMVs often require it after a serious driving offense or conviction.
What is “SR-22 insurance?”
An SR-22 is verification of insurance. It proves to your state that you are carrying, at minimum, basic liability. Iowa requires at least a 20/40/15 policy, which means you have:
- $20,000 per person for bodily injury
- $40,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $15,000 for property damage
If you already have insurance, you will need to contact your insurance provider and ask the representative to send the form to the state. You’ll probably have a filing fee attached to your next bill between $15 and $35, but your job is done after that.
If you don’t already have insurance, you’ll need to shop around and find a company willing to insure drivers in need of SR-22s. You may have issues with local companies, but national providers should be able to accommodate your needs.
SR-22 Iowa alternatives
Iowa doesn’t have other options if you have to file SR-22, but there are variations of it across the country. Here are some of the most common ones attached to driver’s records.
|Form||States issued||Required insurance minimums|
|SR-22||All states except: Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, Oklahoma||Standard liability|
|SR-19||California, Texas||Standard liability|
|SR-21||Florida, Georgia, Indiana||Standard liability|
|SR-22A||Georgia, Texas, Missouri||Standard liability, but 6 months of insurance must be prepaid.|
|FR-44||Florida, Virginia||Double liability|
- SR-19: Both California and Texas use an SR-19. In California, it’s necessary to receive uninsured motorist coverage from an at-fault driver. In Texas, it’s a legal payment agreement between the at-fault driver and an injured party.
- SR-21: This is used to verify that a driver had insurance before an accident.
- SR-22A: Like an SR-22, but is most often used for repeat offenders and requires 6 months of prepayment.
- FR-44: This is used to verify insurance and usually requires double liability.
- SR-50: Verifies financial responsibility after a driver has had certain violations.
A non-owner policy is a good way to satisfy your SR-22 requirement if you don’t own a car. A non-owner policy will enable you to keep your license and still borrow or rent a car. Another great thing about it is that non-owner policies are cheaper than regular policies because you’re not actually insuring a car.
Most national providers offer non-owner policies. However, still make sure they also offer SR-22s as well while rate shopping.
SR-22 Iowa insurance costs
If your license is suspended in Iowa, you may have to pay a $200 civil penalty fee and a $20 driver’s license reinstatement fee.
To get your insurance company to file an SR-22 for you will likely cost between $15 and $35 (costs vary between companies). Luckily, this is only a one-time fee.
However, the true cost of an SR22 in Iowa revolves around the reason the SR-22 was implemented in the first place. DUIs or too many at-fault accidents, for example, are the main culprits behind rising insurance rates, not SR-22s. These incidents will increase your cost of car insurance.
How long do I need an SR-22 in Iowa?
Once your driver’s license has been reinstated, you need to have an SR-22 on file for at least two years. Should you commit another offense within those two years, it’s possible a judge may extend the required amount of time or reset the clock altogether.
How do I get SR-22 insurance in Iowa?
If you are already insured, you can get an SR-22 by simply calling your insurance provider and asking them to send the form to Iowa’s Department of Transportation. If you’re not insured, you will need to find a provider both willing and able to insure drivers in need of SR-22s. This may prove difficult with local providers, but you shouldn’t have any issue with a national carrier. (Read: The Best Car Insurance Companies for 2021)
How much does SR-22 insurance cost in Iowa?
The first cost associated with an SR-22 is the filing fee. The amount varies with each provider, but you can expect to spend between $15 and $35.
The second cost associated with an SR-22 boils down to your driving history. Whatever reason you were ordered to get an SR-22 in the first place is going to be the driving factor behind your rising insurance costs. For example, if you were recently convicted of a DUI, don’t be surprised if your insurance rates double. However, if your driving record is relatively clean (meaning no DWIs), the national average for insurance increases because of SR-22s is only 5%.
Can I be issued an SR-22 from another state?
Yes, you can. If you are, your insurance policy must then satisfy the minimums for both states— meaning Iowa and the state that issued the SR-22.
What happens if my insurance provider cancels my policy?
If you are unable to find another provider, both your license and vehicle registration will be revoked. If this happens, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee.