SR-22 in Connecticut

1
South_agency/Getty Images
Bankrate Logo

Why you can trust Bankrate

While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation for . This content is powered by HomeInsurance.com (NPN: 8781838). For more information, please see our

Drivers with serious incidents on their driving record may be on the hunt for an SR-22 in Connecticut. While this is commonly misunderstood as SR-22 insurance, the SR-22 form and your car insurance are not the same thing. The two are closely related, but an SR-22 will not provide any financial protection to cover costs associated with a collision or incident, because it is not a form of insurance; SR-22s are only proof of insurance.

Many states have forms quite similar in function to SR-22s — FR-44s or SR-21 being some of the more common ones. The cost impacts and other nuances associated with SR-22s and similar forms are discussed below, but the key takeaway to remember is that an SR-22 (and other forms like it) serve as verification that the driver has an active policy that meets the required level of car insurance for their circumstances.

What is “SR-22 insurance?”

The only purpose of an SR-22 in Connecticut is to prove to the state that you have the proper amount of coverage. It is not insurance by itself, but proof of insurance required by the state under specific circumstances. Most often, drivers are required to get an SR-22 after a DUI, or because their driving record reflects too many speeding tickets or at-fault accidents.

Drivers in these situations may have received a letter from the state notifying that they must submit an SR-22, or a judge may have informed of this requirement in court. Either way, drivers typically go about obtaining an SR-22 form the same way — by contacting their insurer and asking them to submit an SR-22 to the DMV. If a provider does not offer an SR-22, it may be necessary to look for a new policy with a high-risk insurer.

In Connecticut, all drivers must have, at minimum, a 25/50/25 policy. Unless instructed otherwise, each driver with an SR-22 requirement must have the same amount in liability coverage as everyone else in the state. This means each driver needs:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury/ death
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury/ death
  • $25,000 per accident for property damage

SR-22 Connecticut alternatives

Other states may have different requirements after a driver has been convicted of a severe traffic violation. In Connecticut, however, the SR-22 form is what you need. If you are moving in from elsewhere, it is possible you will need to follow your previous state-of-residence requirements regarding a similar form. Depending on the severity of the situation, states may use more than one form.

Form States issued Required insurance minimums
SR-22 All states use SR-22s except Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico and Oklahoma Basic liability
SR-19 California, Texas Basic liability
SR-21 Florida, Georgia, Indiana Basic liability
SR-22A Georgia, Texas, Missouri Basic liability, but the driver must prepay 6 months’ worth of insurance
FR-44 Florida, Virginia Double liability
SR-50 Indiana Basic liability
  • SR-19: Both Texas and California use SR-19s, but the purpose is different in each state:
  • California: A DMV form that verifies an at-fault driver is uninsured. SR-19s are required by insurance companies for injured parties to receive uninsured motorist coverage.
  • Texas: A legal document that outlines a monthly payment agreement between an at-fault driver and an injured party. It is kept on file at the DMV and is legally binding.
  • SR-21: Verifies that a driver was insured before an accident. Is often required after a driver does $1,000 or more worth of damage.
  • SR-22A: Does two things: It verifies that a driver is insured and that the driver has prepaid 6 months’ worth of insurance in advance.
  • FR-44: Verifies to the DMV that a driver is insured and that the driver has double liability.
  • SR-50: Verifies that a driver is insured. It is usually required by the state or court after a driver has had two moving violations within a year, a DWI conviction or an accident where there was severe bodily injury or property damage.

Non-owner SR-22

If you are required to have an SR-22 in Connecticut but do not own a car, then a non-owner policy will fulfill the requirements of an SR-22 and enable you to keep your license and still borrow or rent cars when needed. Non-owner policies may vary in price compared to a standard auto policy, but still come with the required amount of liability protection. Many companies offer non-owner policies. While rate shopping, be sure to verify that the company will send an SR-22 on your behalf to the DMV.

FR-44 in Connecticut

If you have been ordered to have an FR-44 from Virginia or Florida but you moved to Connecticut, you will still need to fulfill the FR-44 requirements even though you now live in Connecticut. An FR-44 is essentially the same as a SR-22 (meaning it notifies the DMV that you have the proper amount of coverage or if you cancel your policy), but the difference is your liability limits must be twice the amount as normally mandated in the issuing state.

For example, in Virginia, most drivers must have a 25/50/20 policy, which means that each driver must have the following:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury/death
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury/death
  • $20,000 per accident for property damage

If you were to receive an FR-44 in Virginia, this would mean that you would instead be required to have a 50/100/40 policy. This would be more expensive for you to purchase (especially if you had a DUI on your record) even if for no other reason, the coverage levels are higher.

SR-22 Connecticut insurance costs

An SR-22 does not raise the cost of insurance on its own, but the driving history that necessitated it may have an effect on your insurance costs. If you were recently convicted of a DUI, for example, it will be the DUI that results in a higher premium. In Connecticut, the average percent increase after a DUI is 86%.

Also, keep in mind that most insurance companies charge a one-time fee to file an SR-22 for you. The cost to do this is typically between $15 and $35. Speak with an agent at your company to get a more accurate price so you can budget appropriately.

Frequently asked questions

How long do I need an SR-22 in Connecticut?

If you have been required to have an SR-22 in Connecticut, the minimum amount of time you must have an SR-22 on file is 3 years. If you receive future convictions, however, a judge may order you to have an SR-22 for a longer period of time. It is not uncommon, for example, for DUI convicts to have the clock reset for an additional 3 years after a repeat offense.

How do I get SR-22 insurance in Connecticut

Contact your insurance company and ask it to send an SR-22 to your local DMV. If you do not have insurance, or if you are unable to keep a policy with your current insurer, you may need to find a company that is willing to send one on your behalf.

How much does SR-22 insurance cost in Connecticut

There is usually a one time fee between $15-$35 to have your insurance company send an SR-22 to your DMV. Other than that, the cost impact will largely revolve around your driving history as it affects insurance rates.

If I move, will I still need to have an SR-22 on file with the DMV?

Yes, any requirements set forth by your state or DMV will travel with you wherever you go. Say you move from Connecticut to a state that does not require SR-22’s; you would still need to have a policy that meets the insurance requirements for an SR-22 from Connecticut.

What happens if your insurance company cancels your policy?

You will need to find another provider as soon as possible, or otherwise risk losing both your license and car registration. Should this happen, you will need to pay a reinstatement fee at the DMV.

Written by
Lauren Ward
Insurance Contributor
Lauren Ward has nearly 10 years of experience in writing for insurance domains such as Bankrate, The Simple Dollar, and Reviews.com. She covers auto, homeowners, and life insurance, as well other topics in the personal finance industry.
Edited by
Insurance Editor