Best car insurance in Delaware 2021

Fact-checked with HomeInsurance.com

1

Bankrate is not a licensed insurance company, agency or broker and we do not sell, solicit or negotiate insurance. Our content provides summaries of insurance providers and/or products that may not include all terms, benefits or limitations of such provider or product. Please consult a licensed insurer or producer regarding any insurance product. Our site may include links that take you to another website and result in us earning a fee. However, our compensation is never tied to whether you purchase an insurance product. For more information, please see our , and

Before you drive off the lot with a new car, you need to purchase auto insurance. In 2018, more than 930,600 registered vehicles occupied the roads and highways of the Diamond State, according to the Delaware State Police. That year, nearly 29,000 traffic accidents occurred statewide, resulting in more than 8,100 injuries and 110 fatalities, causing an estimated $1 billion in economic losses. It’s easy to understand the economic need for purchasing Delaware auto insurance, but it’s also required by law. When shopping for the best auto insurance in Delaware:

  • Get quotes from several companies to find the lowest rate.
  • Determine how much coverage you need based on legal requirements, lender requirements and the value of your vehicle.
  • Use the National Association of Insurance Commissioner’s insurance provider lookup tool to make sure the company you choose holds a license in Delaware.
  • Ask insurance agents about discount programs for which you might qualify.

By starting with those steps, you’ll have an easier time finding the right provider for your auto insurance in Delaware.

The Best Car Insurance Companies in Delaware

To find the best car insurance in Delaware, insurance rates are important, but also look for an auto insurance company with a firm financial footing and a good track record of customer care. Marketing research company J.D. Power conducts an annual survey of auto insurance companies. Using a 1,000-point system, J.D. Power rates companies based on their performance in billing process, claims handling, customer interaction, policy information, policy offerings and overall satisfaction.

We chose our list of best car insurance in Delaware based on their J.D. Power rankings, AM Best rankings, discounts and affordability. Here are the top choices:

Provider Rating by J.D. Power out of 1000 AM Best Rating Average Full Coverage Premium
Allstate 812 A+ $2,435
Geico 841 A++ $1,301
USAA 890 A++ $964
State Farm 855 A++ $1,763
Travelers 836 A++ $1,132

Allstate

Allstate has the highest average cost for full coverage premium insurance with an average cost of $2,435 in Delaware. Although Allstate has average customer ratings and offers the usual coverage options, what sets it apart is the list of add-ons that can be beneficial for Delaware drivers. Featured add-ons include accident forgiveness, safe driving bonus, rideshare and drivewise.

Geico

Geico ranked third in the J.D. Power survey. We give Geico a thumbs up for its broad portfolio of insurance products, which includes home and renters policies, along with a host of coverages for small business owners. Geico also operates in every state, allowing you to keep your coverage if you need to move.

USAA

USAA is the highest-rated auto insurance provider in the state of Delaware with a JD Power Score rating of 890, superior AM Best ratings and an average cost of full coverage car insurance at only $964. Delaware drivers are most attracted to USAA because of its speedy claims process, variety of coverage options, and affordable price. However, USAA is only available to military members (retired and active) and their family members.

State Farm

We like State Farm’s commitment to customer service. Unlike some insurance companies, State Farm continues to operate local agencies, offering you a dedicated agent to help you with claims. That personal touch appeals to older drivers, but State Farm also offers 21st-century tools that younger folks expect. With the State Farm mobile app, you can access your policy information, call for roadside assistance, contact your agent or start a claim.

Travelers

Travelers Insurance goes the extra mile (no pun intended) for its policyholders by topping what other auto insurance companies in Delaware do. The insurer provides two-accident forgiveness, which means you and another member of your household could have an accident claim without worrying about your premiums skyrocketing.

Average Car Insurance Cost in Delaware

The state of Delaware ranks at average to slightly above average when comparing cost of car insurance by state. Expect to pay $667 per year for minimum required liability insurance and $1,716 for full coverage. To compare auto insurance Delaware prices, Florida, the most expensive state for car insurance will cost you $2,578 for full coverage and $978 for minimum liability insurance. Car insurance in Delaware is just a few dollars less than the national average of $1,738 for full coverage.

State Minimum Insurance Requirements in Delaware

According to the Delaware Department of Insurance, you must purchase bodily injury liability and property damage liability coverage, including:

  • $25,000 in bodily injury insurance to pay the medical or death expenses of one person in one accident.
  • $50,000 in bodily injury coverage to pay the death or medical expenses of more than one person in a single accident.
  • $10,000 in property damage insurance to cover property damage in one accident.

Delaware also requires automobile owners to carry minimum amounts of personal injury protection coverage. PIP coverage pays the lost wages and medical expenses of your passengers and you, regardless of who is at fault for an accident. To comply with Delaware law, you must have:

  • $15,000 in PIP insurance to pay the medical expenses of one person in one accident.
  • $30,000 in PIP insurance to pay the medical expenses of more than one person in a single accident.
  • $5,000 in PIP insurance to pay for funeral expenses.

These figures represent the minimum amounts of required coverage. You may decide to increase liability and PIP coverages for added protection. Also, if you finance a vehicle, your lender will require you to purchase comprehensive and collision policies.

The penalty for driving without Delaware car insurance is stiff. First time offenders pay a $1,500 fine and repeat offenders pay $3,000 for every subsequent offense and are subject to a six-month license suspension.

Delaware’s No-Fault Law

Delaware is one of about a dozen states in the U.S. that follow the no-fault law. This means that each driver’s insurance is responsible for their own medical bills regardless of who caused the accident. Drivers in Delaware are required by state requirements to purchase personal injury protection (PIP) due to the no-fault law. Since your insurance company will be paying for medical treatment and any other out-of-pocket losses up to coverage limits, the no-fault law denies you from getting compensation for personal injuries and other non-monetary damages caused by the accident.

To comply with Delaware’s no-fault law, you must have:

  • $15,000 in PIP insurance to pay the medical expenses of one person in one accident.
  • $30,000 in PIP insurance to pay the medical expenses of more than one person in a single accident.
  • $5,000 in PIP insurance to pay for funeral expenses.

Car Insurance Discounts in Delaware

You don’t have to settle for high insurance premiums. Delaware auto insurance companies have discount programs that can sometimes offer substantial savings for qualified policyholders. The cheapest car insurance Delaware has for you may depend on which discounts you are eligible for.

Nationwide offers:

  • Up to a 10% discount for customers who purchase home and auto insurance.
  • Up to a 40% discount for safe drivers who enroll in its SmartRide program.
  • Affinity discounts for customers who are members of certain organizations.

State Farm offers multiple education-related discounts, such as:

  • Defensive driver course discounts up to 40% for policyholders who complete a motor vehicle accident prevention course.
  • Good student discounts for people under 25 years of age who earn a 3.0 or higher grade point average.

Geico offers an impressive number of vehicle equipment discounts, including:

  • Up to a 40% discount for cars equipped with full-front seat airbags.
  • Up to a 25% discount for automobiles that have anti-theft systems.

Besides the standard discounts, Travelers rewards responsible policyholders with discounts for:

  • A continuous coverage discount of up to 15% for no gaps of time on your vehicle insurance.
  • A safe driver discount of up to 10%, or up to 23%, depending on how long you’ve gone without accidents, citations or claims.
  • Up to 15% off if you consistently pay your premium on time.

The most unique Erie Insurance discount is the vehicle storage reduction if you park and don’t use your car for 90 consecutive days per year.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the cheapest car insurance in Delaware?

The price of Delaware car insurance depends on your rating factors. Your age, driving history and credit rating can all impact the price you pay for coverage. To find the cheapest car insurance in Delaware, get quotes from several insurance providers.

What information is needed to get car insurance in Delaware?

When shopping for Delaware car insurance, agents will need to know your age, information about your driving record, the type of car you drive and your annual mileage. They might also ask for your Social Security number to check your credit.

How do Delaware car insurance rates compare with the rest of the United States?

The best car insurance in Delaware is not cheap. In fact, Delaware car owners pay nearly 60% higher rates than the national average.

What insurance coverages does Delaware require?

Delaware requires all car owners to carry bodily injury liability, property damage liability and personal injury protection coverage. Delaware does not require you to purchase uninsured and underinsured driver coverage.

Methodology

Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a cleaning driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:

  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $50,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • $500 collision deductible
  • $500 comprehensive deductible

To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our sample drivers own a 2018 Honda Accord, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.

These are sample rates and should be used for comparative purposes only. Your quotes may be different.