The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
Speeding can have several consequences if you are a Delaware driver. One significant consequence is that your car insurance rates are likely to increase. Consider this: the average annual rate for auto insurance in Delaware for a driver with a clean motor vehicle record is $801 for minimum coverage and $2,103 for full coverage. After a speeding ticket, that average rate increases to $932 for minimum coverage, while full coverage increases to $2,441—16 percent higher. Bankrate’s insurance editorial team has done the research on what happens when you get a speeding ticket in Delaware so you know what to expect.
How much is a speeding ticket in Delaware?
Aside from car insurance premiums that are higher than the Delaware average, there are other penalties you’ll likely face after getting convicted of speeding in the state. How much is a speeding ticket in Delaware? The answer depends on just how much over the limit you were going and whether it was your first offense.
Let’s look at a couple of examples provided by the Delaware Justice of the Peace. If you are driving in Delaware and you receive a ticket for going nine miles over the limit, and it’s your first offense, you can expect to pay a total of about $110 in fines and fees.
If it’s your second offense and you were going 15 miles over the limit, your total speeding ticket cost in Delaware will increase to around $164. This includes both your fine and a number of other fees, such as court costs, a transportation trust fund assessment of $27.50 and a mandatory contribution to the ambulance fund of $10.
How much does a speeding ticket increase your car insurance in Delaware?
The biggest question you may have, however, is does your insurance go up for a speeding ticket in Delaware? As we noted above, car insurance premiums are likely to increase with a speeding ticket conviction on your record. The chart below is based on data we analyzed from Quadrant Information Services to illustrate the average premium difference one speeding ticket can make to auto premiums in Delaware.
Typically, female drivers and older drivers pay less for premiums because statistically they are less likely to be involved in at-fault accidents. A driver who is at a lower risk for filing a claim is likely to receive a more favorable rate from insurance companies.
|Age||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket in Delaware||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket in Delaware||Percentage increase|
How to lower your car insurance after a speeding ticket in Delaware
Although your premium may increase after a speeding ticket, there are strategies you can use to help keep the increase to a minimum. In addition to that, you should be aware that a ticket only stays on your motor vehicle record for a certain number of years.
How long does a speeding ticket stay on your record in Delaware? In general, speeding tickets will stay on your record for three to five years. This is also the length of time that most insurers will look back when determining your rates. So if you can maintain a clean driving record for several years after your speeding ticket, your rate may drop.
Get quotes from other car insurance companies
Obtaining quotes from multiple carriers is one method for finding a lower-priced policy. You may be surprised by the range of potential prices you receive for exactly the same coverage when you ask for quotes from several insurers. The chart below shows how much the rates vary from one auto insurance company to the next, even when the criteria is the same. You may want to also take a look at Bankrate’s picks for the cheapest car insurance companies in Delaware as a starting point in your search.
|Car insurance company||Average premium before speeding ticket in Delaware||Average premium after speeding ticket in Delaware||Percentage increase|
*Premiums are average annual full coverage premiums for 40-year-olds.
Rates are certainly a crucial factor when looking for a new carrier, but there are other considerations as well. Finding out the insurance company’s reputation for customer service, financial strength ratings and ease of use online or with an app are other important things you may want to look at.
Look for discounts
Whether you choose a new carrier or stay with your current one, be sure to review all available car insurance discounts for your policy. You may qualify for new ones since your last renewal, including savings if you purchased a new vehicle or took a defensive driving course. Discounts are an easy way to potentially save and can make a big impact on your overall costs. Here are some common discounts offered to Delaware drivers:
- Safe driver discounts: These take several forms. You may earn a discount for taking a defensive driving course and you may save even more if you sign up for your company’s telematics program, which monitors your driving in real time and can save you up to 40 percent off your premium.
- Safety features: Most new cars feature a range of safety features, from anti-lock brakes to blind spot monitors, and you can earn a small discount from some insurers for having or installing these features. Anti-theft devices may also earn you a discount.
- Loyalty discounts: Your insurer is likely to reward you if you purchase more than one policy from them—called bundling—or if you insure more than one car on your policy. This is typically one of the biggest discounts available from many insurers.
- Billing discounts: These vary from insurer to insurer, but you could save by agreeing to paperless billing, by paying in full or by setting up an automatic billing system for your premium payments.
Frequently asked questions
Finding the best car insurance company when you have a speeding ticket on your record is not difficult. One of the most effective methods is to compare numerous carriers to one another and obtain multiple quotes. Then you can determine which one offers the best rates for your specific needs.
It is not necessary to notify your carrier if you receive a speeding ticket, but be aware that they will find out about it. Most carriers run driving record reviews during your policy renewal period. Your next renewal is usually when you will see the ticket impact your car insurance premiums.
There’s no single company that is always the cheapest for every driver. To find the cheapest company for your needs, one strategy suggests that you gather quotes from several companies, assess their coverage options and discounts, and take a look at third-party rankings for customer satisfaction to see who, overall, is the best fit for your insurance needs.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2023 rates for ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Rates are weighted based on the population density in each geographic region. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2021 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incidents: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), single speeding ticket.
Gender: The following states do not use gender as a determining factor in calculating premiums: California, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, North Carolina, Pennsylvania.
Age: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile (40 years) applied. Age is not a contributing rating factor in Hawaii and Massachusetts due to state regulations.