Finding the best car insurance can seem overwhelming, especially when you consider factors unique to you. However, you can find a good option for you with a little bit of research and analyzing the providers for customer service ratings, insurance offerings and coverages you need.
The Best Car Insurance Companies in New Hampshire
When searching for the best car insurance companies in New Hampshire, we examined a variety of factors such as cost, service, additional benefits and reputation. This includes the provider’s grade with the Better Business Bureau and their AM Best rating. This rating is a firm indication of the financial health of a provider.
|Average Full Coverage Premium||J.D. Power Rating||BBB Rating||AM Best Rating|
This company features a vanishing deductible that rewards you for safe driving. With a J.D. Power rating of four stars, it’s clear that current customers enjoy service with them. Allstate has lots of available discounts and insurance options to meet all your needs.
Amica earned a five-star overall satisfaction rating with J.D. Power. It features an easy-to-use system for billing and claims. It also receives an A+ rating from the BBB and an A+ rating with AM Best.
Geico is among the cheapest car insurance companies in New Hampshire. It earned a four-star overall satisfaction rating from J.D. Power. They also received an A++ rating with AM Best and an A+ grade with the BBB, which shows that customers are happy and the company can pay out claims.
State Farm earned a four-star overall satisfaction rating from J.D. Power. It offers a wealth of discounts where you can save up to 30% if you’re a safe driver. State Farm received an AM Best Rating of A++, which is the highest rating an insurance provider can obtain.
Average cost of car insurance in New Hampshire
According to US News, the average annual cost of full coverage car insurance in New Hampshire is $1,099. The average annual cost of minimum coverage in New Hampshire is $321. When compared to the national average where drivers pay $1,323 annually, it shows New Hampshire drivers on average pay significantly less for car insurance.
New Hampshire’s No-Fault Law
Although many states are now a “no-fault” state, New Hampshire is not one of them. This means that whoever causes an accident must pay for the collision damages. The fault of the accident may be shared by drivers though based on the percentage each driver is responsible for the accident.
In New Hampshire, you can only collect damages if you are at fault by less than 50%. Even then you must subtract the damages from the percentage you are at fault. For example, if you are 40% at fault, you can college 60% of the cost of damages after the crash. If you are at fault by over 50%, you cannot collect damages from the other driver.
You can make a claim with your insurance company (a first-party claim) or with the at-fault driver’s insurance company (a third-party claim). To make a claim with the other company, you’ll have to prove that the at-fault driver is at fault. The police report and your insurance company can help you with this proof, but it can take time. You might also have to sue the other driver to get damages.
Car insurance discounts in New Hampshire
There are different types of car insurance discounts depending on your situation. To demonstrate, if you have a safe driving record (no moving violations or accidents for five years), you’ll save on your car insurance premium.
Meanwhile, if you bundle multiple policies such as renter’s/home, life and auto with one provider, most companies will reward you for your loyalty with a bundling discount. You might also receive a discount if you earn good grades in school, are a member of certain organizations, have a military affiliation or have great credit.
Compare multiple providers to see which one offers you the best deal. From there, compare each one’s reputation to determine the best provider with the most affordable premiums.
State minimum insurance requirements in New Hampshire
New Hampshire is one of the only states that don’t require you to have minimum insurance coverage. If you refrain from buying a policy, you have to be able to show you’re financially responsible if an accident occurs.
New Hampshire has minimum financial amounts set for accidents:
- Bodily injury liability coverage of $25,000 per person up to $50,000 per accident. This coverage provides payments for medical bills for anyone else involved in the accident.
- Property damage liability of at least $25,000 per accident because this covers damage to others’ property.
While these are the minimum requirements set, it’s a good idea to have more protection on hand, especially in the case of bodily injury liability. Bodily injury isn’t limited to medical bills but could also include chronic problems that last for years as a result of the accident.
Frequently asked questions
What’s the cheapest car insurance in New Hampshire?
Price determines on a variety of factors such as your age, gender, driving and credit history. In general, Geico and Progressive are the two most inexpensive options for New Hampshire residents.
What information do I need to provide to obtain car insurance in New Hampshire?
You’ll need to supply your name, address, Social Security number and your driver’s license number and expiration date. The provider also needs your vehicle’s year, make and model; the purpose for use (business, personal or rideshare) and an estimation of how many miles you drive annually.
How quickly can I get car insurance?
If the provider can verify all your information and approve you for coverage, you could have auto insurance as early as the next day.
Is New Hampshire a no-fault state?
No, it is not. In New Hampshire, you can make a claim with your insurance company (a first-party claim) or with the at-fault driver’s insurance company (a third-party claim). To make a claim with the other company, you’ll have to prove that the at-fault driver is at fault. The police report and your insurance company can help you with this proof, but it can take time. You might also have to sue the other driver to get damages.
If more than one driver is at-fault, the state will assign a percentage of fault to each driver who is partly responsible. As long as you’re not at 50% or more at-fault, you’ll be able to get compensation for the accident.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a cleaning driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our sample drivers own a 2018 Honda Accord, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should be used for comparative purposes only. Your quotes may be different.