Nearly 8,500 Floridians were killed in car accidents involving a drunk driver between 2003 and 2012, and 2.1% of Florida drivers reported driving after drinking too much. Like other states, Florida takes drunk driving seriously. Having a DUI conviction on your record is a major risk factor in the eyes of insurance companies.

Compare rates and save on auto insurance today!

Close X
Advertising Disclosure
This advertisement is powered by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed insurance producer (NPN: 19966249) and a corporate affiliate of Bankrate. The offers and links that appear on this advertisement are from companies that compensate Coverage.com in different ways. The compensation received and other factors, such as your location, may impact what offers and links appear, and how, where and in what order they appear. While we seek to provide a wide range of offers, we do not include every product or service that may be available. Our goal is to keep information accurate and timely, but some information may not be current. Your actual offer from an advertiser may be different from the offer on this advertisement. All offers are subject to additional terms and conditions.

Compare auto insurance rates

Answer a few questions to see personalized rates from top carriers.
Caret DownCaret Up
Please select age
Location-Icon Created with Sketch.

Save on auto insurance with quotes from trusted providers like:

Progressive

Drivers switch & save an average of $750+/year

Liberty Mutual

Are you overpaying for auto insurance?

Allstate

Safe drivers choose Allstate®

Powered by Coverage.com (NPN: 19966249)
Insurance Disclosure

Coverage.com, LLC is a licensed insurance producer (NPN: 19966249). Coverage.com services are only available in states where it is licensed. Coverage.com may not offer insurance coverage in all states or scenarios. All insurance products are governed by the terms in the applicable insurance policy, and all related decisions (such as approval for coverage, premiums, commissions and fees) and policy obligations are the sole responsibility of the underwriting insurer. The information on this site does not modify any insurance policy terms in any way.

See more providers in
Choose from insurers in

DUIs come with a number of penalties that drivers need to be prepared for, including rising insurance costs. Although the penalties of a DUI will vary in Florida depending on the severity of the situation, it may be wise to have a general idea of what to expect after being convicted.

How does a DUI affect your insurance rate?

Drivers convicted of a DUI are considered to be riskier drivers than those without a DUI conviction, which is why their insurance rates increase after their convictions. Though a driver may change his or her behavior, this insurance surcharge will generally stay on your policy for several years.

DUIs are serious offenses. It is estimated that over 10,000 people die each year due to alcohol-related traffic accidents. And, according to Mothers Against Drunk Driving, two out of three people will be affected by a drunk driving crash in their lifetime.

Because of the serious consequences associated with DUIs, insurance carriers generally increase car insurance premiums after DUI convictions. Below is a table showing the national average annual full coverage premium pre- and post-DUI compared to Florida’s average annual full coverage premium pre- and post-DUI.

Pre-DUI Post-DUI Percent increase
National $1,674 $3,336 99%
Florida $2,364 $3,503 48%

Nationally, car insurance premiums nearly double after a DUI. In Florida, the average annual premium increase is about 48%. However, since Florida’s pre-DUI average annual premium tends to be higher than the national average annual premium, Floridians can still expect to pay relatively high premiums after a DUI.

How much does it cost for car insurance after a DUI in Florida?

The auto insurance company, and the same is true for insurance premiums after DUIs. The following table demonstrates what drivers typically pay with several insurance providers in Florida before and after a DUI conviction. You may pay more or less based on the severity of your DUI and your past driving offenses. Additionally, it is possible that an insurance company may choose to non-renew your policy after a DUI conviction.

If you are convicted of a DUI in Florida, you will be required to submit proof of insurance called an FR-44 to reinstate your license. If you carry state minimum liability limits, you will need to increase your liability limits to comply with the FR-44 requirements.

Florida provider full coverage rates with DUI

The rates below may not reflect changes as some carriers will not renew if you have a DUI conviction.

Provider Average annual full coverage rate Full coverage annual rate with DUI
Allstate $2,441 $3,177
Direct General $2,766 $3,074
Geico $2,085 $2,985
MetLife $2,830 $4,952
Progressive $2,573 $3,115
State Farm $1,739 $2,679

Other Florida DUI consequences

In addition to an increase in insurance premiums, DUIs usually come with numerous other consequences. You may have fees to pay, face probation or even be imprisoned. The severity of your DUI conviction will determine the severity of the consequences you face. In general, the more DUI convictions that you have on your record, the steeper your punishment will be. Additionally, drivers whose actions injured or killed someone as a result of a DUI conviction will typically face severe punishment.

Frequently asked questions

What does BAC stand for and how is it measured?

BAC stands for blood alcohol content, or the level of alcohol detected in your blood. If you are pulled over on suspicion of drunk driving, a police officer will likely conduct field tests to determine your sobriety and may have you breathe into a device called a breathalyzer, which determines your BAC.

What BAC is needed for a DUI conviction in Florida?

A BAC of .08 constitutes a DUI in Florida. If you are driving a commercial vehicle, though, a level of .04 is considered unlawful, and if you are under 21 years old, the level drops to .02. However, even lower BACs can still impact your ability to drive and make you a danger to yourself and others on the road.

What is an FR-44?

An FR-44 is a form that is filed by your insurance carrier. The form is forwarded to the Florida DMV as proof that a driver is meeting his or her insurance obligations. An FR-44 is generally required after a driver has been convicted of a DUI. Drivers will be asked to maintain their car insurance coverage (or purchase coverage, if they were uninsured) and have their insurance company send the appropriate document to the Florida DMV. In order to satisfy FR-44 requirements, drivers convicted of a DUI must carry liability limits of $100,000 for bodily injury per person, $300,000 for bodily injury per accident and $50,000 for property damage.

Methodology

Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a DUI, good credit and the following full coverage limits:

  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $50,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • $500 collision deductible
  • $500 comprehensive deductible

Our sample drivers own a 2018 Honda Accord, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.

*DUI qualifies as > .08 BAC

These are sample rates and should be used for comparative purposes only. Your quotes may be different.

Learn more: