The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
When a driver is convicted of a DUI or DWI in New Hampshire, they may be required to have an SR-22 certificate with their insurance. Contrary to popular belief, SR-22s are not insurance but rather act as proof that you hold the minimum level of insurance required by New Hampshire state law. The exact name of the required form may change from state to state — the associated cost impacts of which are discussed in further detail below.
What is “SR-22 Insurance?”
SR-22 insurance is a misnomer. Rather than providing high-risk drivers with insurance coverage, the SR-22 form is simply a form that certifies that the driver possesses the minimum auto insurance coverage required in their state. In New Hampshire, an SR-22 is required if a driver is convicted of:
- Driving while intoxicated
- Underaged driving while intoxicated
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Conduct after accident
- Subsequent (2nd) offense of Reckless Operation
To have their license reinstated, drivers will usually need to complete a safe driving course or educational equivalent and obtain an SR-22.
The process for obtaining an SR-22 is fairly simple; however, there are risks associated with requesting such a form from your carrier. If you already have auto insurance, simply contact your carrier to add the SR-22 to your existing policy. From there, your insurer will file the SR-22 with New Hampshire’s Department of Motor Vehicles. Some insurance carriers do not offer SR-22s. In some instances, if your insurer finds out that you have an SR-22 requirement, they may drop your policy altogether.
SR-22 New Hampshire Alternatives
As aforementioned, the SR-22 form may be called something different depending on the state. In general, the SR-22 form is the accepted certificate; however, there are a few states that set unique requirements for high-risk drivers looking to reinstate their license. Usually, these unique forms require drivers to have more than the minimum auto insurance coverage required by state law. The following table outlines the different types of financial responsibility forms that may be required:
|Form||States issued||Required insurance minimums|
|SR-22||All states except Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Pennsylvania||Insurance minimums vary by state|
|FR-19||Delaware and Maryland||· Delaware: $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident/$10,000 per property damage
· Maryland: $30,000 per person/$60,000 per accident/$15,000 per property damage
|SR-21||Hawaii||$20,000 per person/$40,000 per accident/$10,000 per property damage|
|SR-22A||Georgia||$25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident/$25,000 per property damage|
|FR-44||Florida and Virginia||· Florida: $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident/$50,000 per property damage
· Virginia: $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident/$40,000 per property damage
|SR-50||Indiana||$25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident/$10,000 per property damage|
- FR-19: Required in Delaware and Maryland, the FR-19 form differs from SR-22 in that it verifies that the driver currently holds the minimum insurance required by their state. While SR-22 forms are required for drivers who have been convicted of high-risk offenses, FR-19 forms are not related to these offenses and simply act as verification of coverage.
- SR-21: Issued in Hawaii only, SR-21 is a type of liability coverage that the state requires for drivers who have been convicted of serious traffic offenses, such as a DUI or multiple moving violations. Rather than a policy, the SR-21 form certifies that drivers have the required coverage amount in the same way that an SR-22 form does in other states.
- SR-22A: Georgia drivers who are seeking to reinstate their suspended licenses will be required to submit the Georgia Safety Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22A), in addition to paying a $300 – $310 fine. Drivers are required to hold an SR-22A certificate for at least three consecutive years.
- FR-44: In Florida and Virginia, drivers are penalized more severely for serious driving violations in the form of an FR-44. Different from an SR-22, the FR-44 requires high-risk drivers to hold more than the required minimum coverage in their states. In Virginia, the minimum coverage requirement is doubled under the FR-44 while Florida drivers are required to hold ten times the standard coverage amount with an FR-44.
- SR-50: Unique to Indiana, the SR-50 form is only required if the state notifies you following an incident in which you were found to be driving without the minimum required insurance coverage. Drivers may also be required to file for SR-50 in Indiana if they have had their license suspended.
When drivers have their licenses revoked due to dangerous behaviors, they may get rid of their vehicle because they are unable to drive it anyway. If this happens and they are still working towards reinstating their driving privileges, they may need a non-owned SR-22 form. This form certifies that you have the minimum state-required auto insurance coverage under a non-owners’ auto insurance policy.
Reinstating Your New Hampshire Driver’s License
New Hampshire only issues SR-22 forms in the event a driver’s license has been suspended due to a DUI or other qualifying event. Failure to file an SR-22 form in New Hampshire means that drivers will not be able to legally drive in the state. This rule also applies to non-residents who have violated the state’s traffic laws.
SR-22 New Hampshire Insurance Costs
It should come as no surprise that an SR-22 requirement will increase your rates with your auto insurance carrier. The higher your perceived risk by an insurer, the higher your premium will be. Not only that, but drivers required to hold an SR-22 form will need to pay filing fees to register with their Department of Motor Vehicles. In New Hampshire, the associated fees for filing an SR-22 range from $15 – $25 depending on your age, gender, driving history, and credit score.
According to the Insurance Information Institute, the average annual cost of car insurance in New Hampshire is $824.03. After just one DUI/DWI, policyholders can expect that rate to increase to $1,752. The best way to avoid the costs associated with obtaining an SR-22 in New Hampshire is by driving safely and responsibly in the first place.
How long do I need an SR-22 in New Hampshire?
In general, individuals who have been convicted of driving while intoxicated, are decertified as a habitual offender, or are found at-fault for an uninsured accident are required to hold proof of insurance with an SR-22 form for at least three years from the date of the conviction or accident. However, individuals who appear at administrative hearings for certain offenses may have a shorter or longer mandate on their SR-22 requirement based on the severity of their offense and driving history.
How do I get SR-22 insurance in New Hampshire?
To obtain an SR-22 certificate of proof of insurance in New Hampshire, drivers will first need to contact their insurance provider. From there, the insurance company will be required to submit the SR-22 form to the New Hampshire Department of Motor Vehicles. This form is required to remain on-file for at least three years from the date of your final conviction.
How much does SR-22 insurance cost in New Hampshire?
SR-22 is not insurance, but rather a certificate that acts as proof that the driver holds the minimum auto insurance required by the state. The average cost to file an SR-22 certificate in New Hampshire ranges between $15 and $25 depending on your age, gender, driving history, and credit score. Associated increases to your monthly premium vary depending on the type of offense, number of similar past violations, and severity of the offense.
What is the minimum auto insurance coverage requirement in New Hampshire?
New Hampshire drivers are required to have the following auto insurance coverages:
- $25,000 per person
- $50,000 per accident
- $25,000 per property damage
- $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person
- $50,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per accident
- $25,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per property damage
- $1,000 medical payments coverage