Skip to Main Content

What to do after a hit-and-run in Oklahoma

Rear side of broken and damaged silver car wreck in crash accident with scratched paint in collision close up
Srdjanns74/Getty Images
Bankrate Logo

Why you can trust Bankrate

While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation for . This content is powered by HomeInsurance.com (NPN: 8781838). For more information, please see our

After an accident, drivers in Oklahoma are legally obligated to pull over and exchange insurance information. However, hit-and-run accidents are becoming increasingly common. If you drive in Oklahoma, knowing what to do in the event of a hit-and-run, and understanding how these accidents can affect your car insurance rates, could help you prepare should you be affected.

Hit-and-runs in Oklahoma

A hit-and-run in Oklahoma is defined as a collision between two or more drivers where one of the drivers fails to stop and provide their personal and insurance information, as is required. Drivers are also required to provide medical aid if possible, and call emergency services if there are injuries.

In the United States, hit-and-run accidents are not uncommon. In 2015, there were an estimated 737,100 hit-and-runs. Between 2006 and 2016, the Sooner State recorded 214 hit-and-runs that involved at least one fatality.

Oklahoma hit-and-run laws

Oklahoma is an at-fault, or tort, state, which means that the driver who causes an accident is responsible for the other driver’s vehicle repairs and medical bills if they are injured. In addition, drivers who cause a hit-and-run may face a number of criminal penalties.

Depending on the circumstances of the hit-and-run, the at-fault driver, if caught, could face fines, license suspension and jail time, on top of having to pay for the damages that they caused.

How hit-and-runs impact car insurance rates in Oklahoma

Drivers who file hit-and-run claims in Oklahoma will typically see their car insurance premiums increase significantly. After a hit-and-run claim, drivers in Oklahoma pay an average of $3,127 per year for full coverage, compared to $2,379 after a standard accident. For comparison, the average cost of car insurance in Oklahoma is $1,873 per year for a full coverage policy.

However, Oklahoma drivers who have hit-and-run claims on their driving records face smaller average rate increases than the average American driver. The difference between the average rate after a hit-and-run claim in Oklahoma and the national average rate after a hit-and-run claim is about $240.

Average annual full coverage premiums:

Before a hit-and-run After a hit-and-run After a standard accident
Oklahoma average $1,873 $3,127 $2,379
National average $1,674 $3,367 $2,311

3 things to do after a hit-and-run in Oklahoma

If you get hit by a driver and they do not stop, it’s easy to be stressed. Knowing what to do ahead of time could help you better handle the situation. First, make sure that you, your passengers and any other parties involved are not harmed. If anyone needs medical attention, call emergency services immediately. Then, you could follow these steps:

  1. Notify the police: If you’re able to safely move out of the flow of traffic, you may want to do so. Then, once you are in a safe place, call the police. Even if the damage is minor, law enforcement might still investigate the crash and try to find the driver responsible. An officer will likely ask you to recall any information you can about the vehicle and the driver that hit you, and they may also submit an official report.
  2. Assess the damage: If you can, you might want to take photos of the damage, which could be helpful to your insurance company if you file a claim. If your car needs to be towed, you can ask the tow truck driver where your car will be taken so you can keep track of it.
  3. Call your insurance provider: The last call should be to your insurance company, if you want to file a claim. An agent will help you start the claim process and let you know what information is needed. If your insurance company offers a mobile app or online portal, you may be able to submit the claim from your phone or computer rather than calling.

Will insurance cover a hit-and-run?

There is no such thing as a hit-and-run insurance policy. However, certain types of car insurance coverage may help cover the aftermath of a hit-and-run. If you have a full coverage policy, your collision insurance could help cover the cost of your vehicle’s repairs, and your medical payments coverage might pay for some of your medical bills. If you have uninsured motorist coverage, which is optional, it could also cover medical bills from a hit-and-run, but you may need proof that the other driver was uninsured.

Keep in mind that carrying a minimum coverage policy will not give you any protection in the event of a hit-and-run. Minimum coverage insurance in Oklahoma only includes personal liability insurance, which does not apply to your damages or injuries in a hit-and-run situation.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best car insurance company?

The best car insurance company depends on what you are looking for in a provider. For example, if you want great customer service, you might choose a different insurance carrier than someone looking for the cheapest policy. Shopping around and getting multiple quotes can be helpful before choosing a provider.

How much does car insurance cost in Oklahoma?

In Oklahoma, the average cost of car insurance is $1,873 per year for full coverage and $423 per year for minimum coverage. Oklahoma drivers pay slightly more for full coverage insurance than the average American. The average full coverage rate in the United States is $1,674 per year.

Methodology

Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:

  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $50,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • $500 collision deductible
  • $500 comprehensive deductible

To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.

These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.

Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.

Written by
Elizabeth Rivelli
Insurance Contributor
Elizabeth Rivelli is a contributing insurance writer for Bankrate and has years of experience writing for insurance domains such as The Simple Dollar, Coverage.com and NextAdvisor, among others
Edited by
Insurance Writer & Editor