The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
A hit-and-run in Kansas — where the at-fault driver leaves the scene of the accident — is a frightening experience, and it’s one that has consequences for all participants. If you are the at-fault driver, you face fines and possible prison time; you may also roughly double your insurance premium.
Even if you’re the victim of a hit-and-run, your Kansas insurance rates may rise. Understanding Kansas hit-and-run insurance and knowing what to do if you are involved in this type of accident is a good first step in protecting yourself and your interests.
Hit-and-runs in Kansas
A Kansas hit-and-run happens when a driver hits either another car, a pedestrian or a stationary object and leaves the scene of the accident without exchanging information with the other parties involved. Hit-and-runs are fairly common — it’s estimated that one occurs every 43 seconds in the U.S.
According to the Kansas Department of Transportation, there were 6,407 accidents involving crimes, which includes hit-and-runs, in 2016, the latest year for which records are available. Those accidents resulted in 189 million dollars in damage.
Kansas hit-and-run laws
Hit-and-run Kansas statutes are clear in stating that it is the legal duty of a driver to stop and give certain information following an accident where there is injury, death or damage, as well as to render aid if possible. They must offer their name, address and the registration number of their vehicle, as well as information on their insurance policy.
The driver is also required to report the accident to the police if there is more than $1,000 of property damage or any injuries. Failure to do so is considered a misdemeanor, unless there is “great bodily harm” or death caused by the accident, in which case it is a felony. Penalties include fees of up to $2,500 and the possibility of a prison sentence of up to 17 months, as well as the revocation of the driver’s license.
How hit-and-runs impact car insurance rates in Kansas
In addition to the civil penalties you will face if you are at-fault with a hit-and-run in Kansas, there are hit-and-run Kansas insurance implications as well. As the table below shows, you can expect to see your premium increase by roughly double, with an average annual premium after a hit-and-run coming in at $3,099. This is less than the national annual average of $3,367, but considerably more than the increase after a standard accident, which averages $2,376 per year in Kansas and $2,405 per year nationally.
Unfortunately, you may also suffer the consequences of a hit-and-run if you are the victim of one. It is common to see your premium increase following a claim on your policy, no matter who is at fault, unless your policy carries a rate guarantee. If you have this feature, you may not see an increase after a single accident, but might if you’ve made more than one claim within a certain period of time.
Average annual full coverage premiums:
|Before a hit-and-run||After a hit-and-run||After a standard accident|
5 things to do after a hit-and-run in Kansas
After a hit-and-run, what should you do? It’s understandable if you are shaken up or in shock, and you may not be thinking clearly. Here is a list of key steps you should take if you find yourself in this situation:
- Determine as quickly as possible if there are any injuries. If so, call 9-1-1 immediately. If you are able to give aid, do so, but be careful about moving anyone with injuries.
- Consider your safety. If possible, get your car off the road and to a safe place. Be very careful when you open your car door to step out, especially if you’re on a busy highway.
- Call the police. Even if the hit-and-run damaged your parked car, it’s an important step to get a police report made, and if there are any injuries or more than $1,000 of damage, you are required by law to do so. A police report can be a vital document when you file a claim with your insurer, and their help will be needed to try to locate the driver who left the scene of the accident.
- If it is safe to do so, take pictures of the damage. Take pictures of the road and location of the accident. If there are any witnesses, ask for their contact information and try to get them to stay until the police arrive. If you don’t have a camera or smartphone with you, write down as many details of the accident as you can, including the traffic level and weather.
- File your claim. Call your insurance agent even before you leave the scene of the accident, if you can. Some insurers allow you to file a claim at their website, but talking to an agent can be a good way to get questions answered and review your coverage.
Will insurance cover a hit-and-run?
If the other driver is located, their liability insurance should cover your costs for repairs or injuries. But if they are never found, or if they are found and are driving illegally without insurance, your own policy has several components that may pay for the costs of the accident, minus your hit-and-run deductible. Here’s a breakdown of what your coverage options are:
- Collision: while not mandatory coverage in Kansas, collision is considered part of a full-coverage policy and will pay for the costs of repairing your car or any stationary objects that a hit-and-run driver damages. There is typically a deductible with this type of insurance.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP): PIP coverage is required in Kansas, along with your liability insurance. This pays for medical expenses, rehabilitation, funeral expenses, lost wages and in-home care for your or your passengers, regardless of who is at fault.
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (UM/UIM): Kansas requires drivers to carry $25,000 of UM/UIM coverage per person, and $50,000 per accident. This can be used if the driver is found and has insufficient or no insurance, and may also be available for your use if the driver is not found. UM/UIM has both a bodily injury and a property damage component.
Frequently asked questions
How much does car insurance cost?
The average cost of a full-coverage policy in Kansas is $1,698 per year, based on data from Quadrant Information Services. This is on par with the national annual average of $1,674 for a full coverage policy. However, your own rate is based on factors unique to you and your car, so it may be higher or lower than this average.
Is there a hit-and-run deductible in Kansas?
There may be, especially if you’re using your collision coverage to pay for damages to your car. Collision does include a deductible, which you choose when you purchase your policy.
Where can I get the best hit-and-run Kansas insurance?
There are a number of insurance companies writing solid policies in Kansas that will protect you in the event of a hit-and-run. One strategy is to review our list of the Best Car Insurance Companies in 2021 and request quotes from several of the options there to see who will offer you the lowest rates.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.