The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
A Connecticut hit-and-run is serious business and the state takes a hard line on leaving the scene of an accident. However, hit-and-runs are still increasingly common across the U.S. Knowing how to respond to one of these accidents could help you feel prepared should you be involved.
Hit-and-runs in Connecticut
A hit-and-run is when a driver fails to stop and provide insurance information after an accident. Nationally, approximately 11% of all car accidents are hit-and-runs. Between 2006 and 2016, Connecticut recorded 148 hit-and-runs that resulted in at least one fatality. Because of the potential severity of these accidents, the state’s laws are serious.
Connecticut hit-and-run laws
Connecticut statute section 14-224 makes it illegal to drive off from the scene of an accident without exchanging insurance information. Depending on the accident, the driver may be charged with either a misdemeanor or felony under Connecticut hit-and-run law.
A misdemeanor in Connecticut brings with it a possible jail time of up to one year and a fine of up to $600. A felony, on the other hand, may put the driver behind bars for up to 10 years and result in a fine of up to $20,000.
How hit-and-runs impact car insurance rates in Connecticut
Hit-and-run claims generally increase premiums, even if you aren’t at fault. Filing any kind of claim on your insurance can increase your rate and you could lose claims-free discounts in the process. However, if you are at fault for a hit-and-run, are found and file a claim, your increase will likely be higher than if you were not at fault for the loss.
Additionally, if you are the at-fault driver in a hit-and-run in Connecticut, a judge may order you to file an SR-22 with the state. This form will prove to the state that you are carrying an insurance policy that meets or exceeds the state minimum limits.
Average annual full coverage premiums:
|Before a hit-and-run||After a hit-and-run||After a standard accident|
For a standard accident, the average cost of car insurance increases about 20% per year. However, for a hit-and-run, the average percentage increase is 65% per year, making it three times more expensive in the long run.
5 things to do after a hit-and-run in Connecticut
Being the victim of a hit-and-run can be stressful, so knowing how to respond before the incident happens may help you feel more in control. Below are five steps you could consider taking if you’ve been involved in a Connecticut hit-and-run.
- If anyone is hurt, call 911: The first thing you should do after a hit-and-run is make sure everyone is safe and injury-free. If need be, call 911 and tell the dispatcher you need an ambulance.
- Move your car out of harm’s way: It is unnecessary to stay at the exact scene where the accident occurred, especially if you are interrupting the flow of traffic. If your vehicle is driveable, you may want to move it to a nearby shoulder or parking lot.
- File a police report: If you’ve already called for medical assistance, the police may also be on their way. However, even if there are no injuries, calling the police and filing a report can be helpful to record details and may allow law enforcement to track down the at-fault party.
- Take pictures: When you and your car are safely removed from traffic, take pictures of any damage your car sustained from the accident. Photos can be helpful during an insurance claim.
- File a claim with your auto insurance provider: If you want to file a claim on your own insurance for the damage or medical expenses caused in the hit-and-run, you’ll need to contact your insurance company. You can often file a claim by phone, online or in a mobile app.
Will insurance cover a hit-and-run?
While actual hit-and-run insurance does not exist, there are types of coverage that may help you in the event of a hit-and-run.
- Collision: Collision coverage is part of a full coverage policy and is designed to pay for damages to your car, regardless of fault. You may need to pay a deductible for this coverage, though.
- Medical payments: This optional coverage pays for the medical costs of you and your passengers, up to your policy limit, also regardless of fault.
- Uninsured and underinsured motorist: These coverage types are required in Connecticut and may help pay for your medical bills if the other driver was found and does not have insurance or does not have enough insurance for your damages.
If you are unsure about what type of coverage you have, or about what types of coverage options your insurance provider offers, speak with an agent.
Frequently asked questions
How much does car insurance cost?
There is not a set price for car insurance every driver pays; rates vary based on your individual rating factors. However, the state average for car insurance in Connecticut is $1,845 per year for full coverage.
What is the best car insurance company?
The best car insurance company for you will depend on your own personal wants and needs. A driver looking for the cheapest rates might choose a different company than a driver looking for the best customer service, for example. Knowing what you want from a provider and getting quotes from several companies could help you find the right fit.
Is there a hit-and-run deductible?
Hit-and-run insurance is not a separate policy, so there is no specific “hit-and-run deductible.” However, individual policy coverage types may have deductibles. If you file a claim for damage to your car under your collision coverage, for example, you may have a deductible. Reviewing your policy with your agent is one of the best ways to understand your coverage.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.