When a motorist is involved in a traffic violation and has their license revoked, there may be some work involved to have their driving privileges restored. A crucial document that is often required to reinstate a suspended license is called an SR-22. In the state of Mississippi, this is a certificate of financial responsibility that proves you have at least the necessary insurance coverage mandated by law in your state. An SR-22 can only be filed by an auto insurance company. While most states use SR-22 forms, there are some alternative forms you may want to know about.
What is “SR-22 insurance?”
If you are wondering how to purchase SR-22 insurance, you should first know that an SR-22 is not a type of car insurance policy. An SR-22 is simply a document provided to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) by your insurance company. The form shows the state that you are carrying at least the state minimum required coverage. SR-22s are commonly needed after major traffic violations, like DUIs, or for drivers with numerous traffic incidents on their driving records.
In Mississippi, the minimum required insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $25,000 property damage liability per accident
Getting an SR-22 form is as simple as calling up your insurance provider and requesting one. However, even some of the best Mississippi car insurance companies won’t insure high-risk drivers. If your current insurance company does not offer SR-22 filings, or if you are uninsured, you will need to shop for an insurer that can file the form for you and switch your insurance.
SR-22 Mississippi alternatives
There are no alternatives to the SR-22 form in Mississippi. However, in some other states, the document of financial responsibility required after a traffic violation can be called by different names. The following table indicates the different alternatives to an SR-22 in various states.
|Form||States issued||Required insurance minimums|
|SR-22||Most states (excluding Delaware, Kentucky, Maryland, Minnesota, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma and Pennsylvania)||State minimum|
|SR-19||California, Texas||Uninsured motorist coverage|
|SR-21||Florida, Hawaii||State minimum|
|SR-22A||Georgia, Texas, Missouri||State minimum or more, pre-paid|
|FR-44||Florida, Virginia||Higher than state minimum (up to double)|
- SR-19: This form is used by California and Texas when motorists are in an accident with an uninsured driver.
- SR-21: SR-21s prove that drivers were insured at the time of an accident or ticket.
- SR-22A: This form is similar to an SR-22 but requires that at least six months of insurance coverage is prepaid.
- FR-44: Florida and Virginia require this form for especially high-risk drivers or repeat offenders, and it requires that the driver carry higher than state minimum limits.
- FR-19: Maryland uses this form to confirm insurance coverage for 30 days.
- SR-50: This form is used in Indiana and verifies coverage at a date in the past.
It is possible for motorists to get into a traffic violation even without owning a vehicle. In such a case, the driver may need to purchase a non-owner car insurance policy and request that their insurance company file the SR-22. Just with regular SR-22s, though, not all companies that write non-owner insurance policies will file the SR-22 form.
SR-22 Mississippi costs
Most insurance companies will charge an SR-22 filing fee, but it is usually relatively low. However, even though the SR-22 form itself is not expensive, the driving incident that prompted the need for the SR-22 will likely increase your premium.
If you find that your car insurance is too expensive after you see a premium increase, you may want to shop around for a cheaper Mississippi car insurance company. You may still pay higher premiums than if you had a clean driving record, but you might be able to find the cheapest option for your situation.
Frequently asked questions
How long do I need an SR-22 in Mississippi?
An SR-22 is attached to your insurance policy and remains on your record for at least three years. In some states, you may need to maintain the SR-22 for up to five years. However, the conviction that means you need the SR-22 may stay on your record for much longer. If you need to file an SR-22 because of a DUI conviction, for example, the offense may remain on your record for life. However, the incident shouldn’t affect your car insurance premiums indefinitely; most companies surcharge for driving violations for three to five years.
How do I get SR-22 insurance in Mississippi?
An SR-22 form is not a type of insurance; it is a form filed by an insurance company as proof of your car insurance coverage. In many cases, you can contact your current insurance provider and ask for the SR-22 to be sent to the DMV. If your provider does not offer SR-22 filings, you can switch to a high-risk car insurer to submit the SR-22 for you.
How much does SR-22 insurance in Mississippi cost?
The filing fee for the SR-22 itself is relatively low, but you’ll likely see an increase in your car insurance premium due to the driving violation that prompted the need for the SR-22. The average cost of car insurance in Mississippi is $1,782 per year for full coverage, but that price is for drivers with clean driving records. High-risk drivers will likely pay quite a bit more.
What is the best car insurance company for SR-22s?
The best car insurance company will always vary by driver, regardless of if you need an SR-22 form or not. Each driver has different wants and needs from their coverage that will affect which company they choose. Getting quotes from a few different providers that will file the SR-22 form could help you find the best insurance company for your situation.