Vermont had 47 speeding-related traffic fatalities in 2019 as reported by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). While speeding may not always result in an accident or fatality, there are other serious consequences to consider. For example, how long does a speeding ticket stay on your record in Vermont? A speeding ticket in Vermont results in penalties and fines, not to mention an increase in insurance premiums. A speeding ticket increases the national average cost of car insurance by 38%, according to Bankrate’s 2021 study of quoted annual premiums.
How much is a speeding ticket in Vermont?
The cost of a speeding ticket in Vermont depends on the miles per hour (mph) over the limit you are driving and where the speeding takes place. Vermont increases the fine with each individual mile over the limit. One mile over the limit is a minimum of $53, with incremental increases up to $507 for 50 mph over the limit. Fines almost double if you are caught speeding in a work zone.
Additionally, if a driver is caught speeding more than 60 mph over the speed limit on a highway, or 30 mph in a local zone, they face possible jail time of up to three months and a fine up to $300. A second conviction of excessive speed results in possible jail time up to six months, and a fine up to $500.
How much does a speeding ticket increase your car insurance in Vermont?
In addition to fines, a speeding ticket in Vermont will most likely cause an increase in your auto insurance premiums. The chart below shows the national average impact of a ticket on full coverage premiums, whether you are rated as a male or female driver. In general, female drivers tend to have lower insurance premiums because insurance companies assess them as less risky of a driver.
|Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||% increase|
Regardless of your gender or age, a speeding ticket typically causes a considerable increase in premiums.
How to lower your car insurance after a speeding ticket in Vermont
An increase in premiums may seem inevitable, but the good news is there are still ways to save on car insurance rates. A little extra research on your part could result in savings, even after an insurance increase caused by a ticket. Taking some of the following steps could help.
Get quotes from other car insurance companies
The first strategy to save money is to shop around and compare rates from multiple car insurance companies. The chart below showcases the difference in rates one company may charge versus another, even with the exact same parameters. Switching carriers may be the most effective way for you to save on premiums.
|Car insurance company||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||% increase|
*Premiums are average annual full coverage premiums for 40-year-olds
The amount you pay for premiums is critical, but you should consider other aspects of auto insurance as well. Checking a carrier’s track record with customer service reviews and ratings and reviewing policy management assets such as websites and apps are two examples of other areas to review.
Take a defensive driving class
If you haven’t already, taking an approved defensive driving class is another way to potentially save on premiums. Most carriers offer discounts for enrolling in and successfully completing a defensive driving course, where you learn valuable traffic safety skills. Be sure to work with your insurance carrier to ensure the course is approved prior to enrolling so you can maximize your discount potential.
Modify policy options
Another impactful way to lower the cost of premiums is to modify existing coverage with your current policy. While it’s extremely important to maintain at least liability insurance, other coverage options on your policy may not be as essential. For example, if you currently pay for roadside assistance, you could consider removing it from your policy if you also have this coverage from another third party, such as your credit card company.
Other speeding ticket considerations
In addition to penalties, fines and possible jail time, Vermont uses the point system for traffic violations. This means each traffic violation is worth a certain amount of points and the more you accumulate, the higher your chances of losing your license. If you lose your license, you would have to pay a reinstatement fee to get it back. A speeding ticket is typically assessed as two points.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best car insurance company for drivers with speeding tickets?
To find the best car insurance company for your budget, driving record and needs, comparing numerous carriers is one of the best tactics. Comparing customer service reviews, financial strength ratings, discounts and coverage options makes it easier to decide which company is right for you. If nothing else, it may confirm you are already with the best option for your circumstances.
Do I need to tell my insurance company I received a speeding ticket in Vermont?
No, you are not legally required to report a speeding ticket in Vermont if your insurer does not request it. However, the insurance company will likely discover the violation when your driving record is reviewed during a renewal period. An insurance carrier may also review your record at any time.
Why did my insurance premiums increase after a speeding ticket?
Insurance carriers evaluate rates based on risk. A driver with a speeding ticket is considered higher risk. When your risk is deemed higher, premium rates also increase.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base) and single speeding ticket.