Why you can trust Bankrate
At Bankrate we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation for . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
Mississippi averages over 660 vehicle crash fatalities per year, an average of 76 are related directly to speeding. A speeding ticket in Mississippi has lasting consequences, both with safety on the road and financial ramifications. When a speeding ticket is on a record, insurance premiums increase by an average of 18%, according to Bankrate’s 2021 study of quoted annual premiums. No matter the age or gender of the driver, getting caught speeding has a lasting effect on finances, with insurance premiums and fines.
How much is a speeding ticket in Mississippi?
The speeding fines range depending on the county where the offense took place and the amount over the speed limit. For example, in the city of Gulfport, the minimum fine for speeding less than 10 miles over the speed limit is $173. Naturally, the rates increase as the amount of speeding increases, eventually reaching fines of $248 per offense. In Olive Branch, MS, ticket prices are as high as $327 if you are caught speeding in a construction zone.
How much does a speeding ticket increase your car insurance in Mississippi?
In Mississippi, whether you are male or female, a teenager or adult, if you get a speeding ticket then you can expect insurance premiums to increase. The chart below shows the average amount of premiums for male vs female drivers, and what happens to the premiums when a speeding ticket is involved. While quoted annual premiums from Quadrant Information Services for males are higher than females on the whole, the increase with a speeding ticket factored in is consistent with both genders.
|Age||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||% increase|
Females typically pay less for auto insurance because insurance carrier’s have classified them as less risky drivers. Younger drivers pay substantially higher premiums for auto insurance, which explains why the increase after a speeding ticket is not as high as it is for older drivers.
How to lower your car insurance after a speeding ticket in Mississippi
Data indicates a rate increase with auto insurance is probable if you have a speeding ticket on your record in Mississippi. The good news is, there are still plenty of ways to save on auto insurance. Keep in mind, the average cost of insurance in Mississippi is $1,782 per year for full coverage for drivers without speeding tickets. The following tactics may help lower the cost of insurance, whether you have a speeding ticket on your record or not.
Get quotes from other car insurance companies
Quoted premiums from Quadrant indicate how much insurance goes up for a speeding ticket in Mississippi, which varies among insurance companies pretty significantly. Even with the same coverage limits and a single speeding ticket factored in, rates are widely different. Shopping around, and possibly changing insurance companies, is one way to find a lower rate.
|Car insurance company||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||% increase|
|Southern Farm Bureau||$1,563||$1,717||10%|
*Premiums are average annual full coverage premiums for 40-year-olds
Cost is definitely an important point for most shoppers, but other factors are worth evaluating too. Looking at customer service ratings from J.D. Power, financial strength ratings such as with AM Best and comparing discount options are a few more considerations for a well-rounded choice.
Update your coverage selections
Whether you change insurance companies or stick with your current provider, another strategy may be to update your coverage selections. If your rates have increased, speak with a licensed agent about coverage or endorsements you do not use frequently, or if raising your deductibles with comprehensive and collision coverage could help you save. While you are updating your selections, make sure you are taking advantage of all the discounts available to you.
Enroll in a defensive driving course
Numerous carriers offer discounted premiums if you enroll in a defensive driver course. These courses are taught in-person or online and teach valuable driver safety tips. Most carriers offer several options for courses and should have an “approved” list of classes to choose from. You will need to make sure the course you are enrolling in is on the approved list in order to qualify for the discount.
Other speeding ticket considerations
Not only is there a fine associated with the ticket, but there are possible court costs, administrative fees and increased insurance premiums to pay. Depending on the circumstances, you may also be required to attend traffic school as an additional penalty. Mississippi law requires a minimum amount of fines a court must charge for a speeding violation.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best car insurance company for drivers with speeding tickets?
Finding the best car insurance company to fit the needs of both your budget and insurance preferences is possible through comparing multiple carriers. Getting exact quotes highlights the differences between carriers with premiums rates, but also with coverage options and the amount of discounts.
Does your insurance go up for a speeding ticket in Mississippi?
You can expect to see an increase in premiums if you do get a speeding ticket in Mississippi, based on Quadrant data reviewed by Bankrate. However, the amount of the increase depends on a couple of factors, including the insurance carrier you are currently with and your driving record.
Does Mississippi add points to a license for a speeding ticket?
Unlike most other states, Mississippi does not use a points system to track moving violations, such as speeding tickets. Instead, the focus is on heavy fines and license suspensions if a driver breaks the traffic rules. The moving violations are added to your driving record.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on 18-year-old and 40-year-old male and female drivers with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.
Age: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the ages 18-60 (base: 40 years) applied. Depending on age, drivers may be a renter or homeowner.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.