The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
In Nevada, driving without insurance is a risky proposition given the consequences. Nevada’s LIVE program electronically tracks vehicle owners and can detect when a car insurance policy has lapsed. Car insurance companies are required to keep the Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV) up to date by reporting on such incidents. In addition, the DMV periodically checks vehicle owners throughout the year to confirm they are still covered by a vehicle insurance policy.
The penalty for driving without insurance in Nevada is far more costly — and inconvenient — than carrying the minimum amount of insurance required by the state.
Minimum insurance required in Nevada
- $25,000 for bodily injury/death per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury/death per accident
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
Penalties for driving without insurance in Nevada
Driving without insurance Nevada penalties can cost up to between $250 and nearly $2,000, depending on the severity of the offense. You could even lose your driving privileges. Nevada’s online insurance verification system (LIVE) keeps up-to-date on changes and lapses in vehicle coverage of Nevada residents. Although getting a ticket for having no insurance is possible, it is more likely that the LIVE system will flag you first.
Once you are flagged, you will receive a notice to provide proof of insurance to the Nevada DMV. If you are unable to show you did not lapse in coverage, you may be subject to the following penalties, which are in addition to a driving without insurance ticket and the associated court fees. It is important to note that Nevada has a no-grace period for lapsed coverage. Having no car insurance for even one day means you will likely face an immediate fine of $250.
You could be subject to a reinstatement fee of $250 to $750. The amount depends on the number of lapsed insurance offenses you have had in the last five years.
|Reason for fee||Fee amount|
|Reinstatement fee for first offense||$250|
|Reinstatement fee for second offense within five years||$500|
|Reinstatement fee for third offense within five years||$750|
Nevada driving without a license fine
Besides the insurance reinstatement fee, you will also be subject to a fine. The amount depends on whether you have lapsed in coverage before, and for how long the lapse occurred:
|First offense, 31 to 90-day lapse||$250|
|First offense, 91 to 180-day lapse||$500|
|First offense, 181-day lapse or more||$1,000|
|Second offense within five years, 31 to 180-day lapse||$500|
|Second offense within five years, 181-day lapse or more||$1,000|
|Third offense within five years, 31 to 90-day lapse||$500|
|Third offense within five years, 91 to 180-day lapse||$750|
|Third offense within five years, 181-day lapse or more||$1,000|
You may be required to file an SR-22 with a vehicle insurance company to show you have proper coverage. The certificate of financial responsibility typically comes with an additional fee, which averages $25, depending on the state and issuing insurer. The Nevada DMV will request an SR-22 on insurance lapses of:
- Over 90 days on first and second offenses
- One day or more on third offenses
If you have had three or more lapses in coverage, the Nevada DMV will suspend your license for a minimum of 30 days. To reinstate the license, you will need to pay a fee of $75, plus the cost of the license and possible driver testing fees.
Vehicle towing and impound fees
The DMV also indicates your vehicle may be impounded for failing to have car insurance, which incurs additional costs to get your vehicle out. Daily impound fees can average $30 per day, in addition to the towing fees.
Getting into an accident without insurance
The purpose of car insurance is to provide financial means to cover the expenses related to a covered loss. Driving without insurance in Nevada and being involved in a collision can have serious financial consequences. Drivers in this state are held responsible for the cost of damages and injuries if found to at-fault for the collision. And without a car insurance policy to back you up, you would have to pay for the damages out of pocket. You will also likely have your driver’s license suspended for at least 30 days, with additional costs and requirements following, as referenced above.
Frequently asked questions
What if you provide false insurance information?
Driving without insurance will immediately affect you in the state of Nevada. Providing false information could make matters even worse, especially because you are very likely to get caught. Nevada uses LIVE, an online insurance verification system that can confirm your vehicle coverage in a matter of minutes. Insurance companies operating in the state are subject to comply with the DMV by validating or providing up-to-date information about insurance policies to the LIVE database. They must also report vehicle owners that have lapsed in coverage. Providing false information to an insurer can result in a policy termination, which could further affect how the state determines your consequences.
How much is car insurance in Nevada?
The average cost of car insurance in Nevada is $2,246 per year for full coverage, based on quoted annual premiums from Quadrant Information Services. The cheapest minimum car insurance in Nevada may be much less, depending on the provider and your unique circumstances. Although it costs less to have just the state required minimum liability coverage, including comprehensive and collision coverage can be a smart financial protection for drivers who would prefer financial compensation for damages or a loss to their own vehicle.
What is SR-22 insurance?
An SR-22 is not technically insurance. It is a certificate created by your insurance company that confirms you have taken financial responsibility and have the required amount of car insurance. You may need to file an SR-22 in Nevada if your car insurance lapsed for 90 days or more.
Does the Nevada DMV know if my car insurance lapsed?
Nevada’s LIVE program works with car insurance carriers in the state to verify quickly whether you are covered. The DMV will check your insurance coverage periodically throughout the year or when you go register or renew your vehicle registration.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.