There were more than 1.5 million speeding tickets from cameras, alone, issued by Maryland jurisdictions in 2018. In Maryland, anyone who receives a speeding ticket, is involved in an at-fault accident or receives a DUI, could be considered a high-risk driver. Once a driver is considered high-risk, finding affordable car insurance or getting a car insurance company to renew an insurance policy can be difficult.
Although each car insurance company in Maryland is different and goes by a different underwriting process, most generally agree that any of the characteristics included above, as well as being a teen driver, classify as high risk. Therefore, drivers may want to seek the high-risk auto insurance Maryland companies offer.
Rates for high-risk car insurance in Maryland
Although every car insurance company in Maryland is different and has a unique application process, being high risk almost always results in paying a higher insurance premium. The average driver pays $1,674 for full coverage car insurance per year in the U.S., but this rate varies by location and each driver’s personal factors. Additionally, car insurance companies will look at driver-specific factors like age, driving history, credit score and gender to evaluate the risk in insuring someone. In Maryland, teen drivers from the age of 16, or those who have received a speeding ticket, been in an at-fault accident or been convicted of a DUI, may be considered high-risk.
Rates after a speeding ticket
Driving above the state’s maximum speeding limit is considered breaking the law. Speeding tickets can immediately be reflected on a driving record and show up as points on driver’s licenses. Insurance companies will be able to identify this information in the application process, typically leading to higher insurance premiums. Maryland drivers may see a percent increase from anywhere between at least 7% to 42% per year for full coverage car insurance after speeding.
Along with paying higher car insurance premiums, other penalties for speeding include a fine and points accumulated on your license. Under Maryland law, any speed above the absolute speed limit could be considered breaking the law. If a driver exceeds a posted speed limit anywhere between one to nine miles per hour, they could be charged $80 and get one point on their license. If they exceed a speeding limit from 10 to 19 miles, they may receive a $90 fine and two license points.
Exceeding the speed limit by more than 29 miles includes fines upwards of $290 and five points. Speeding may even be considered as reckless driving in Maryland if a driver shows enough disregard for road safety, resulting in up to $1,000 in fines.
|Car insurance company||Maryland average annual premium for full coverage before a speeding ticket||Maryland average annual premium for full coverage after a speeding ticket||% increase|
Rates after an at-fault accident
Like speeding, an at-fault accident in Maryland could also result in higher car insurance premiums. An at-fault accident is another way that insurance companies classify high-risk drivers. The average percent increase in car insurance premiums could range anywhere from 26% to 91% after a car accident.
The state minimum insurance requirements in Maryland include $30,000 for bodily injury liability for one person, $60,000 bodily injury liability for two or more people and $15,000 for property damage. A driver who does not have the minimum Maryland required car insurance limits and is involved in an at-fault accident may end up paying all accident-related costs out-of-pocket. Depending on the circumstances of the accident — such as if it is a hit-and-run or if the driver was speeding — Maryland drivers may face additional penalties, like a misdemeanor charge, fines or even jail time.
|Car insurance company||Maryland average annual premium for full coverage before an at-fault accident||Maryland average annual premium for full coverage after an at-fault accident||% increase|
Rates after a DUI
Driving under the influence is against the law in Maryland and another classification of high-risk for insurance companies. The average percent increase in car insurance premiums after a DUI may range 19% to 302% per year, depending on the car insurance provider and other driver-related factors.
In Maryland, a first offense for a DUI could also result in having to pay up to a $1,000 fine, up to one year in jail, 12 points on your driving record and license revocation for up to six months. If a driver is convicted of a second offense, they may face up to a $2,000 fine, up to two years of jail, 12 points on their license and license revocation up to a year. Drivers may also be required to enroll in an ignition interlock program.
|Car insurance company||Maryland average annual premium for full coverage before a DUI||Maryland average annual premium for full coverage after a DUI||% increase|
Rate for teen drivers
In the Old Line State, anyone between the ages of 16 and 19 is typically considered high risk because of being an inexperienced teen driver. Teen drivers are a bigger risk and more likely to file an insurance claim because of their statistically higher chance of being involved in an at-fault accident or obtaining a speeding ticket. In Maryland, high-risk auto insurance rates for full coverage based on a 16 year old added to a parent’s policy could range from $1,030 to $2,699 per year, depending on the insurance provider.
In Maryland, a teen with a learner’s permit is eligible to drive as long as an adult at least 21 years of age who has held a license for three years is present. Laws regarding teen drivers may change, however, as Maryland continues to strengthen its laws regarding young drivers.
|Car insurance company||Average annual premium for full coverage|
*16 year old on their parent’s policy
Who is a high-risk driver?
Bankrate’s sample high-risk driver profile is based on a driver who has received a speeding ticket, been in an at-fault accident, been convicted of a DUI or had a lapse in coverage. However, high-risk drivers by industry standards generally include any persons who are more likely to file a car insurance claim. These are some of the characteristics car insurance companies look at when determining risk, as well as the risk involved with teen drivers, as past driving history can predict future outcomes.
How to lower your rate if you are a high-risk driver
Even after being classified as a high-risk driver, there are several ways you could lower your insurance rates to find the best rate. A few ways worth considering to lower your rate include:
- Drive less and obtain mileage-based insurance.
- Take advantage of available car insurance discounts, like ones for good students.
- Raise your credit score.
- Switch your car insurance company.
Frequently asked questions
Which car insurance company has the cheapest auto insurance quotes in Maryland for high-risk drivers?
Each car insurance company is different and will give you a quote based on your driving factors. Some of the best car insurance companies with the most affordable rates in Maryland for high-risk drivers may be the ones with low premiums or a variety of discounts, among other qualities.
Will adding a 16 year old raise my car insurance premiums?
Yes, adding a 16 year old to your car insurance policy will add to your premiums. Teen drivers are statistically more likely to get involved in a car accident or receive a speeding ticket. Because of this, they are considered high-risk drivers.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually. These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.