The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
Getting a DUI in North Dakota can have serious repercussions. The average car insurance premium increase after a DUI conviction in North Dakota is 89% annually. Rates go from a pre-DUI average of $1,264 per year to a post-DUI average of $2,395 per year. You may also face fines, license suspension and even jail time. If you are a repeat offender, the penalties could be even more serious.
You are considered legally impaired in North Dakota if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08. For drivers operating a commercial vehicle, that limit is 0.04, and for drivers under 21 it’s 0.02. North Dakota also reserves the right to charge drivers with a DUI if their BAC is under these limits but their driving is impaired. If you have received a North Dakota DUI, you may be wondering how it will affect your car insurance. Bankrate’s research can help you navigate the consequences of a DUI.
DUI laws in North Dakota
North Dakota DUI penalties are serious. With a first offense, for example, there may be a fine of $500 if your BAC is below .16, and two days imprisonment and a $750 fine if your BAC is greater than .16. If the BAC is below .18, you could also be liable for a 91-day suspension of your license. If you have a BAC above .18, the suspension goes to 180 days. You may also face an addiction evaluation.
Second and third offenses in a seven-year span increase both the fines and potential time in prison. If you reach four or more DUIs within a 15-year period, you could face more than a year in prison, a $2,000 fine, two years of probation and more. At this point, your offense is considered a Class C felony, a serious classification that may stay on your criminal record for life.
The DWI cost in North Dakota may also include participation in the state’s 24/7 sobriety program. This program requires regular testing, at the individual’s cost, for the presence of alcohol. If the individual fails the test, they may be immediately taken into custody and jailed.
If you are found to be impaired while a minor child is in your car, even if it is a first offense, you could face up to a year in jail and a $2,000 fine. Refusing to submit to a chemical alcohol test is also a crime, and may result in you losing your driving privileges for between 180 days and three years.
Finally, if you are in an accident that results in an injury to someone else, you could be spending up to five years in prison. If a person is killed in a DUI or DWI accident that you cause, you may go to prison for up to 20 years.
How a DUI affects your car insurance in North Dakota
The cost of a DUI in North Dakota goes beyond state penalties; your conviction is also likely to have a serious impact on your car insurance premium. The average auto insurance premium increase after a DUI conviction in both North Dakota and the nation as a whole is almost 90%. That means that a DUI in North Dakota could nearly double your premium.
Auto insurance rates increase after a DUI because rates are based on risk. Someone with a DUI or DWI has engaged in risky behavior behind the wheel and could be more likely to do so again, which may result in an accident and subsequent insurance claim. To account for the increased risk of a claim, car insurance companies generally raise rates for high-risk drivers.
In lieu of an increased premium, your insurance provider could choose not to renew your policy. Some insurers are simply not willing to take on the increased risk of a driver with a DUI. You may have to shop around and find a new insurer who is willing to take on your higher risk level.
|Pre-DUI||Post DUI||Percent increase|
Finding car insurance after a DUI in North Dakota
You’ll likely see a substantial premium increase after a DWI in North Dakota, but you may be able to find more affordable rates. Based on Bankrate’s research, Allstate, American Family, Nationwide and USAA offer some of the most reasonable rates after a North Dakota DUI.
If you’re trying to lower your car insurance, you may want to take a few things into consideration. You could look for insurers who offer multiple discounts for which you qualify, as discounts could drop your rate significantly. You could also think about the type of vehicle you drive, which has a large impact on your premium.
|Car insurance company||Average annual premium after a DUI|
Frequently asked questions
How will a DUI in North Dakota impact my criminal record?
First through third DUI offenses within seven years in North Dakota are considered misdemeanors, while fourth and subsequent offenses within 15 years are class C felonies. These will likely remain on your criminal record for your lifetime. When it comes to insurance rates, most companies will surcharge for a DUI for five to seven years after the conviction date. After that time period — which varies by company — you might see a significant reduction in your rates, assuming you’ve been able to maintain a clean driving record since the DUI.
How much car insurance am I required to have in North Dakota?
North Dakota requires that drivers carry at least the following minimum coverage limits:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $25,000 property damage liability per accident
- $25,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 underinsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $50,000 underinsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $30,000 personal injury protection (PIP)
While these are the minimum requirements to drive legally, you may want to purchase higher limits for greater financial protection. You might also want to add comprehensive coverage and collision coverage, which means you are buying a full coverage policy. If you have a loan or lease on your vehicle, your financial institution likely requires full coverage.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.