DACA recipients qualify for FHA mortgages under new agency rules


At Bankrate we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here’s an explanation for

In January, the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) updated its policy to permit DACA recipients, also known as Dreamers, to qualify for federally-backed mortgages.

The change means that some undocumented immigrants who arrived in the U.S. as children are now eligible for home loans targeted at lower-income borrowers.

If you’re a Dreamer who now qualifies for an FHA loan, here’s what you need to know.

What changed?

Dreamers were previously barred from receiving FHA mortgages under an agency policy that prohibited  “non-U.S. citizens without lawful residency in the United States” from obtaining the loans.

In January, the agency updated its guidance, and plans to scrub that language from future versions of its handbook.

“The term ‘lawful residency’ pre-dates DACA and thus did not anticipate a situation in which a borrower might not have entered the country legally, but nevertheless be considered lawfully present,” the agency said in a statement announcing the change.

What do DACA recipients need in order to apply?

Any FHA mortgage applicant needs to provide documentation to prove their eligibility for the loan.

Here are the minimum qualifications, according to the FHA:

  • A valid Social Security Number or qualifying employer ID from the World Bank or a foreign embassy
  • Employment authorization from the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
  • Minimum credit score of 580 for a 3.5 percent down payment or 500 for a 10 percent down payment
  • Debt to income ratio less than 43 percent

The FHA also provided the following guidance to partnering lenders about work authorization documents: “If the Employment Authorization Document will expire within one year and a prior history of residency status renewals exists, the lender may assume that continuation will be granted. If there are no prior renewals, the lender must determine the likelihood of renewal based on information from the USCIS.

Keep in mind, FHA mortgages can only be used for the borrower’s primary residence.

What are alternatives to FHA loans for Dreamers?

DACA recipients have always qualified for conventional, conforming loans, but those can be more difficult to secure for lower-credit borrowers. If you’re a Dreamer looking to buy a home, it’s worth shopping around and being open with lenders early on about your immigration status. A good mortgage broker or lending professional should be able to help you find the home loan that’s right for you.

Bottom line

The FHA’s policy change means its loans are now available to DACA recipients, who previously were prohibited from receiving its mortgages. The new policy means the American Dream may now be attainable for more Dreamers than ever.

Learn more: