In 2019, there were 8,901 speeding-related accidents in Oklahoma, a 3.7% increase from 2018. On a positive note, the total number of speed-related fatalities in 2019 (112) reflected a 15.8% decrease from the 133 speeding-related fatalities in Oklahoma in 2018.
Speeding can be costly in Oklahoma as well with fines imposed up to $213 for a first offense. In addition, speeding violations will typically cause annual car insurance premiums to increase an average of $388 above the national average for premiums. For both 40-year-old male and female drivers in Oklahoma, premiums typically increase by 19% following a speeding ticket.
How much is a speeding ticket in Oklahoma?
There are two categories of speeding laws in Oklahoma:
- Basic speeding law: Oklahoma drivers must drive at a “careful and prudent speed” under road circumstances and conditions. This means that drivers must always operate their vehicles at safe speeds no matter the posted speed limit.
- Absolute limits: Under no circumstance can an Oklahoma driver exceed the posted speed limit.
Speeding violations can lead to a fine, jail time or both. Potential fines range from:
- $10 for 10 miles per hour over the limit.
- $20 for 11 to 15 mph over the limit.
- $35 for 16 to 20 mph over the limit.
- $75 for 21 to 25 mph over the limit.
- $135 for 26 to 30 mph over the limit.
- $155 for 31 to 35 mph over the limit
- $205 for 36 mph or more over the limit.
The maximum possible jail time can reach ten days for a first offense, 20 days for a second offense occurring within a year and six months for a third or subsequent offense that occurs within a year.
How much does a speeding ticket increase your car insurance in Oklahoma?
A conviction for speeding in Oklahoma will generally lead to a significant increase in premiums. Oklahoma runs counter to typical trends of higher post speeding rate increases for men than women. Typically, speeding has a greater impact on males who are statistically viewed as higher risk drivers than females. In Oklahoma however, rates increase more for 18-year-old female drivers and are only slightly higher for males who have been ticketed for speeding.
|Age||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||% increase|
After you get a speeding ticket, some insurance companies that will work with you to find an affordable policy despite your speeding history. Search the best insurance options In Oklahoma, obtain several quotes and compare.
How to lower your car insurance after a speeding ticket in Oklahoma
If you receive a speeding ticket, you will not be able to completely remove the consequences. However, you may be able to find ways to lower your insurance costs until the speeding violation is no longer on your driving record.
Get quotes from other car insurance companies
All automobile insurance companies examine a wide variety of factors in calculating premiums, and Oklahoma insurers are no different. It is always good practice to obtain quotes from several companies, even if you are not dealing with a speeding ticket.
This becomes clear from the chart below. The five well known car insurers listed all can be expected to increase premiums following a ticket, but the rate of increase varies significantly from carrier to carrier.
|Car insurance company||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||% increase|
*Premiums are average annual full coverage premiums for 40-year-olds
You can use research resources to help you find the best coverage to meet your needs and at affordable prices. Determine the best levels of coverage to protect you and your family. Look for key aspects for various carriers including financial strength, available add-ons and discounts and reputation for customer service and claims handling.
Look for discounts
Pay close attention to the discounts that your insurance company offers. See how they compare to other carriers. Most carriers today offer some form of “bundling” discount if you cover both your home and auto with the same car insurance company. Similarly, discounts are often offered for insuring more than one vehicle with a single insurer.
Many other discounts are available based on your location, the type of vehicle you drive, your age and even for making your carrier’s administrative responsibilities simpler by using paperless billing and automatic premium payment processes.
Are you able to adjust current coverages?
Like most states, Oklahoma law requires drivers to maintain certain minimum levels of liability coverage. While you can not change these limits, if you have an older loan free car, you might consider Redford even eliminating coverage to address damage to your vehicle.
Other speeding ticket considerations
Oklahoma has a mandatory point system which impacts your driving privileges and your car insurance premiums. You may be assessed two points for speeding and three points if you are caught speeding 25 miles per hour above a posted limit. After a year passes with no citations, two points can be removed.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best car insurance company for drivers with speeding tickets?
There are many good auto insurance companies with years of experience in dealing with drivers with challenging driving records, including speeding. Choose several that rank well and obtain quotes to assess the various unique approaches. Comparing these will help lead you to the most affordable policy to meet your needs.
Do I need to tell my insurance carrier about a speeding ticket?
There is no legal requirement to disclose this information to your carrier. Be prepared however for your insurance company to learn of a speeding violation at the time of renewal.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on 18-year-old and 40-year-old male and female drivers with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.
Age: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the ages 18-60 (base: 40 years) applied. Depending on age, drivers may be a renter or homeowner.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.