The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of. Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
There are numerous car insurance laws in Oklahoma designed to protect the drivers of the Sooner State. With over 2.5 million licensed drivers on the roads in Oklahoma, understanding the basic laws is helpful as drivers make financial decisions regarding their vehicles and auto insurance policies.
In 2019, Oklahoma recorded 584 fatal crashes, with over 640 deaths as a result, which also means 16.2 deaths per a population of 100,000. Keeping drivers safe is the main goal, but making sure all parties involved in an accident have some type of financial protection is another goal. Understanding how the major car insurance laws in Oklahoma impact you is one of the steps to making better insurance policy decisions.
Car insurance laws in Oklahoma
Drivers in Oklahoma who are shopping for an auto insurance policy should understand the minimum amount of insurance required to drive legally. In addition to mandatory insurance, there are a few other straightforward laws drivers should be aware of, including:
- Oklahoma auto insurance requirements include minimum liability coverage.
- Oklahoma participates in an online insurance verification process. If you are stopped by law enforcement, the officer must verify insurance coverage through this.
- Drivers are required to carry proof of insurance in their vehicles at all times.
- If you are caught driving without insurance, you are subject to fines and penalties.
Liability insurance in Oklahoma
Oklahoma requires drivers to purchase minimum liability insurance of 25/50/25, which includes:
- $25,000 of bodily injury protection per person
- $50,000 of bodily injury protection per accident
- $25,000 of property damage protection per accident
Oklahoma car insurance laws also requires insurance companies to offer uninsured motorist/underinsured motorist coverage to all drivers. The minimum required rate is $25,000/$50,000 respectively. However, this coverage can be rejected in writing.
However, only purchasing the minimum liability may leave a driver in a financially vulnerable situation. For example, if you are ruled the at-fault driver in a multiple-person, multiple-injury collision, the minimum liability insurance limits would likely not be enough to cover the medical payments. If you do not have enough liability insurance, the other drivers can sue for additional payments towards medical expenses. Many financial experts recommend carrying as much liability coverage as your budget allows and also makes the most financial sense.
Adding options such as comprehensive and collision insurance may increase the amount of your premiums, however these provide coverage for damage to your own vehicle. Liability insurance does not offer any payment towards repair or replacement of your vehicle.
Is Oklahoma a no-fault state?
Oklahoma is considered an at-fault state. This means someone must be determined to be at-fault in the event of a vehicle crash. The at-fault driver’s insurance company is deemed responsible for medical expenses and property damage for the other driver. This is another reason to consider carrying more than the bare minimum for liability insurance to make sure there are adequate limits in place.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Oklahoma
Residents of Oklahoma caught without auto insurance face steep fines and penalties. If you are caught, you must show proof of obtaining insurance, you must submit the proof via the validation system, plus you have to pay a reinstatement fee. You will also have to pay a $250 fine.
There are other possible penalties for driving without insurance. Your license could be suspended and you may face jail time for up to 30 days. Oklahoma law also allows your vehicle to be towed or your license plate to be seized. If your license plate is seized, it will cost a $125 administrative fee once and you must show proof of insurance for reinstatement.
Additional auto insurance coverage options in Oklahoma
Purchasing the bare minimum may give you the financial protection and coverage to fit your driving needs. Liability insurance is critical and legally required, but other options are also important to consider.
- Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage: This provides coverage for expenses related to medical payments and lost wages, even funeral costs, for you and your passengers if you are involved in an accident.
- Roadside assistance: This provides you with help when you find your car is inoperable. It usually includes assistance with towing, lockout, fuel delivery, extraction and tire changes.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best car insurance company in Oklahoma?
To find the best car insurance company in Oklahoma, Bankrate reviewed multiple national carriers. Customer service ratings, competitive rates, discounts and financial strength were all reviewed. USAA, State Farm, Liberty Mutual, Farmers and Allstate all scored high among Bankrate’s review for drivers in Oklahoma.
What is the cheapest car insurance in Oklahoma?
The rates for cheapest car insurance in Oklahoma will be different for every driver. Rates depend on a variety of factors, including the zip code, credit score, vehicle and driving history for each driver. However, after analyzing data from Quadrant Information Services, Bankrate found Geico, USAA, Farmers Insurance, State Farm and Mercury offered the lowest rates within the parameters of the review.
How much does car insurance cost in Oklahoma?
While your exact rates depend on your personal factors, the average cost of car insurance in Oklahoma is $423 per year for minimum coverage and $1,873 per year for a full policy. The best method of finding the lowest rates possible for your circumstances is to obtain quotes from multiple carriers at the same time.