Driving without insurance in Oklahoma
The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
Driving without auto insurance is illegal in most states, including Oklahoma, and could result in severe financial or legal consequences if you are in an accident or are stopped by the police. Oklahoma’s minimum liability coverage is not expensive compared to the national average ($565), averaging $423 annually across the state. Given Oklahoma has more than 2,400,000 licensed drivers, the need for insurance extends beyond just regulatory considerations as well.
Minimum insurance required in Oklahoma
Like almost all states in the U.S., Oklahoma drivers are required to carry minimum levels of liability insurance. Liability refers to your financial responsibility to the other driver following an accident that you cause. The minimum requirements for Oklahoma are as follows:
- $25,000 of individual personal liability coverage, to pay for costs related to a single injury
- $50,000 total personal liability coverage, to pay for costs for all injuries incurred in a single accident
- $25,000 property damage liability, to may for damages to the other car or stationary objects
If you have a car loan or lease your car, you may also be required to carry collision and comprehensive coverage, which will pay for damages to your car in an accident (liability pays only for the other driver and car). You may also want to consider purchasing more than the minimum liability, since costs can mount up quickly following a serious accident and may exceed your policy limits.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Oklahoma
Approximately 13.4% of Oklahoma’s drivers are on the road illegally without the minimum required auto insurance. Unlicensed drivers may get a ticket just for having no insurance, but the penalties can extend into fines or even incarceration time. You can be fined up to $250 for driving without insurance in Oklahoma, and although it is not likely for your first offense, you can be sentenced to jail for up to 30 days in some cases.
In addition, your driver’s license may be suspended, which means you would not be able to legally operate your vehicle on the road. Your vehicle’s registration may also be suspended and the vehicle could be impounded. In order to undo both of these, administrative fees and other costs typically apply.
Fees from Oklahoma’s online insurance verification system
Oklahoma’s Compulsory Insurance Verification System (OCIVS) is a system that allows police officers to check for your insurance in real time — for example, if you are involved in a traffic stop or incident.
While this gives law enforcement a quick look at your insurance status, this does not mean that you no longer have to carry your insurance card. Legally, that should be with you whenever you are behind the wheel. Fees associated with driving without insurance may include the following:
|Reason for fee||Fee amount|
|Failure to comply with insurance code within 30 days||Up to $250|
|Failure to surrender license and plates||$50|
|Modified license fee (following a suspension)||$175|
Getting into an accident without insurance
Getting into an accident is never a good thing — even if you do have auto insurance. But accidents involving drivers without insurance can be financially devastating, even if you are not to blame for the accident.
If you are not at fault in the accident, you may be able to recoup your expenses from the other driver’s insurance policy, if they are determined to be at fault. But you would still find yourself subject to the fees and other penalties that apply to uninsured drivers. You could still see your license suspended and be unable to drive, and could still be sentenced to up to 30 days in prison.
If you are at-fault for the accident, you would be legally liable for all costs related to the accident, whether these are medical costs, lost wages or property damage, for example. When you consider that medical costs in a serious accident might run in excess of thousands of dollars, having insurance makes sense from a financial planning perspective as well. Property damages can quickly escalate as well, considering the cost of a new car in the U.S. is more than $40K on average.
Frequently asked questions
What if you provide false insurance information?
If you are caught driving without insurance Oklahoma, providing false insurance information is not an effective way to avoid penalties or fines. The state’s OCIVS computer database will allow police to identify instantly if you have an active policy in force. You would then be liable for all fees and up to 30 days of imprisonment, along with suspension of your license and registration.
How much is car insurance in Oklahoma?
The average annual cost of car insurance in Oklahoma is $423 for minimum coverage and $1,873 for full coverage, which includes collision and comprehensive. Minimum coverage in Oklahoma is cheaper than the national average of $565, but full coverage is more than the U.S. average of $1,674. Your own cost will vary depending on a wide range of factors.
What company has the best car insurance in Oklahoma?
There are a number of nationally-recognized companies writing auto policies in Oklahoma, including Allstate, Geico and others. The best company for you is the one that offers the coverage options you need, preferred level of customer service and most reasonable prices that fit your budget. It is recommended to get some quotes to determine who is the best fit for you.
Who has the cheapest car insurance in Oklahoma?
The company that gives you the cheapest car insurance quote in Oklahoma may not be the same as the one that gives your neighbor their best quote, or the coverage option may not ideally suit your needs. Factors ranging from your age and marital status to the type and age of the car you drive all impact your quote, which is unique to your own situation. The best strategy is to gather several quotes from leading insurers to see who is the most affordable fit for you.