The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
Like many other states, Indiana provides a very good reason for obtaining car insurance. The law in Indiana requires certain minimum levels of coverage, and there are significant penalties for not complying. Of course, protecting you and your family from liability and serious financial loss provides a more fundamental reason to shop for the best car insurance to meet your needs.
Minimum insurance required in Indiana
- Liability for bodily injury: Minimum required – $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident;
- Liability for damage to property: Minimum required – $25,000 per accident;
- Uninsured motorist bodily Injury: Minimum required – $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident;
- Uninsured motorist damage to property: Minimum required – $25,000 per accident;
- Underinsured motorist bodily injury: Minimum required – $50,000 per person, $50,000 per accident.
The uninsured and underinsured requirements can be avoided if they are rejected by an insured in writing. It’s usually a good idea to obtain higher coverage amounts than the minimum to fully protect yourself financially if you are able.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Indiana
Indiana requires proof of auto insurance by filing proof of financial responsibility. The certificate of compliance is a document that is filed with the Indiana Bureau of Vehicles (BMV) and provides evidence that you comply with Indiana’s minimum auto insurance requirements. Typically, you can arrange for your insurer to file the COC for you electronically, which is a good idea since there are significant penalties for driving without insurance:
This form is a certificate of future compliance with Indiana’s minimum insurance requirements. The SR-22 must be filed with the BMV by your insurance company when your license has been suspended and must be in effect before an Indiana license can be reinstated. There are specific requirements for the length of time an SR22 must remain in effect, depending on your circumstances.
First violation for driving without insurance
If caught driving without insurance for the first time in Indiana, you will likely have your driving privileges suspended for 90 days. As explained, this suspension creates the need for maintaining an SR-22, in this case, for three years.
Second and subsequent violations for driving without insurance
A second violation leads to more significant consequences. In addition to a one-year license suspension, a $500 fine will be imposed, and an SR-22 requirement is imposed for three years. With a third and any subsequent minimum insurance violations, a $1,000 reinstatement fee will be required, your license will be suspended for one year, and the SR-22 must be maintained for five years.
Fees from Indiana’s online insurance verification system
Indiana’s online insurance verification system is a bit different from most other states. While insurance providers can use the system to electronically submit proof of insurance for policyholders, the system is not accessible to the general public. Still, it’s important to note that if the state of Indiana learns that you own a vehicle that is not insured, the following penalties may apply unless you can provide proof of insurance in a timely fashion.
|Reason for fee||Fee amount|
|License reinstatement fee after first violation for driving without insurance||$250|
|License reinstatement fee after second violation for driving without insurance||$500 plus up to $500 fine for violation|
|License reinstatement fee after third violation for driving without insurance||$1,000 plus additional fines for violation|
Getting into an accident without insurance
There is no way to sugarcoat the consequences that will follow if you get into an accident while driving in Indiana without insurance. You will likely be ticketed for driving without insurance, and all of the penalties described above will come into play, including suspension of your license. SR-22 requirements will also usually be imposed. Yet these may not even be the most significant challenges you will face.
If you were at fault in an accident while driving without insurance, you might be sued by the other driver, passengers and their insurance companies for personal injuries and property damage, which can lead to serious financial problems for years. Of course, you will also need to pay for your medical costs, if any, and damage to your vehicle.
Frequently asked questions
What if you provide false insurance information?
Providing false insurance information of any type is a crime in Indiana and can have severe consequences whether you are driving with insurance in place or not. Providing misleading insurance information is a Class A misdemeanor and punishable with up to one year imprisonment and a fine up to $5,000.
How much is car insurance in Indiana?
Car insurance is relatively affordable in Indiana. The cost for full auto coverage is $1,254 annually and $367 for minimum coverage, which is well below the national average. Of course, every driver will bring different characteristics and risk factors to bear on the insurance application process. It is wise to get several quotes from good carriers and compare. If in doubt, speak with a licensed insurance agent to determine the best option for you.
Can you get away with driving without insurance?
There is usually no good that can come from driving without insurance. The money saved in premiums is little when balanced against the tremendous cost and personal freedom that may be at risk should you be ticketed, or worse, involved in a serious accident.