Auto insurance for high-risk drivers in Utah

1
gilaxia/Getty Images

At Bankrate we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here’s an explanation for

In 2020 alone, Utah saw more than 53,000 car crashes — 27,850 of which were attributable to high-risk driving behaviors such as driving under the influence (DUI), distracted driving, speeding and driver inexperience.

Finding affordable auto insurance coverage for high-risk drivers in Utah can be a challenge because insurers must weigh the risk of each policyholder to determine their premium. Our team evaluated how the most popular car insurance companies in Utah issue rate increases for high-risk drivers, using a driver profile that has at least one at-fault accident, speeding ticket, DUI conviction or lapse in coverage.

Rates for high-risk car insurance in Utah

High-risk drivers pay more for insurance coverage due to the fact that providers must assess the risk of insuring each policyholder based on their driving history. Depending on the specific type of traffic infraction committed and other personal factors, your rate increases for car insurance will vary.

Rates after a speeding ticket

In Utah, receiving a speeding ticket doesn’t just come with 37-75 points on your driving record and a minimum $130 fine: Drivers will also experience a rate increase from their insurance provider. The table below outlines what the most popular insurance providers in Utah charge policyholders before and after receiving a speeding ticket:

Car insurance company Utah average annual premium for full coverage before a speeding ticket Utah average annual premium for full coverage after a speeding ticket % increase
Allstate $1,421 $2,368 67%
American Family $1,676 $1,755 5%
Farmers $1,116 $1,678 50%
Geico $971 $1,204 24%
Iowa Farm Bureau $1,180 $1,353 15%
Kemper $2,340 $2,953 26%
Nationwide $1,052 $1,278 21%
Progressive $1,195 $1,375 15%
State Farm $1,648 $1,775 8%
USAA $839 $1,012 21%

Rates after an accident

Drivers who have been found at-fault for causing an accident that results in property damage will receive a $690 fine. Utah takes accident reporting seriously, and drivers can face significant penalties for failing to remain at the scene of an accident and report it to the proper authorities.

Car insurance company Utah average annual premium for full coverage before an accident Utah average annual premium for full coverage after an accident % increase
Allstate $1,421 $2,567 81%
American Family $1,676 $1,874 12%
Auto-Owners $1,384 $1,701 23%
Farmers $1,116 $1,821 63%
Geico $971 $1,564 61%
Iowa Farm Bureau $1,180 $1,729 46%
Kemper $2,340 $3,586 53%
Nationwide $1,052 $1,454 38%
Progressive $1,195 $2,032 70%
State Farm $1,648 $1,978 20%
USAA $839 $1,215 45%

Rates after a DUI

Utah takes DUI offenses seriously, imposing two types of penalties on convicted drivers. Not only will drivers face penalties from local courts, but they will also receive unrelated civil penalties, also called “per-se” or administrative penalties. Once arrested on a DUI charge, your license will be immediately confiscated by the arresting officer and replaced with a citation that expires in 45 days (known as a per-se arrest). If you fail to submit to a hearing request form, your license will be suspended on the 45th day by the Driver License Division.

DUI convictions can come with a number of additional penalties, including jail time, community service, fines, license suspension, mandatory drug/alcohol abuse treatment, vehicle impoundment, and ignition interlock device installation. In addition to all these penalties, drivers will see significant car insurance rate increases.

Car insurance company Utah average annual premium for full coverage before a DUI Utah average annual premium for full coverage after a DUI % increase
Allstate $1,421 $3,721 162%
American Family $1,676 $2,046 22%
Auto-Owners $1,384 $2,749 99%
Farmers $1,116 $1,749 57%
Geico $971 $2,319 139%
Iowa Farm Bureau $1,180 $2,551 116%
Kemper $2,340 $2,579 10%
Nationwide $1,052 $2,142 104%
Progressive $1,195 $1,280 7%
State Farm $1,648 $2,361 43%
USAA $839 $1,608 92%

Rates for teen drivers

According to the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), teen drivers aged 16 – 19 account for more motor vehicle crashes than any other age group, making them a particularly high-risk segment of drivers. In fact, teen drivers were the second-leading cause of car crashes in Utah in 2020. These statistics alone are enough to illustrate why teenage drivers pay more for their auto insurance coverage than their adult counterparts. The following table shows what parents can expect to pay for their car insurance coverage after adding a 16-year-old driver to their policy:

Car insurance company Average annual premium for full coverage
Allstate $2,453
American Family $3,503
Auto-Owners $3,706
Farmers $1,190
Geico $1,546
Iowa Farm Bureau $1,016
Kemper $9,300
Nationwide $840
Progressive $2,068
QBE $3,223
State Auto Insurance $3,348
State Farm $3,066
USAA $1,318

Who is a high-risk driver?

At Bankrate, our team uses the following definition of a high-risk driver to assess insurance rate increases:

A high-risk driver is one who has a clean base driving record with at least one of the following offenses:

  • At-Fault accident
  • DUI conviction
  • Lapse in coverage
  • Speeding ticket

However, it is important to understand that insurance providers assess risk using the standard definition of high-risk driving. This means that a high-risk driver is simply anyone who has a higher potential for filing a claim with their provider than the average driver. High-risk driving behaviors under this definition might include those listed above in addition to the following:

  • Drivers who own high-risk vehicles, such as exotic cars, sports cars, supercars, or collectible cars
  • Drivers over 70-years-old
  • Driving without a license
  • New drivers
  • Poor driving record
  • Reckless driving

Your insurer’s definition of a high-risk drier may be all or a combination of these factors.

How to lower your rate if you are a high-risk driver

While high-risk drivers in Utah will pay higher premiums for auto insurance, there are steps that these drivers can take to potentially reduce their rates. The following are just some of the ways in which drivers may be able to lower their premium obligation following a high-risk driving offense:

  • Shop around: Not every insurance provider’s definition of a high-risk driver is the same, and not all carriers impose the same penalties for the same offense. If your rate increase following a traffic infraction seems too harsh, shop around to see what other providers will charge for your current driving record.
  • Defensive driving: Some insurance providers will look more favorably on drivers who are taking steps to improve their driving skills and behaviors. In fact, many insurance carriers offer special discounts to policyholders who take qualifying defensive driving and driver’s education courses. Find out if your insurance provider offers these discounts by discussing your options with your agent.
  • Available discounts: In addition to defensive driving discounts, you may be eligible for other discounts through your insurance provider. For instance, Progressive allows customers to monitor their driving behavior using an installed device in their cars so they pay premiums according to their driving safety. On the other hand, Allstate issues discounts for “smart students” based on their average GPA and attendance.
  • Time and patience: Most drivers will see their history clear within three to five years depending on the infraction committed, and insurance carriers typically only refer to the past five years of driving history when determining rates. As long as you commit to a safer driving style, within five years you should see a reduction in your premium.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best insurance company for high-risk drivers in Utah?

The best insurance company for high-risk drivers largely depends on the specific infraction committed and how each carrier determines rate increases according to these violations. In short, it all depends on how severe the resulting penalty is and whether or not other providers are able to issue smaller penalties based on the same infraction.

What is the cheapest car insurance in Utah?

The cheapest car insurance provider in Utah on average is USAA at just $839 annually for full auto insurance coverage. However, this may not be the case if you receive a speeding ticket, DUI conviction, or are found at-fault for an accident. In some instances following a high-risk driving event, USAA may actually be more expensive than some other providers in the region. This is why it’s important to shop around after receiving a traffic violation to ensure you’re always paying the lowest rate for coverage.

How much car insurance do Utah drivers need?

Utah’s state-required auto insurance limits are as follows:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability
  • $65,000 total bodily injury
  • $15,000 property damage liability
  • $3,000 personal injury protection

Methodology

Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:

  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $50,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • $500 collision deductible
  • $500 comprehensive deductible

To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually. These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.

High-risk drivers
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.

Written by
Carly Severino
Insurance Contributor
Carly Severino has two years of experience in writing for insurance domains such as Bankrate.com, Coverage.com, Reviews.com and TheSimpleDollar.com. She has experience covering a broad range of insurance products, including homeowners, life, auto, and medical insurance. Her expertise has also been called upon in the development of various websites for insurance companies, including Birtwhistle & Livingston, Inc., GovTech Insurance and Tax Title Services.