Auto insurance after a DUI in Georgia

1
MarcusRudolph.nl/Getty Images
Bankrate Logo

Why you can trust Bankrate

While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation for . This content is powered by HomeInsurance.com (NPN: 8781838). For more information, please see our

If you live in Georgia, a DUI arrest is likely going to increase your car insurance premiums. It is also likely that you will have penalties and fines to pay. Georgia, like most states, takes drunk driving seriously. The consequences are steep in order to deter drivers from getting behind the wheel if they are impaired.

How does a DUI affect your insurance rate?

To an insurance provider, a DUI can be indicative of future reckless behavior. This thinking is not just anecdotal — it is backed by hard evidence. The NHTSA has found that over 30% of all traffic fatalities in the United States involve drunk drivers. It also found that drivers with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher involved in fatal crashes were four times more likely to have prior DUI convictions than drivers with lower BACs. Mothers Against Drunk Driving asserts that drunk driving is the number one cause of death on America’s roads, despite distracted driving being on the rise.

Drunk driving has a financial impact, as well. In 2010 (the most recent year with available data), DUIs accounted for $44 billion in damages.

Because of this, insurance providers generally charge more for insurance if a driver has a DUI. Nationally, most drivers pay nearly twice as much annually after a DUI compared to what they paid before their conviction.

National vs state average annual rates with DUI

Pre-DUI Post DUI Percent Increase
National $1,674 $3,336 99%
Georgia $1,982 $3,691 86%

Georgia’s average annual percentage increase is lower than the national average, but drivers can still expect to pay more for car insurance after a DUI.

How much does it cost for insurance after a DUI in Georgia?

Georgia drivers convicted of a DUI can expect to pay roughly 86% more for insurance than what they paid pre-DUI. Though an insurance provider takes many data points into consideration when calculating a premium, a DUI conviction will typically be a very large factor.

Below are two tables that outline the premium increase you may experience after a DUI with several insurance providers operating in Georgia. One table is for minimum coverage and the other is for full coverage. However, be aware that you may pay more or less based upon the severity of your arrest and your past history. Additionally, some insurance providers do not write auto insurance policies if a driver has had a DUI and may non-renew your policy.

Georgia provider minimum coverage rates

The rates below may not reflect changes as some carriers will not renew if you have a DUI conviction.

Provider Average annual minimum coverage rate Minimum coverage annual rate with DUI
ACCC Insurance $659 $794
Alfa $859 $1,232
Allstate $706 $1,728
Auto-Owners $532 $1,198
Country Financial $614 $1,110
Donegal $963 $4,147
Geico $508 $1,270
Mercury $760 $1,217
MetLife $887 $1,695
Nationwide $585 $1,082
Progressive $708 $1,014
Safeway $945 $1,316
Southern General Agency $3,354 $5,606
State Farm $486 $943
USAA $581 $1,136

Georgia provider full coverage rates with DUI

The rates below may not reflect changes as some carriers will not renew if you have a DUI conviction.

Provider Average annual full coverage rate Full coverage annual rate with DUI
ACCC Insurance $1,945 $2,255
Alfa $2,450 $3,354
Allstate $1,718 $4,500
Auto-Owners $1,494 $2,993
Country Financial $2,183 $3,536
Donegal $2,153 $11,703
Geico $1,711 $3,649
Mercury $1,915 $2,757
MetLife $1,788 $3,504
Nationwide $1,202 $2,263
Progressive $1,800 $2,343
Safeway $2,372 $3,164
Southern General Agency $6,717 $10,745
State Farm $1,375 $2,394
USAA $1,506 $2,969

Other Georgia DUI Consequences

Georgia drivers also face numerous penalties from the state after a DUI conviction. Penalties include such things as jail time, community service and fines.

The table below outlines the escalating penalties associated with repeat DUI convictions in the state of Georgia. If your drunk driving injures or kills someone, the penalties will likely be much more severe than what are listed below, and will be determined by a court of law.

First DUI Second DUI Third DUI
Fines Minimum $300, plus court fees and surcharges $600- $1,000, plus court fees and surcharges $1,000-$5,000, plus court fees and surcharges
Jail Time 1 to 10 days 90 days to 1 year (may be mitigated with probation, but 3 days remain mandatory) 120 days to 1 year (at least 15 days must be spent incarcerated)
Probation 1 year 1 to 3 years 1 to 3 years
Community Service At least 40 hours 240 hours 240 hours
Preventative Class Yes Yes Yes
License Suspension Possible, with limited driving permit At least 1 year 5 years, with the option for a limited permit for the first two years
Ignition Interlock Device Varies Yes Yes

Frequently asked questions

Is a DUI a felony in Georgia?

Most of the time, a DUI is considered a misdemeanor. However, there are certain situations where a DUI could be regarded as a felony — such as having multiple previous DUI arrests or a DUI that resulted in the death or injuries of others.

What is an SR22?

An SR22 is a legal document required by either the State of Georgia or a court of law that proves you have insurance. An SR22 requires your insurer to notify the Department of Driver Services (DDS) in Georgia if your auto policy is canceled, which proves to the DDS that you are maintaining auto insurance after your DUI conviction.

Methodology

Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a DUI, good credit and the following full coverage limits:

  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $50,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • $500 collision deductible
  • $500 comprehensive deductible

To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our sample drivers own a 2018 Honda Accord, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.

*DUI qualifies as > .08 BAC

These are sample rates and should be used for comparative purposes only. Your quotes may be different.

Written by
Lauren Ward
Insurance Contributor
Lauren Ward has nearly 10 years of experience in writing for insurance domains such as Bankrate, The Simple Dollar, and Reviews.com. She covers auto, homeowners, and life insurance, as well other topics in the personal finance industry.
Reviewed by
Insurance Writer & Editor