The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
Hit-and-run accidents are increasingly common. In 2015, there were roughly 737,100 hit-and-run crashes in the United States. That equates to one hit-and-run collision happening every 43 seconds, according to the AAA Foundation.
The potential for hit-and-run accidents is one of the reasons why car insurance is a legal requirement in almost every state. Certain car insurance coverage types may cover the cost of a hit-and-run accident, whether you are injured or your vehicle sustains damage.
Hit-and-runs in Alaska
A hit-and-run in Alaska is defined as an accident where one driver fails to stop after the collision. In Alaska, it is illegal to leave the scene of an accident without providing personal information or insurance information, or failing to provide aid to injured drivers and passengers.
Fortunately, hit-and-run accidents in Alaska are fairly rare. There are only about 533,000 licensed drivers in Alaska, and because much of the state is rural, the overall hit-and-run accident rate is relatively low. Between 2006 and 2016, there were only 29 fatal hit-and-run accidents in Alaska, which is much lower than many other states.
Alaska hit-and-run laws
Alaska’s hit-and-run law states that any driver who gets into an accident, whether it results in injuries or property damage, is legally required to stop until they have exchanged information with the other driver. Medical assistance also has to be given to any injured persons.
If a driver hits an unattended vehicle, they are also required to remain at the scene and attempt to notify the vehicle owner. The at-fault driver is allowed to leave a written note with their personal and insurance information if they cannot locate the vehicle owner.
In a hit-and-run accident, the driver who causes the crash is usually liable for the other driver’s property damage and medical costs. Drivers who cause a hit-and-run crash in Alaska can be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the extent of the damages.
How hit-and-runs impact car insurance rates in Alaska
Getting into a hit-and-run accident in Alaska will likely impact your car insurance rates if you file a claim with your insurance company. According to our research, the rate increase after a hit-and-run is higher than the rate increase after a standard accident.
However, drivers in Alaska see a lower average rate increase than drivers in the United States as a whole. In Alaska, hit-and-run claims increase premiums an average of $945 per year, whereas the average American driver will see their rate increase by an average of $1,693 per year.
Average annual full coverage premiums:
|Before a hit-and-run||After a hit-and-run||After a standard accident|
3 things to do after a hit-and-run in Alaska
Getting into a hit-and-run accident in Alaska can be a scary experience. If you get hit by a driver that does not stop, it is important to act quickly. Here are the three things you should do after a hit-and-run in Alaska:
- Call the police: After a hit-and-run, the first thing you should do is call the police. If you or any of your passengers are injured, you should also call 911 for medical attention. When first responders arrive at the scene, the police officer will likely file a report and ask you questions about the incident, including if you remember any details about the at-fault driver’s vehicle.
- Document the damage: Before you leave the scene of the accident, you may want to take pictures of the damage to your vehicle. This could help your insurance company determine how much compensation you may be entitled to. If you received medical attention, make sure to keep a record of your treatment and expenses.
- Tell your insurance company: If your damage is significant enough to warrant a claim, call your insurance company and let them know you were involved in a hit-and-run. An agent can help you start the claim process and will explain what your policy will cover. The agent may ask to see the police report as well as the photos you took of the vehicle damage.
Will insurance cover a hit-and-run?
There are certain car insurance coverage types that could help to cover a hit-and-run accident in Alaska. Collision insurance may pay for your vehicle’s repairs, and medical payments coverage might pay for your medical bills if you were injured. If you carry a minimum coverage policy, you will likely not have coverage in the event of a hit-and-run.
If you have uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, which are optional in Alaska, you may also have coverage if you get into an accident where an at-fault driver flees the scene. However, in some states, you have to prove that the at-fault driver did not have coverage to use these options.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best car insurance company?
The best car insurance company varies based on factors like location, budget and the type of coverage needed. While some companies do stand out, it can still be helpful to get quotes from several carriers to compare rates, coverage offerings, discounts, policy features and third-party scores.
How much does car insurance cost?
The cost of car insurance is different for every driver. In the United States, the average cost of car insurance is $1,674 per year for a full coverage policy. In Alaska, the average annual premium is $1,559 for full coverage. Your rates may be higher or lower than the national or state average, though, depending on your individual rating factors.
Do police investigate hit and run accidents?
Yes, law enforcement officers usually investigate hit-and-run accidents using the information you provide, video footage from nearby businesses (if possible) and witness testimony.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.