The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
There are a number of different factors that can influence your car insurance premium. Insurance companies look at criteria like your age, credit score and claims history to calculate your rate, but one of the biggest variables that will determine your policy premium is your driving history.
Drivers who have a clean record, without any accidents, speeding tickets or other violations, generally pay the lowest rate. Individuals with a messy driving record typically pay the highest rate. Having a DUI conviction or DWI conviction on your record is one of the most serious offenses, with major consequences for your car insurance premium.
How does a DUI affect your insurance rate?
First thing to know is that in Texas a DUI is almost always referred to as a DWI. That said, having a DWI will impact your insurance rate significantly. Drivers who have been convicted of a DWI are considered extremely risky to insure. Driving under the influence is one of the most dangerous things a person can do, and accidents become much more likely when you drive impaired – and insurance companies have to offset their risk by charging more for coverage.
Even a single DWI on your driving record can cause your insurance premium to skyrocket. For two or more offenses, you will be facing an even steeper rate hike or difficulty obtaining insurance. But in Texas, getting a DWI may impact your insurance rate less than in other states. The table below highlights the average annual rate increase in Texas vs. the United States for DWI convictions:
National vs state average annual rates for full coverage with DUI/DWI
|Pre-DUI/DWI||Post DUI/DWI||Percent increase|
How much does it cost for insurance after a DWI in Texas?
Every car insurance company in Texas approaches car insurance rates after a DWI differently. Some providers may increase your rate by $100 dollars, while others may increase your rate by more than $1,000. In some circumstances, certain providers will not even allow you to renew your insurance policy if you receive a DUI conviction.
The tables below include the average annual car insurance rates for minimum coverage and full coverage policies from popular car insurance providers in Texas, as well as the average rates for drivers with one DWI.
Texas provider minimum coverage rates
|Provider||Average minimum coverage rate||Minimum coverage rate with DWI|
|State Auto Insurance||$628||$1,193|
Texas provider full coverage rates with DWI
|Provider||Average full coverage rate||Full coverage rate with DWI|
|State Auto Insurance||$2,508||$4,817|
Other Texas DWI Consequences
DWI rates in Texas are pricey, but drivers who have been convicted of a DWI face consequences other than just more expensive insurance. For a first DWI offense, drivers will be fined up to $2,000, lose their driver’s license for up to one year and face up to 180 days in jail (with three mandatory days).
For a second DWI offense, drivers will be fined up to $4,000, lose their driver’s license for up to two years and face one month to one year in jail. For a third offense, Texas drivers are fined $10,000, lose their driving privileges for up to two years and face two to 10 years in jail.
In Texas, drunk driving with a child under 15 in the car is also a serious offense. Drivers in this situation are charged with child endangerment and are fined up to $10,000. This conviction also comes with up to two years in jail and license suspension for 180 days longer than the mandatory suspension based on the number of offenses committed.
How long does a Texas DUI stay on your record?
Generally, a Texas DUI or DWI will stay on your driving record for the rest of your life. However, a DUI will typically stop affecting your car insurance rate after several years. And while that number may vary, just know that it won’t impact your car insurance rates forever.
What is the cheapest car insurance company in Texas for drivers with a DUI?
That depends on a number of factors. Keep in mind that every driver pays a different rate for insurance, and even after a DUI, your age, credit score, claims history and the type of car you drive will impact the price of your policy.
How much car insurance is required in Texas after a DUI?
Car insurance laws in Texas are the same for all drivers, regardless of driving record or DUI history. Drivers in Texas must meet the state’s minimum liability insurance requirement, which is represented as 30/60/25. A minimum coverage policy in Texas includes $30,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, $60,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident and $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident. You will also most likely be required to obtain an SR-22.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a DUI, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our sample drivers own a 2018 Honda Accord, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
*DUI qualifies as > .08 BAC
These are sample rates and should be used for comparative purposes only. Your quotes may be different.