SR-22 Nevada

1
Adene Sanchez/Getty Images
Bankrate Logo

Why you can trust Bankrate

While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation for .

If you or a relative recently was ordered to get SR22 insurance in Nevada, you may have been searching for “cheap SR22 insurance Nevada” hoping to get the best rate for your new insurance requirement. If so, you should know one thing: There is no such thing as Nevada SR22 insurance because an SR22 is not a type of insurance policy.

An SR-22 is only confirmation that you are meeting your state’s minimum coverage laws for car insurance. You may have heard of it, or something like it such as an SR-50 or an FR-44. No matter which one you need, there are potential cost impacts to having a DMV requirement on your record, which we’ll discuss in detail.

What is “SR-22 insurance?”

An SR22 in Nevada is not insurance. SR-22s are simply validation for the DMV that you are either meeting or exceeding the state’s insurance requirements. Currently, Nevada requires all drivers to have a 25/50/20 policy. This means if you get into an accident, your insurance company must cover up to:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury or death
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury or death
  • $20,000 per accident for property damage

If you have an SR-22 requirement, the DMV must see that you have, at the very least, a 25/50/20 policy. Of course, if you purchase more coverage, you will still be fulfilling the SR-22 requirement.

A Nevada SR22 can either be ordered by the state’s DMV or a court. No matter where it’s ordered, it will be your insurance company that sends the SR22 to the DMV.

SR-22 Nevada alternatives

If you’ve been ordered by Nevada to have an SR22 sent to the DMV, you don’t have any alternatives. If you wish to continue driving and keep your license, your insurance provider must send an SR22 as soon as possible.

However, if you’re coming from out of state, you may need one of the forms below:

Form States issued Required insurance minimums
SR-22 All states except: Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, Oklahoma Standard liability; click here for a full list of each state’s minimum insurance requirements.
SR-19 California, Texas Standard liability
SR-21 Florida, Georgia, Indiana Standard liability
SR-22A Georgia, Texas, Missouri Standard liability, but 6 months of insurance must be prepaid.
FR-44 Florida, Virginia Double liability
SR-50 Indiana Standard liability
  • SR-19: Both Texas and California use SR-19s, but the requirements for both are different.
  • SR-21: This is required in some states to verify that you did, indeed, have car insurance before an accident. SR-21s are most often requested after an accident that results in bodily injury, death, or property damage totalling more than $1,000.
  • SR-22A: Like a standard SR-22, but an SR-22A requires drivers to prepay 6 months of insurance at a time.
  • FR-44: Also similar to an SR-22 in that it provides proof to the DMV that a driver is insured; however, unlike an SR-22, it often demands double liability protection.
  • SR-50: Used in Indiana, an SR-50 provides proof of financial responsibility. Indiana requests SR-50s after a driver has had certain driving incidents.

Non-owner SR-22

If Nevada has deemed you a high risk driver but you don’t own a car, you may purchase a non-owner insurance policy to keep your license and fulfill the SR-22 requirement.

A non-owner policy is often cheaper than a standard policy because you are not actually insuring any particular car. It’s a good option if you frequently rent or borrow someone else’s car.

FR-44 in Nevada

Though Nevada does not administer FR-44 requirements, if you’ve been ordered to have one in another state such as Virginia or Florida, you must continue to fulfill the requirements for the allotted time period even if you’ve recently moved to Nevada. This means you must continue to pay double liability and have your insurance provider send a copy of confirmation to the DMV each month. If you don’t, you may lose both your license and vehicle registration.

SR-22 Nevada insurance costs

Your insurance provider will most likely charge you a filing fee for sending an SR22 to the DMV. Rates vary between providers, but expect to spend anywhere from $15 to $35.

Having an SR-22 requirement will also likely raise your insurance costs, too, but it depends on the citation. If you have a relatively clean record, but have been ordered to have an SR22 sent, you may not see that much of an increase. Progressive, for example, says that the nationwide average is only a 5% increase. However, if you’ve had long lapses in coverage or a recent DUI conviction, you can expect to pay more.

SR-22s on their own don’t increase insurance costs. It’s the driving history behind the SR-22 that does.

FAQ

How long do I need an SR-22 in Nevada?

If you’ve been ordered to have an SR-22 in Nevada, you must have your insurance provider send an SR-22 each month for three years. If you don’t, your license and vehicle registration may be revoked.

How do I get SR-22 insurance in Nevada?

To find an insurance company willing to send an SR22 in Nevada, your best luck will most likely be with a national insurance provider. A smaller insurance company may be willing to insure a driver needing an SR22, but many do not, which is why your best luck will most likely be with a larger company. (Read: The Best Car Insurance Companies for 2021)

If you already have insurance and have been ordered to provide an SR22, you simply need to call your insurance company and request that it send one to the DMV. You do not need to switch providers simply because you now have an SR22 requirement.

How much does SR-22 insurance cost in Nevada?

The filing fee varies between providers. Expect to pay between $15-$35.

The cost impact of having an SR-22 requirement varies with the reason it was implemented in the first place. A DUI, for example, may more than double what you pay each month.

If I move out of state, does the SR-22 requirement go with me?

Yes. You are still required to meet SR-22 requirements for three years regardless of where you live.

What happens if my insurance company drops my policy?

You must find another insurance provider. If you do not, both your license and vehicle registration may be revoked.

Written by
Lauren Ward
Insurance Contributor
Lauren Ward has nearly 10 years of experience in writing for insurance domains such as Bankrate, The Simple Dollar, and Reviews.com. She covers auto, homeowners, and life insurance, as well other topics in the personal finance industry.