High-risk drivers in Arizona are often required to purchase SR-22 insurance. An SR-22 is not an actual insurance policy, but rather it is a certificate of financial responsibility that proves you carry the state’s minimum amount of car insurance.
Arizona only uses SR-22s for proof of insurance, but other states require additional forms to verify your coverage. Drivers in Arizona should be aware that having an SR-22 will affect your car insurance rate, and it could come with additional fines and fees.
What is “SR-22 insurance?”
SR-22 insurance is a misnomer because an SR-22 is a special type of proof of insurance. It is an official document that confirms you carry the minimum amount of required car insurance in your state. In Arizona, drivers are required to carry 25/50/15 car insurance, which includes:
- $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident
- $15,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident
Not every driver in Arizona needs SR-22 insurance. SR-22s are only required for high-risk drivers, such as those who have been convicted of a DUI, gotten a citation for driving without insurance or caused an accident with fatalities or serious injuries. SR-22s in Arizona are also required if your license gets suspended.
Arizona SR-22s must be purchased from a company that is licensed to sell insurance in the state. SR-22 insurance can be found through non-standard insurance companies, although some preferred providers offer it. Once you fill out the paperwork and pay the filing fee, the insurance company will send the SR-22 documents to the Arizona DMV.
SR-22 Arizona alternatives
Arizona only uses SR-22s to validate a driver’s proof of insurance. However, other states use SR-22 alternatives. The required form often depends on the type of violation, the financial responsibility laws in the state and whether or not the driver has committed a repeat violation. The table below highlights some of the most common SR-22 alternatives used in other states:
|Form||States issued||Required insurance minimums|
|SR-22||Every state except Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New, Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma and Pennsylvania||State minimum insurance coverage|
|SR-19||California and Texas||State minimum uninsured motorist coverage|
|SR-21||Florida, Georgia and Indiana||State minimum insurance coverage|
|SR-22A||Georgia, Texas and Missouri||State minimum insurance coverage|
|FR-44||Florida and Virginia||State minimum coverage with higher liability insurance limits|
|SR-50||Indiana||State minimum insurance coverage|
Arizona drivers who get their license suspended while using someone else’s car are still required to get an SR-22. Drivers who were borrowing a car at the time of their violation have to purchase a special certificate called non-owner SR-22 insurance. However, the minimum insurance requirements for an SR-22 and a non-owner SR-22 are the same, and the filing fees are usually the same price.
SR-22 Arizona insurance costs
When you get an SR-22, you will be required to pay a filing fee in order for the insurance company to send the documents to the Arizona DMV. The SR-22 filing fee is often less than $50. You will need to renew the SR-22 for each year that it must remain on your record, which usually includes a separate renewal fee.
Having an SR-22 on your driving record will also affect your car insurance rate. High-risk drivers who have received serious traffic violations pay the highest car insurance premiums. Expect your rate to increase significantly for the duration that the SR-22 stays on your record, especially if you received a DUI.
Additionally, Arizona drivers who lose their license will have to pay a license reinstatement fee between $10-$20, depending on the violation. You must pay the reinstatement fee each time your driving privileges get revoked in the state of Arizona.
How long do I need an SR-22 in Arizona?
In Arizona, drivers must keep an SR-22 on their record for three years starting from the date their license becomes eligible for reinstatement. It does not matter what type of violation you received or how many prior offenses you have committed.
How do I get SR-22 insurance proof in Arizona?
To get SR-22 insurance in Arizona, contact your personal car insurance provider to see if they can file the certificate for you. If not, look for an insurance company that specializes in non-standard insurance. You will be asked to fill out the SR-22 paperwork, and after you pay the filing fee, the insurance company will send it to the Arizona DMV to get processed.
How much does an SR-22 cost in Arizona?
An SR-22 in Arizona is not expensive. The filing fee is usually less than $50. Because SR-22s are not a true form of insurance, the price is not determined by factors like your age, credit score or the type of car you drive.
What happens if I do not renew my Arizona SR-22?
Arizona law states that you are required to renew your SR-22 for each of the three years it must remain on your record. If you fail to renew your SR-22 in a timely manner, your driver’s license and vehicle registration will be suspended until you can provide updated proof of coverage.
How do I get cheap SR-22 insurance in Arizona?
The price of Arizona SR-22 forms are fairly standard. For instance, one insurance company might charge $25 to file the form, whereas another might charge $40. The best way to get cheap SR-22 insurance in Arizona is call a few insurance companies and see which one charges the lowest fee.