The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
Speeding tickets can be costly mistakes that generally aren’t worth the risk of driving faster. In Utah, you could end up with a ticket that costs several hundred dollars in addition to points on your driving record. This could lead to higher car insurance rates and even suspension of your license. The average cost of car insurance in Utah without a speeding ticket is $1,510 for full coverage and $539 for minimum coverage. After a speeding ticket, the average rates are $1,869 for full coverage and $666 for minimum coverage.
How much is a speeding ticket in Utah?
The cost of a speeding ticket in Utah may vary widely based on factors such as how much over the speed limit you are driving and where the offense occurs. For example, the bail/fine amount varies based on how much you drive over the speed limit:
- 1 to 10 MPH over: $130
- 11 to 15 MPH over: $160
- 16 to 20 MPH over: $210
- 21 to 25 MPH over: $280
- 26 to 30 MPH over: $380
If you are found driving more than 31 MPH over the speed limit, it is classified as a class C misdemeanor, which requires a court appearance. You can also be fined as much as $790 for your second offense of speeding in a school zone. Utah drivers who receive a speeding ticket will also incur points on their license, typically between 35 and 75 points. If a driver over 21 collects 200 points or more within three years, their license can be suspended for three months to one year. Drivers under 21 can lose their license due to just one speeding violation.
How much does a speeding ticket increase your car insurance in Utah?
Age and gender can have a significant impact on auto insurance premiums in Utah. Generally, older drivers pay less, as do female drivers. Drivers convicted of speeding in Utah usually see their car insurance rates increase for around three to five years, but the overall rate you’ll pay also depends on your age and gender, as well as multiple other factors. Average rate data from Quadrant Information Services indicates that Utah drivers typically face premium increases of around 24 percent after receiving one speeding ticket.
|Age||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||Percentage increase|
How to lower your car insurance after a speeding ticket in Utah
Unfortunately, there is not much you can do to avoid a car insurance rate hike after getting a speeding ticket in Utah. But there are a few ways you can potentially lower your premium and get cheaper car insurance. For instance, getting multiple car insurance quotes, looking for discounts and raising your deductible might help you keep your car insurance costs lower.
Get quotes from other car insurance companies
If you feel like you are paying too much for car insurance after a speeding ticket, get quotes from other insurers. Each car insurance provider has its own formula for calculating rates, so it is possible you might find a lower rate elsewhere. The table below includes some of the best car insurance companies in Utah and the average annual rate increase from each after a speeding ticket. As you can see, the increases vary dramatically.
|Car insurance company||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket in Utah||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket in Utah||Percentage increase|
Look for discounts
You can find potential car insurance discounts from most car insurance companies in Utah. However, the exact savings available are unique to each provider. Most car insurance companies offer several discount opportunities, though, and you might qualify for several of them. Some of the most common car insurance discounts include:
- Savings for bundling auto and home insurance
- Insuring a new vehicle
- Being a good student
- Having no accidents on your record
- Having certain safety features in your car
Raise your deductible
A deductible is an out-of-pocket expense you must pay after a comprehensive or collision claim is approved before your insurance kicks in. The higher your deductible, the lower your premium will be. Make sure, however, that the deductible amount you select is an amount that you feel comfortable paying on short notice.
Other speeding ticket considerations
In Utah, the biggest consequences for a speeding ticket include a fine, a higher car insurance rate and potential license suspension, depending on how many points are on your record.
Most drivers will not have to attend traffic court after a standard speeding ticket unless they contest the violation. Jail time is not a consequence of getting a speeding ticket in Utah, even for traveling more than 31 mph over the speed limit.
Frequently asked questions
The best car insurance company for drivers with a speeding ticket depends on multiple factors, including the driver’s geographic location, budget and coverage needs. To find the right carrier for you, shop around and compare providers using your criteria. Then, get a few quotes to see which company can offer you the lowest rate with the best coverage.
It isn’t necessary to tell your insurance company about a speeding ticket. However, insurance companies will find out about your speeding tickets whether you report them or not. Insurance companies typically review your driving record prior to renewing your policy to check for violations.
Nationally, the current average annual car insurance premium is $2,014 for a full coverage policy and $622 for a minimum coverage policy. However, car insurance premiums are personalized. You might pay a higher or lower rate based on your credit-based insurance score (in most states), driving record and claims history. If you feel you are paying too much, you may want to check out our picks for the cheapest car insurance companies to see if you can save money.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2023 rates for ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Rates are weighted based on the population density in each geographic region. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2021 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incidents: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), single speeding ticket.
Gender: The following states do not use gender as a determining factor in calculating premiums: California, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, North Carolina, Pennsylvania.
Age: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile (40 years) applied. Age is not a contributing rating factor in Hawaii and Massachusetts due to state regulations.