The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of. Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
There are over 13 million licensed drivers in Texas, which is second only to California for number of drivers on the road. With this many drivers on Texas’ long stretches of open road, and rural interstate speed limits as high as 85 miles per hour, it’s not surprising that some drivers end up with speeding tickets.
A speeding ticket can cause more than just the cost of a fine and potentially missed day of work if you choose to go to court. Speeding tickets and other traffic citations received by Texas drivers can also increase car insurance premiums.
How much is a speeding ticket in Texas?
Each county in the state of Texas assesses different fine amounts for speeding. Some, like Travis County, charge $10 per mile over the speed limit while others have minimums based on how many miles you go over the posted speed limit. Regardless of where you are driving in Texas, speeding in a school zone or construction zone with workers present double or triple the amount fined.
If you get a ticket for speeding in Texas, expect to pay at least $100 in fines. The faster you’re going, the more you’ll pay. If you choose to go to court to plead your case, you may be required to pay court fees, even if you’re found not guilty. Texas also has a point system with two points assessed per conviction or three if an accident is involved. If you accrue six or more points in a year, you will have to pay a $100 surcharge for three years, and $25 for each additional point.
How much does a speeding ticket increase your car insurance in Texas?
Not only does a speeding ticket conviction come with fines and potential points with surcharge fees, you may also see your car insurance premiums increase. Males typically pay higher insurance premiums than females because males are statistically proven to be more risky behind the wheel, resulting in more tickets and at-fault accidents. However, the percentage increase for auto insurance premiums based on a speeding ticket in Texas goes up the same amount regardless of gender.
|Age||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||% increase|
Drivers in Texas may see even higher percentage increases if good driving discounts are included in their car insurance rates. The discount is removed and a surcharge assessed due to the speeding ticket conviction, resulting in a higher average annual premium after the speeding ticket.
How to lower your car insurance after a speeding ticket in Texas
Though it can be frustrating to see higher car insurance premiums for Texas drivers as the result of a speeding ticket, there are several things to consider to lower the cost of car insurance. These cost-saving measures can be used to reduce the out-of-pocket cost often seen with a speeding ticket conviction.
Get quotes from other car insurance companies
With each car insurance company using a different rating structure, Texas drivers may be able to offset auto insurance increases by shopping insurance companies and comparing quotes. As you can see from the table below, some companies have much higher average annual premium increases from a speeding ticket than others.
|Car insurance company||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||% increase|
|State Auto Insurance||$1,958||$2,266||16%|
*Premiums are average annual full coverage premiums for 40-year-olds
When shopping for car insurance, consider other factors besides just price. A company’s financial strength determines its ability to pay out claims. Also take into account customer reviews, claims satisfaction, third-party ratings, coverage options and discount opportunities.
Take advantage of discounts
If you’d rather stick with your current car insurance company, review your current policy and ask about any discounts you don’t have but qualify for. If you are a homeowner or renter but don’t have your home insurance with the same company, bundling both together can help offset the increase from getting a traffic ticket in Texas.
All drivers in Texas are required by law to keep minimum liability limits to drive legally. However, you may not need comprehensive and collision coverage if you own your car without a loan or lease. If the book value isn’t much and you can afford to buy another car if your current one is totaled, it could be cost-effective to reduce or eliminate certain coverages. Check with a licensed agent to determine what is best for your situation.
Other speeding ticket considerations
Texas drivers have the choice to pay the fine for a speeding ticket and accept the guilt or go to court to fight the ticket. If you choose to go to court, you may have to pay court fees on top of the fine assessed by the ticket if convicted. Fees vary by county court system.
The entire state of Texas assesses points the same:
- Two points assessed if convicted of a Texas driving violation or out-of-state ticket
- Three points if involved in a car accident and cited
If you have six or more points, you will be surcharged $100 for each year you maintain at least that many points. Each additional point includes a $25 surcharge. You may be able to have your speeding ticket dismissed if you complete a defensive driving course within 90 days of the ticket, which would be another way to keep car insurance costs low.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best car insurance company for drivers with speeding tickets?
The best car insurance company for Texas drivers with speeding tickets will vary. Your driving history, make and model of the vehicle you drive, where you live in Texas and other factors combine to make up your car insurance rate. If you get a speeding ticket conviction in Texas, consider shopping with other auto insurance companies to compare quotes for the best rate.
How much will my insurance go up for a speeding ticket?
This depends on the rest of your driving history, what coverages you have, any discounts you may lose and the severity of your speeding ticket conviction. Some may only lose a good driving discount if they previously qualified for ticket forgiveness coverage, while others may have a substantial increase if this isn’t the first citation. According to our analysis, expect at least a 3% increase in car insurance rates if you get convicted of a speeding ticket in Texas.
Does 3 points for speeding affect your insurance?
Just like the state of Texas, insurance companies use a point system to determine car insurance rates. The system rates tickets as minor or major and assesses points, which usually differ from the state you receive the ticket. A 3-point ticket in the state of Texas may not require a surcharge but you could see higher car insurance rates under the criteria set by the insurance company.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on 18-year-old and 40-year-old male and female drivers with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.