How a speeding ticket impacts your insurance in Connecticut
The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
Since 2020, Connecticut has seen a 16% increase in traffic-related deaths — on track to reach record levels, according to the Hartford Courant. Speeding is reported to be a primary contributor to these fatalities, increasing sharply since the rise of COVID-19.
In Connecticut, drivers who receive a speeding violation may face legal and financial consequences for unsafe driving, which typically includes increased premiums from car insurance companies. In addition to the serious risk posed to other drivers or pedestrians, Connecticut drivers should take these financial impacts into consideration.
How much is a speeding ticket in Connecticut?
The cost of a speeding ticket in Connecticut will depend on how much above the speed limit the driver was found to be traveling. Most speeding violations come with a fine between $162 and $226.
If the driver was breaking any other laws at the time of the violation, like texting and driving or driving recklessly, the fine can be much higher and additional fees may apply. Additionally, speeding ticket fines in Connecticut might be higher if the driver is speeding in a work or school zone.
How much does a speeding ticket increase your car insurance in Connecticut?
As is common in other states, high-risk driving behavior such as speeding can affect how much you pay for insurance. On average, Bankrate’s study of 2021 quoted annual premiums found Connecticut drivers will see their rate increase by 4%.
|Age||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||% increase|
Males pay higher car insurance rates than females, on average, both before and after a speeding ticket is taken into account. This could be because men engage in risky driving behaviors more often than women. The actual increase you will see after a ticket, though, will depend on your own individual rating factors.
How to lower your car insurance after a speeding ticket in Connecticut
If convicted of speeding, a Connecticut driver will likely see a rate increase for their insurance premium at the time the policy renews or if they are obtaining a new policy. While the increase may differ based on the driver’s unique circumstances, a few things can potentially help mitigate the financial impact of speeding.
Get quotes from other car insurance companies
Different car insurance companies in Connecticut charge different rates for coverage. If you get a ticket, you may find better rates by obtaining and comparing quotes from several other insurance companies. If you can find a better rate from another carrier, it may be worthwhile to consider switching companies. The table below includes some of the major carriers in Connecticut and quoted average annual rates for drivers before and after a speeding ticket:
|Car insurance company||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||% increase|
*Premiums are average annual full coverage premiums for 40-year-old drivers
Keep in mind that the cheapest car insurance company is not necessarily the best provider for your situation. Discount opportunities, the company’s customer service ratings and financial strength may all affect your decision. For this reason, insurance experts typically recommend comparing at least three quotes to find the best insurer for your needs and preferences.
Take advantage of discounts
Most car insurance companies in Connecticut offer discounts to help drivers save money on their policy. You might find discounts that are not tied to your driving history or that will apply savings for future safe driving habits. Some examples of common discounts include paying your premium in full, bundling your policies and enrolling in automatic payments.
Review your coverage
If you have endorsements on your car insurance policy, consider reviewing your coverage to see which optional coverage types are no longer necessary. For example, if you added a rideshare endorsement and you no longer drive for a company like Uber or Lyft, you might be able to remove the endorsement for additional savings. However, because insurance protects your finances, reviewing any coverage changes with a licensed agent first can be a good plan.
Other speeding ticket considerations
Drivers in Connecticut who get pulled over for speeding may be fined based on the speed they were traveling over the posted limit. However, the state does not always require a driver to attend traffic court after a ticket if they admit guilt. Additionally, a driver is not necessarily at risk of losing their license after a speeding ticket, as long as they were not committing any other serious violations at the time of the incident.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best car insurance company for drivers with speeding tickets?
The best car insurance company for drivers with a speeding ticket will vary based on factors like age, previous driving record and the type of car they drive. To find the best provider, you might want to compare carriers using your personal criteria for customer experience or digital policy management options, then get quotes based on the coverage and limits you need. This could help you determine which insurer is best after receiving a speeding ticket.
How much does car insurance cost in Connecticut?
The average car insurance premium in Connecticut is $1,845 per year, or about $154 per month, for a full coverage policy. However, car insurance rates are unique to each driver and level of coverage. You might pay more or less depending on personal factors like your age, credit score, ZIP code and the type of car you drive.
What are the minimum coverage requirements in Connecticut?
Connecticut car insurance laws require every driver to carry at least the following coverage types and limits:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $25,000 property damage liability per accident
- $25,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $50,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 underinsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $50,000 underinsured motorist bodily injury per accident
However, insurance agents recommend that most drivers purchase more than the state minimum coverage limits for greater financial protection. Many drivers choose to have a full coverage policy that includes coverage for damages to your vehicle, as an accident or collision can have devastating financial impacts.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incidents: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), single speeding ticket.
Gender: The following states do not use gender as a determining factor in calculating premiums: California, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, North Carolina, Pennsylvania.