The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
A comprehensive analysis of data from 2013 to 2017 by ranks Arizona as the tenth worst state for speeding deaths. Fines for speeding can be steep and typically range from $150 to $500 depending on the circumstances.
In addition, a speeding ticket in Arizona can result in a significant increase in auto insurance premiums. A speeding ticket increased the average cost of car insurance in Arizona by 33%, according to Bankrate’s 2021 study of quoted annual premiums.
How much is a speeding ticket in Arizona?
There are three types of speeding laws in Arizona and each poses different risks and penalties:
- Basic speeding law – Requires always driving at a safe speed in light of actual conditions. For example, driving the speed limit may be just fine on a clear day but obeying the limit may be considered too fast when it is dark and stormy.
- Prima facie limits – A driver is presumed to have violated the law if exceeding 15 miles per hour near a school crossing, 25 miles per hour in residential or business districts or 65 miles per hour in all other locations.
- Absolute speed limit – If you drive over a posted speed limit, you have violated the law. Where speeds are not posted on highways, the speed limit is 65 mph.
A violation of any of the above speeding laws in Arizona can result in a fine varying from $150 to $500, but there are a variety of factors that can increase these amounts. For example the base fine can be doubled where the violation occurred in a construction zone.
Certain more serious violations are classified as Class 3 Misdemeanors in Arizona and can result in a 30 day jail sentence and an additional $500 fine. These violations occur when you drive:
- over 35 mph at a school crossing
- over 25 mph over the speed limit in a residential or business district
- over 45 mph in a residential or business district
- over 85 miles mph in any area
There is a driving point system in Arizona which can impact your auto insurance premiums. A number of points are assessed and placed on your state driving record when you are convicted for a traffic violation. If you get eight points or more in any one-year period, you may have your right to drive suspended in Arizona.
How much does a speeding ticket increase your car insurance in Arizona?
In Arizona, a speeding conviction will likely increase your car insurance premiums. This can have a more significant impact on males who have statistically been shown to be higher risk drivers than females. This holds true in Arizona as well, as the chart below illustrates.
Average annual full coverage premium
|Age||Rate before speeding ticket||Rate after speeding ticket||% increase|
Speeding in Arizona can be costly. There are certain steps that can be taken to try and minimize the impact of a speeding ticket on your car insurance premiums including looking at potentially less expensive coverage with other car insurance companies. Of course, the best course to keep your premiums low is to obey the Arizona speeding laws in the first place.
How to lower your car insurance after a speeding ticket in Arizona
If you receive a speeding ticket In Arizona you will need to deal with the consequences as it will raise your insurance premiums. However, different steps can be taken to help you along the way.
Get quotes from other car insurance companies
Car insurance companies in Arizona look at a wide range of factors in setting auto insurance premiums. Even when you are not dealing with a speeding ticket, it is always a good idea to compare quotes from several car insurers to see which company can best meet your needs. As you see below, there are significant differences in how various insurers respond to a speeding ticket with rate increases.
Average annual full coverage premium by car insurance company in Arizona
|Car insurance company||Rate before speeding ticket||Rate after speeding ticket|
|Iowa Farm Bureau||$1,212||$1,462|
*Premiums are average annual full coverage premiums for 40-year-olds
There are many tools online that can help you find affordable coverage. Do your research first and ask questions of carrier representatives to understand how companies relate in terms of financial strength, customer service, claims handling and discounts.
It is usually advisable to explore all options for reducing premiums paid to your current carrier. Does your current insurer offer a discount for bundling home and auto coverage? If so, and you do not insure your home with your car insurer, see how much that discount can save.
There are many other discounts to explore based on your age, location and the type of vehicle you drive. Once you have determined the discounts your current carrier can offer, it may make sense to explore a few additional carriers.
Can you adjust your current coverages?
Arizona, like most other states, requires that all drivers maintain certain minimum third party liability coverage. These limits can not be changed. However, you can always adjust or even eliminate coverage that addresses financial consequences of damage to your vehicle. Most lenders require this coverage, but if you do not have a loan on your vehicle, you may want to look at the premiums saved by reducing your collision and comprehensive coverage. Remember though, this will reduce benefits to cover damage to your vehicle from an accident.
Other speeding ticket considerations
There are two broad categories of speeding in Arizona, civil and criminal speeding. Criminal speeding is the most serious offense and typically is charged when you exceed a posted speed limit by 20 mph or exceed 85 mph anywhere. These are very serious offenses and carry jail time. All other offenses are considered civil speeding. You have the right to contest any speeding ticket in court.
In Arizona, either a civil or criminal speeding conviction will get you three points on your driving record. If you receive eight or more points in any twelve month period, you can be required to take certain driving education courses and your driver’s license is subject to suspension.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best car insurance company for drivers with speeding tickets?
There may be a number of good auto insurers who can meet your needs at affordable prices. Always obtain several quotes from the best auto insurers and compare to determine the best coverage for you.
Am I required to tell my insurance carrier about a speeding ticket?
There is no obligation to volunteer information about a speeding ticket to your auto insurance company. However, it is very likely that your carrier will check your driving history when your renewal date comes up. The speeding violation will appear on this record.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on 18-year-old and 40-year-old male and female drivers with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Age: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the ages 18-60 (base: 40 years) applied.
Gender: The following states do not use gender as a determining factor in calculating premiums: California, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, North Carolina, Pennsylvania.