What to do after a hit-and-run in Nebraska

1
txking/Getty Images
Bankrate Logo

Why you can trust Bankrate

While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation for . This content is powered by HomeInsurance.com (NPN: 8781838). For more information, please see our

A hit-and-run in Nebraska can be serious, especially if the parties left behind are injured. Nebraska requires that all drivers carry at least minimum levels of certain car insurance coverage types or provide another satisfactory way to show proof of financial responsibility. Depending on the coverage you have, your car insurance policy could provide financial assistance if you are the victim of or cause a Nebraska hit-and-run, but you may have to face other financial consequences.

Hit-and-runs in Nebraska

A car accident can be a frightening event. Knowing how to respond to a hit-and-run in advance can be helpful in the aftermath of a crash where the driver left the scene. Nebraska hit-and-run law explains what a driver should do in case of an accident. According to the hit-and-run Nebraska statute, after an accident a driver must:

  • Stop immediately
  • Present their driver’s license
  • Provide contact information including a phone number and home address
  • Identify other people involved if there were any injuries or fatalities
  • Provide reasonable medical help such as calling for an ambulance

A person who does not meet these obligations could be charged with failure to stop. If there were injuries or deaths involved, the offense could be charged as a Class III felony.

Nebraska hit-and-run laws

Failing to stop can have serious consequences. Nebraska hit-and-run laws state that a convicted driver could have their license revoked for at least one year. Depending on the severity of the accident, additional fines and penalties may be assessed.

How hit-and-runs impact car insurance rates in Nebraska

If you file a claim for hit-and-run damage, even if you weren’t at fault, you might see a premium increase. If you’ve never filed a claim before, you could lose a claim-free discount, if you had one on your policy, even if you didn’t cause the accident. If you did cause a hit-and-run, the increase you face will likely be higher than if you hadn’t been at fault.

The table shows the annual average cost of car insurance before and after a hit-and-run. Average Nebraska car insurance rates are lower than the national average but rise sharply after a hit-and-run claim. Coverage is generally more expensive after a hit-and-run than after a standard car accident.

Average annual full coverage premiums

Before a hit-and-run After a hit-and-run After a standard accident
Nebraska average $1,531 $2,704 $2,142
National average $1,674 $3,367 $2,311

3 things to do after a hit-and-run in Nebraska

The state of Nebraska details the steps required if you are involved in any accident. They include:

  1. Stopping: Pull over safely and be prepared to identify yourself by providing your driver’s license, name, home address and phone number to the other parties involved.
  2. Providing help: Check on everyone involved to see if anyone is disoriented or hurt. Provide help by calling for emergency services or giving aid to anyone involved in the accident who may be hurt and asking for assistance.
  3. Documenting the scene: Take photos of damages and the surrounding area where the accident occured. Make notes about when the accident happened and any other details you may remember, such as the at-fault driver’s vehicle type, color or license plate number.

If you are the victim of a hit-and-run, you should still stop to comply with the law. If anyone else was involved, provide help to the best of your ability and call emergency services if need be. Filing a police report may help you to record the details of the accident so the at-fault driver can be found.

Will insurance cover a hit-and-run?

Your car insurance may cover a hit-and-run but there is no specific Nebraska hit-and-run insurance. However, your car insurance must have certain coverage types to pay out.

If you are able to prove who hit you and that they have no insurance (or not enough), you may be able to use your uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage for your injuries. Both uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage are mandatory in Nebraska, so if you have a car insurance policy, you should have at least some amount of these coverage types.

If you have full coverage, you may be able to use your collision coverage to pay for the damage to your vehicle and other property. You will likely have to pay a hit-and-run deductible, which should be the same as the overall collision deductible.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best car insurance company if I have a hit-and-run on my driving record?

The best car insurance company for drivers with a hit-and-run accident on their claim history will vary based on several factors. Some drivers might be looking for the cheapest car insurance while others want certain coverage types or policy features like a mobile app. Understanding what you want and need from a company and getting quotes from several providers could help you find the right option for your circumstances.

Can I get a hit-and-run deductible waived?

If the at-fault driver is found and you file a claim against their liability insurance, you will not have to pay a deductible. However, if you filed a claim through your car insurance provider to pay for damages after a hit-and-run, you might have to pay a deductible for your vehicle damage. Some companies have an optional feature that you can add to waive your collision deductible in these circumstances, but you would need to have it on your policy prior to filing the claim. Some companies will automatically waive your deductible in hit-and-run scenarios. If you aren’t sure how your company would respond, you may want to talk to an agent.

Methodology

Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:

  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $50,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • $500 collision deductible
  • $500 comprehensive deductible

To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.

These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.

Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.

Written by
Cynthia Paez Bowman
Personal Finance Contributor
Cynthia Paez Bowman is a finance and business journalist who has been featured in Bankrate, Business Jet Traveler, MSN, CheatSheet.com, Freshome.com and TheSimpleDollar.com. She regularly travels to Africa and the Middle East to consult with women’s NGOs about small business development and works with select startups and women-owned businesses to provide growth and visibility.
Edited by
Insurance Writer & Editor