Utah car insurance laws
Utah car insurance laws require that all drivers in the state carry minimum liability coverage of 25/65/15. Because Utah is one of 12 no-fault states in the U.S., drivers must also purchase at least $3,000 of personal injury protection (PIP) coverage.
Failure to carry at least the minimum amount of coverage in Utah may result in penalties. Just as important, however, is the fact that this minimum coverage may not, in some cases, be enough to fully cover you in the event of a serious accident. Increased liability coverage, along with optional insurance such as collision and comprehensive, are important parts of a robust and effective insurance policy in Utah.
Finding the best Utah car insurance is not hard, and it does not have to cost a lot. The average cost for a minimum coverage policy in Utah is $483, which is less than the national average of $563. Full coverage, which includes collision and comprehensive, can be found in Utah for an average of $1,290, while the national average is $1,738.
Car insurance laws in Utah
Utah auto insurance requirements include liability coverage of 25/65/15. Here is a breakdown of what is required:
- $25,000 of bodily injury liability: this means that if you have minimum coverage, your insurer will pay up to $25,000 for injuries sustained by a single person in the other car in an at-fault accident.
- $65,000 total bodily injury: This indicates that your insurer will pay up to $65,000 total for all the injuries in a single accident, if more than one person is injured.
- $15,000 property damage liability: Your insurer will pay a maximum of $15,000 towards the repair or replacement of the other driver’s car, or for any other property you damage, such as a fence or light post.
- $3,000 Personal injury protection (PIP): PIP pays for hospital costs, rehab, lost wages, or other accident-related losses for you following an accident, no matter who is at fault. It also may be used to pay funeral expenses.
Liability insurance in Utah
Your mandated Utah minimum car insurance pays mainly for the costs incurred by the other driver in an accident, along with a minimum amount of PIP for your own medical costs. This may not, however, be adequate coverage in an accident.
Consider, for example, an accident that causes internal injuries for the driver of the other car, resulting in the need for surgery and an extended hospital stay. If you carry the minimum of $25,000 BI coverage for a single person, you may find your insurance payout is used up quickly on hospital bills.
Likewise, if you were in an accident that totaled another driver’s year-old Lexus, the minimum PD coverage of $15,000 would not go far. Generally, it is a good idea to purchase as much coverage as you can afford — for example, 100/300/50 — in order to be better prepared for the unexpected and unwelcome costs of an accident.
Is Utah a no-fault state?
Utah is one of 12 no-fault states in the U.S. No-fault laws are designed to keep people from filing lawsuits after an accident unless it is truly necessary to recoup losses. In a no-fault state like Utah, you will file your claim with your own company, regardless of who is at fault in an accident, where it can be quickly paid.
No-fault states require the purchase of personal injury protection coverage, which is sometimes called no-fault insurance. PIP covers your medical expenses, lost wages, funeral expenses, and other costs associated with an accident.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Utah
A person who is convicted in court of failure to insure a vehicle faces the suspension of their car registration. Fines range from $400 for a first offense to $1,000 for subsequent offenses within three years. They may also lose their license.
To reinstate registration following a suspension, a driver will need to present an SR-22 certificate or other proof of insurance and pay a $100 reinstatement fee.
Additional auto insurance coverage options in Utah
In addition to the required liability and PIP coverage, Utah insurance laws allow drivers to purchase additional types of car insurance to provide more complete coverage. Common insurance options include the following:
- Collision: This common insurance type will pay out for damages to your own car in an accident. If you have a car loan or lease your vehicle, it may be required. There is a deductible, which generally ranges from $250-$2,000.
- Comprehensive: Often combined with collision, this type of coverage pays out on non-accident related mishaps, such as theft, vandalism, or a natural disaster (for example, if a tree falls on your car). It, too, has a deductible.
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist: 6.8% of Utah’s drivers are on the road illegally without insurance coverage. If you are involved in an accident with one of them, this type of insurance will pay for costs associated with the accident.
- Gap coverage: If your car is totaled, you will receive a payout from your insurer (if you have collision coverage) for the car’s depreciated value. If you owe more than that on a car loan, this optional coverage will make up the gap between what you owe and what you were paid.
- Rental reimbursement: This will pay for the use of a rental car if your car is being repaired following an accident.
- New car replacement: Rather than receiving a check for your newer car’s depreciated value following an accident, this coverage will allow you to purchase a new car of the same make and model.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best car insurance company in Utah?
There are a number of insurers writing good, solid policies for Utah drivers. To find the right one for you, we recommend that you start your search with Bankrate’s Best Car Insurance Companies in Utah listing. All the companies on our list provide superior service and comprehensive policy options at competitive prices.
What is the cheapest car insurance in Utah?
There is no one company that is always the cheapest for everyone. Your premium rate is determined by a number of factors, including the make and model of your car, your credit rating, and even your marital status. A good place to start your search for an inexpensive policy, however, is our listing of the Cheapest Car Insurance in Utah 2021.
Is Utah minimum car insurance enough to be adequately covered?
It might not be if you were in a serious accident with injuries and extensive property damage. Unless you have collision and comprehensive coverage, which is optional in Utah, you also risk having to pay out-of-pocket if your own car is totaled or damaged in an accident. If you can afford it, consider purchasing additional liability, such as 100/300/50, along with collision and comprehensive.