The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
Getting a speeding ticket in New Jersey could amount to a sharp rate increase on your car insurance. Different states and insurance companies penalize speeding differently, so consequences may vary depending on where you live and which insurer you have. In New Jersey, for 2023, full coverage car insurance costs an annual average of $1,754. However, if you have a speeding ticket, that average goes up to $1,985. Plus, you may face fines and other legal penalties associated with the infraction.
How much is a speeding ticket in New Jersey?
According to New Jersey laws, the cost of a speeding ticket can vary based on how many miles per hour (mph) a driver was going over the speed limit. Here is the average speeding ticket cost in New Jersey:
|Offense||Amount of fine|
|Speeding 1 to 9 mph over the limit||$85|
|Speeding 10 to 14 mph over the limit||$95|
|Speeding 15 to 19 mph over the limit||$105|
|Speeding 20 to 24 mph over the limit||$200|
|Speeding 25 to 29 over the limit||$220|
|Speeding 30 to 34 over the limit||$240|
|Speeding 35 to 39 over the limit||$260|
Your actual fine will depend on the circumstances of your ticket. If you speed 20 or more mph over the limit, for example, your fine could be doubled, and if you speed in a construction zone, you’ll also likely face higher fines. Depending on the severity of your infraction and your past driving record, your license could be suspended or revoked, your vehicle could be impounded and you may face jail time.
How much does your insurance go up after a speeding ticket?
Most often, getting a speeding ticket in New Jersey will affect your auto insurance premium. NJ drivers typically see an increase of 13 percent in their car insurance after a speeding ticket. Age and gender can impact car insurance premiums, as well. Young male drivers often pay some of the highest car insurance premiums due to inexperience and risky driving behavior.
You may be surprised to learn that in New Jersey, females pay slightly more than males for their car insurance by the time they reach age 40. Even so, the New Jersey rates between genders are very close, and females can expect a marginally lower premium increase after a speeding ticket.
Average annual full coverage premium
|Age||Rate before speeding ticket||Rate after speeding ticket||% increase|
If you get a speeding ticket in New Jersey, your insurance will likely go up. While the state may put points on your driving record, insurance companies don’t use point systems to track your driving record, and license points do not translate directly to premium increases. Rather than points, insurance companies typically issue a surcharge when you get a speeding ticket.
You can expect a speeding ticket to stay on your insurance record in New Jersey for three to five years, although the specific length of time depends on your insurer. When it comes to your state-managed driving record, the infraction will be recorded indefinitely, but insurers generally only have access to the last three years of a person’s driving history.
How to lower your car insurance after a speeding ticket in New Jersey
Speeding tickets are fairly common, but because they can be indicators of risky driving habits, most insurance companies will increase your premium after a citation. However, you may be able to take steps to lower your premium to help offset the increase.
Get quotes from other car insurance companies
Different New Jersey car insurance companies rate policies differently; some may charge more for tickets than others. Comparing quotes could help you find a cheaper carrier. Switching companies may be worth your while if you could significantly save on car insurance.
Average annual full coverage premium
|Car insurance company||Rate before speeding ticket||Rate after speeding ticket||% increase|
*Premiums are average annual full coverage premiums for 40-year-olds
Although price is an important aspect when it comes to car insurance, there are other factors you may want to consider before you decide on a carrier. Reading customer reviews, analyzing third-party ratings and visiting the carrier’s website may help you learn more about the company and its insurance products.
Look for discounts
Discounts are an excellent way to reduce your premium after a speeding ticket. Do some research or speak with an agent to find out which discounts are available that you may qualify for.
- Ask about a telematics discount: Installing a telematics device in your vehicle may not only save you money on your auto policy, but it may also help encourage safe driving habits.
- Drive safely: Improving your driving habits typically leads to future discounts, like a safe driver or claims-free discounts.
- Purchase multiple products from the same insurer: Bundling your home and auto often leads to significant savings on your policy.
- Pay up front: Paying your premium in full rather than in installments could earn you a discounted rate.
Other speeding ticket considerations
New Jersey uses a points-based system to keep track of a motorist’s moving violations. Points are based on the severity of the speeding offense.
- Exceeding the posted speed by one to 14 mph over the limit: 2 points
- Exceeding the posted speed 15 to 29 mph over the limit: 4 points
- Exceeding the posted speed 30 mph or more over the limit: 5 points
- Highway racing: 5 points
Your license could be suspended if you get 12 or more points on your record. The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) will send you a notice in the mail when you are close to 12 points and may recommend that you take a driver improvement course.
Depending on your circumstances at the time of your ticket, you’ll likely face fines, you may have your license suspended and you may need to appear in court. If you are a repeat offender or your infraction was serious enough, you could face jail time.
Frequently asked questions
Car insurance companies determine their rates from several personalized variables, with your driving history only being part of it. That said, some of the best car insurance companies are better known for working with high-risk drivers than others and may have more competitive rates for drivers with infractions on their record. Where you live, what type of vehicle you drive, your age, your gender and even your credit score can all play a part in determining your rates, though. Experts recommend shopping around and obtaining quotes from multiple companies when looking for the most affordable car insurance.
Your speeding ticket may always show up on your driving record, but it isn’t likely to affect your car insurance premiums forever. Most companies surcharge for tickets for three to five years. After that time, you might see your rates go back down, assuming you’ve kept a clean driving record.
In New Jersey, the number of points placed on your driving record after a speeding ticket depends on how fast you were driving. Speeding one to 14 mph over the limit results in two points, 15 to 29 mph over the limit can give you four points and you can expect five points after a speeding conviction of 30 mph or higher. However, it’s important to remember insurance companies do not always use points to calculate a surcharge and if they do, they are not the same as speeding ticket points. New Jersey drivers may experience an increase in their car insurance premiums after a speeding ticket, but points on your driving record do not directly translate to an insurance premium increase.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2023 rates for ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Rates are weighted based on the population density in each geographic region. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2021 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incidents: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), single speeding ticket.
Gender: The following states do not use gender as a determining factor in calculating premiums: California, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, North Carolina, Pennsylvania.
Age: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile (40 years) applied. Age is not a contributing rating factor in Hawaii and Massachusetts due to state regulations.