The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
A speeding ticket in Georgia is typically considered a misdemeanor, but it can still be a costly mistake. A driver with a speeding ticket on their record in Georgia sees an average of a 20 percent increase in premiums, according to rates obtained by Quadrant Information Services. If you do find yourself in this situation, you may find it helpful to compare rates with other insurance providers in an effort to keep your premiums as low as possible.
How much is a speeding ticket in Georgia?
The fine for a speeding ticket in Georgia varies depending on a number of factors, including the location of the violation and the severity of the speeding. Typically, fines for first time speeders are:
- $0 for driving five mph over the limit or less.
- $25 for driving above five mph but below ten mph over the limit.
- $100 for driving above ten mph but below 14 mph over the limit.
- $125 for driving above 14 mph but below 19 mph over the limit.
- $150 for driving above 19 mph but below 24 mph over the limit.
- $500 for driving above 24 mph but below 34 mph over the limit.
There are a number of “aggravating” circumstances which can increase these base fines. For example, speeding in a highway construction zone can be punishable with a $2,000 fine and up to 12 months jail time. Georgia also imposes a “super speeder” fine of $200 on top of the base fine for drivers exceeding a speed of 85 miles per hour.
Insurance premiums can be directly impacted to varying degrees by points issued in Georgia for traffic violations. A driver ticketed for exceeding the speed limit by at least 15 miles per hour can receive between two to six points.
How much does a speeding ticket increase your car insurance in Georgia?
In addition to fines and points, in Georgia, it is likely that a speeding ticket will increase the premiums paid for auto insurance. Statistically, males have been determined to be higher risk drivers than women. As a result, males will often pay higher car insurance premiums. The chart below reflects this as a slightly higher increase in premiums for men following a speeding ticket.
Average annual full coverage premium in Georgia
|Age||Rate before speeding ticket||Rate after speeding ticket||% increase|
As reflected above, it pays to adhere to speed limits in Georgia. While there are ways to potentially limit this increase with discounts and alternative coverage with other good car insurance companies, this effort itself can be costly and time consuming.
How to lower your car insurance after a speeding ticket in Georgia
A speeding ticket will most likely increase your premiums to some extent; however, there are steps you can take to possibly reduce how much you pay for your car insurance, even after a ticket. Consider taking some of the following steps for lower premiums whether or not you have a speeding ticket on your record.
Get quotes from other car insurance companies
Every auto insurance company in Georgia considers a different set of underwriting and rating factors in determining premiums. It is always useful to obtain and compare several car insurance quotes, but as the chart below shows, this can be particularly useful when you have received a speeding ticket because the resulting premium increase varies significantly from carrier to carrier.
Average annual full coverage premium by car insurance company in Georgia
|Car insurance company||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||% increase|
*Premiums are average annual full coverage premiums for 40-year-olds
Don’t forget to look at other important factors when shopping for the best coverage. Research online as well as through discussion with agents to understand companies’ financial ratings and ability to pay claims, customer reviews, coverage options and available discounts.
Look for discounts
Before shopping coverage, make sure you have taken advantage of all of the discounts that your current carrier offers. For example, auto insurance companies which also provide homeowners coverage will often offer a “bundling” discount if you cover both your home and auto with that carrier. There are many others based upon your age, type of vehicle and overall driving history.
Modify existing coverages
There are certain auto liability minimums that most state laws require drivers to maintain and Georgia is no exception. There may, however, be ways to modify comprehensive or collision coverage on older vehicles without liens which you will not likely replace anyway if it were totaled. Additionally, you may be able to reduce premiums by increasing deductibles. If you do decide to increase your deductible, you should consider setting aside the amount of the deductible in emergency savings so you know you can cover the amount for this out-of-pocket expense.
Other speeding ticket considerations
In Georgia, you always have the right to appear in court and contest a speeding ticket. Alternatively, you can simply pay a fine online and avoid court.
Georgia has a point system which ranges from two to six points added to your driver’s license for certain traffic violations. Points are not assessed for speeding violations where the driver exceeds the limit by less than 15 miles per hour. However, serious violators will be punished. A driver receiving 15 points in a 24 month period can have a driver’s license suspended.
Frequently asked questions
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2022 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Rates are weighted based on the population density in each geographic region. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2020 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: single speeding ticket.
Age: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the ages 18-60 (base: 40 years) applied.
Gender: The following states do not use gender as a determining factor in calculating premiums: California, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, North Carolina, Pennsylvania.