The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
Speeding is a fairly common, if incredibly dangerous, driving habit. Higher rates of speed can contribute to accidents — and more severe ones at that. Accidents aside, Arkansas speeding tickets can result in fines, license suspension or even jail time if you are a chronic offender. Plus, a speeding conviction on your driving record will also impact your auto insurance rates for years to come.
How much is a speeding ticket in Arkansas?
The cost of a speeding ticket in Arkansas depends on the circumstances. How much the speed limit was exceeded and how many times the driver has been cited for speeding in recent years are taken into account. For instance, a speeding ticket for going 15 over the posted limit can be significantly more expensive than one for speeding less than 15 mph over.
Speeding ticket consequences in Arkansas may include:
- Speeding less than 15 mph over the posted limit
- Up to a $100 fine or up to 10 days in jail for the first offense
- Up to a $200 fine or up to 20 days in jail for the second offense within a year
- Up to a $500 fine and possibly up to 6 months in jail for further offenses within a year
- Points added to drivers record
- 4 points for exceeding the speed limit by 11 to 20 mph
- 5 points for exceeding the speed limit by 21 to 30 mph
- Drivers going more than 20 over the posted limit may be charged with reckless driving
- Drivers with repeat convictions of speeding may have their licenses suspended
Further, you may be wondering how long a speeding ticket stays on your record in Arkansas. Generally, it will remain for three years after the conviction.
How much does a speeding ticket increase your car insurance in Arkansas?
The fine you pay for a ticket is not the only financial consequence. You will likely also face a car insurance premium increase following a speeding ticket. On average, Arkansas drivers pay an annual $1,907 for full coverage and $443 for minimum coverage car insurance. But drivers with marks on their driving records will likely pay more.
So, how much does your insurance go up for a speeding ticket in Arkansas? After just one Arkansas speeding ticket conviction, average rates increase to $2,301 and $546. As shown in the chart below, the average rate increase is 21 percent, though your age and gender also play a role. Your gender is important because men are statistically more likely to engage in risky behaviors, and crashes caused by male drivers are generally more serious than those caused by female drivers.
Similarly, younger and older drivers are typically considered riskier to insure than those closer to middle age. As a result, men and older people are often considered riskier drivers and pay higher rates, especially after a ticket.
|Age||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||Percentage increase|
How to lower your car insurance after a speeding ticket in Arkansas
Although your premium may go up after an Arkansas speeding ticket, there may still be ways you can save money on your auto insurance.
Get quotes from other car insurance companies
Some car insurance companies weigh traffic violations more heavily than others, so you may find another company can offer you a lower premium than your current carrier. To find the best car insurance company in Arkansas for you, get quotes from several insurers to compare prices and coverage offerings.
The table below shows average rates from several popular Arkansas insurance companies before and after a ticket.
|Car insurance company||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||Percentage increase|
|Southern Farm Bureau||$1,167||$1,257||8%|
*Premiums are average annual full coverage premiums for 40-year-olds
Although cost might be your most significant consideration, you may want to read carrier reviews and make note of other company traits, too, such as customer service, financial stability, claims satisfaction, coverage options and discount opportunities.
Look for discounts
It’s become increasingly common for auto insurers to maintain a competitive edge by offering car insurance discounts to eligible drivers. Some insurers may only have a few, but others have an extensive list. Some of the more commonly available discounts are listed and explained below:
- Car and home bundling: When you purchase home and car insurance from the same provider, they may extend a discount to you.
- Defensive driving courses: Many companies will discount rates for drivers who have completed an approved defensive driving course.
- Telematics programs: Companies are increasingly creating and offering usage-based car insurance, also known as telematics insurance.
- Multi-car policies: Having more than one vehicle on your policy may net you an overall discount.
Frequently asked questions
Even when considering speeding tickets, the best car insurance company for one driver may not be the best for another. When looking for the best car insurance company for you after a speeding conviction, you’ll likely want to compare coverage options and quotes from several different insurers. If you only have one speeding ticket on your record, that may not restrict your options significantly. However, if you have multiple offenses, it may be beneficial to look for insurers that offer coverage for high-risk drivers.
You don’t technically have to tell your car insurance company when you get a speeding ticket, but insurers will specifically ask for this information when applying for a new quote. Lying on those applications can warrant the company canceling and refusing coverage, so it’s best to be honest. And even if you don’t tell your current insurer, they will likely gather this information from state sources (like the Department of Motor Vehicles) when your policy is up for renewal. Rate increases after a speeding ticket are most likely to occur during policy renewal periods, too.
There is no single car insurance company that is the cheapest for every driver. To find the cheapest car insurance company for you, it may help to request quotes from several different providers for the same types of coverage and policy limits. Then, you can compare them to see which offers you the most affordable rates for the coverage you want.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2023 rates for ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Rates are weighted based on the population density in each geographic region. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2021 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incidents: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), single speeding ticket.
Gender: The following states do not use gender as a determining factor in calculating premiums: California, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, North Carolina, Pennsylvania.
Age: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile (40 years) applied. Age is not a contributing rating factor in Hawaii and Massachusetts due to state regulations.