Drivers in the state of Nevada are required to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance to drive legally. The legal minimum is 25/50/20, but it is possible (and in many cases is desirable) to purchase more than the minimum in order to have the best car insurance in Nevada.
You are also required to carry proof of your insurance with you at all times when you are behind the wheel. Evidence of that insurance can be either your insurance card, which you receive when you purchase a policy, or electronic proof on your cell phone. If a police officer stops you, they will most likely ask to see your proof of insurance.
Car insurance laws in Nevada
Nevada car insurance laws are similar to many other states’ laws. They cover liability, which is the insurance that pays for damages and injuries to the other driver, their passengers, and their car in an at-fault accident. Legally, you will need at least the following liability coverage, which is often written 25/50/20:
- $25,000 bodily injury (BI) liability: If you cause an accident, your insurer would pay up to $25,000 for a single person’s injuries.
- $50,000 total: If more than one person is injured, your insurer will pay up to $50,000 for all injuries.
- $20,000 property damage (PD) liability: This type of liability will cover damage to the other driver’s car, as well as any other property damage, for example, if you hit a fence or light post.
Nevada is not the cheapest state for car insurance. The state average for minimum coverage is $709, which is above the national average of $563. Full coverage, which includes collision and comprehensive, is $2,058, while the national average is $1,738.
Liability insurance in Nevada
Nevada minimum car insurance is solely related to liability — in other words, Nevada’s insurance laws protect the other driver and their passengers if you cause an accident. To protect yourself financially, you may want to consider additional coverage.
It is also a good idea to purchase more than the minimum requirement if you are able to. Consider, for example, the ramifications if you run a red light and cause an accident that injures several people and totals the other driver’s car.
Medical care in Nevada is not inexpensive, especially if surgery or rehab care is needed. The $25,000 minimum BI coverage would not last very long in that case, and you could be left with significant out-of-pocket costs.
$20,000 property damage coverage is also fairly low. If the car you total is a newer SUV, truck, or luxury sedan, it is likely that it would be worth more than $20,000. If that is the limit of your coverage, you would be personally liable for paying anything over that amount.
Is Nevada a no-fault state?
Nevada is not one of the 12 states that are considered no-fault. In a no-fault state, you file claims with your own insurance company, no matter who is at fault in an accident. No-fault laws also limit the type of lawsuit that can be filed against any driver following an accident.
In a no-fault state, you are required to carry personal injury protection (PIP) insurance, which would cover you and your passengers for injuries following an accident. Since it is not a no-fault state, this coverage is not available in Nevada. You can, however, purchase medical payments (medpay) coverage, which is similar.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Nevada
Nevada insurance laws include complex penalties for those who drive without insurance. Fees and other penalties vary depending on whether it is your first, second, or third infraction.
To summarize, the reinstatement fee you will be required to pay ranges from $251 to $751.There will also be a fine for all except the first infraction that is $250-$1,000. You may be required to subsequently carry an SR-22 as proof of having insurance and if this is your third offense within five years, your license will be suspended for a minimum of 30 days.
Additional auto insurance coverage options in Nevada
Nevada auto insurance requirements might not be enough to cover you in a serious accident, and they do not cover injuries to yourself or your passengers–only the other driver, passengers, and vehicle. There are optional insurance types that you can purchase to give you more robust and comprehensive coverage, including the following:
- Collision: Collision covers your own vehicle in an accident, as well as any objects that you hit. It may be required if you lease your car, and it does include a deductible.
- Comprehensive: Usually grouped with collision, this type of coverage is for non-accident mishaps, such as theft, vandalism or weather situations (for example, if a tree falls on your car in a windstorm). Like collision, comprehensive may be required by lenders and has a deductible.
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist: More than 10% of Nevada’s drivers are on the road illegally without insurance. If you are in an accident with one, this coverage will pay for your injuries and more. It can also kick in if the other driver does not have enough insurance to cover all damage and injuries.
- Medical payments (medpay): This coverage will help pay your medical costs, and those of anyone in your car, following an accident.
- Rental reimbursement: This optional coverage will pay for a loaner if your car is being repaired following an accident.
- Gap insurance: If your car is totaled, you will receive a check from your insurer for the depreciated value of the car. If you owe more than that on a car loan, however, this coverage will pay the difference.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best car insurance company in Nevada?
There are a number of insurers who are writing solid policies for Nevada drivers. To find the best car insurance company for your own needs, you will want to do some online research and obtain several quotes. A good place to start your search is with Bankrate’s Best Nevada Car Insurance Companies 2021 listing.
What is the cheapest car insurance in Nevada?
There is no one insurer who always has the cheapest rates. Your premium is determined by a variety of factors including the age and model of your car, your credit rating, even your marital status — and your price quote will be unique to your own circumstances. A good place to start looking is with our Cheap Car Insurance Companies of 2021 listing.
Is Nevada minimum car insurance enough for me?
Possibly not, especially if you are involved in a serious accident. The minimum 25/50/20 is a good place to start, but costs could easily spiral above those amounts if there are injuries or significant property damage. If you can afford more coverage, such as 100/300/50, it is a good idea to purchase it.