In Minnesota, failing to pull over after a car accident is illegal. Although Minnesota has a relatively low rate of hit-and-runs, these types of accidents do happen. The potential for hit-and-run accidents is one reason why car insurance is required in most states, including Minnesota. If you drive in Minnesota, it is important to understand the consequences of a hit-and-run and how it could impact your car insurance rate.

Compare rates and save on auto insurance today!

Close X
Advertising Disclosure
This advertisement is powered by, LLC, a licensed insurance producer (NPN: 19966249) and a corporate affiliate of Bankrate. The offers and links that appear on this advertisement are from companies that compensate in different ways. The compensation received and other factors, such as your location, may impact what offers and links appear, and how, where and in what order they appear. While we seek to provide a wide range of offers, we do not include every product or service that may be available. Our goal is to keep information accurate and timely, but some information may not be current. Your actual offer from an advertiser may be different from the offer on this advertisement. All offers are subject to additional terms and conditions.

Compare auto insurance rates

Answer a few questions to see personalized rates from top carriers.
Caret DownCaret Up
Please select age
Location-Icon Created with Sketch.

Save on auto insurance with quotes from trusted providers like:


Drivers switch & save an average of $750+/year

Liberty Mutual

Are you overpaying for auto insurance?


Safe drivers choose Allstate®

Powered by (NPN: 19966249)
Insurance Disclosure, LLC is a licensed insurance producer (NPN: 19966249). services are only available in states where it is licensed. may not offer insurance coverage in all states or scenarios. All insurance products are governed by the terms in the applicable insurance policy, and all related decisions (such as approval for coverage, premiums, commissions and fees) and policy obligations are the sole responsibility of the underwriting insurer. The information on this site does not modify any insurance policy terms in any way.

See more providers in
Choose from insurers in

Hit-and-runs in Minnesota

A hit-and-run is when the at-fault driver in an accident does not pull over after a crash, and instead flees the scene. Data shows that Minnesota has one of the lowest rates of fatal hit-and-runs, but nationwide, hit-and-run accidents are surprisingly common. The AAA Foundation found that in 2015, there was one hit-and-run every 43 seconds in the United States.

Hit-and-run accidents are typically more common in states with a high number of uninsured drivers. Fortunately, Minnesota has one of the lowest numbers of uninsured drivers in the country. Fewer than 10% of drivers in Minnesota are estimated to be uninsured.

Minnesota hit-and-run laws

Minnesota hit-and-run laws state that it is illegal to flee after a collision. If a driver or any of their passengers are injured, the at-fault driver is also responsible for rendering aid and contacting emergency services. The same laws apply for a driver who hits an unattended vehicle.

The Minnesota hit-and-run statute also states that an at-fault driver must provide their personal information and vehicle registration information to the other drivers involved. The at-fault driver is given 72 hours to provide their insurance information if they do not provide it at the scene.

Hit-and-run drivers who cause property damage are typically charged with a misdemeanor. If the accident results in death or severe injuries, the driver may be charged with a felony, could face a fine between $3,000 and $5,000, and may spend up to three years in jail. There is also the potential for license suspension depending on the circumstances.

How hit-and-runs impact car insurance rates in Minnesota

Filing a hit-and-run claim could have a dramatic impact on your car insurance premium in Minnesota. Drivers who have their license suspended following a hit-and-run are not required to purchase SR-22 insurance in Minnesota, but it is possible that their insurance company could refuse to renew their policy.

The insurance rate increase after a hit-and-run claim in Minnesota is much greater than the rate increase after a standard accident, where both drivers stop to exchange information. The average premium increase after a hit-and-run in Minnesota is slightly higher than the United States national average rate increase.

Average annual full coverage premiums:

Before a hit-and-run After a hit-and-run After a standard accident
Minnesota average $1,643 $3,322 $2,240
National average $1,674 $3,367 $2,311

3 things to do after a hit-and-run in Minnesota

Getting into a hit-and-run can be frightening. If you are hit by another driver who flees the scene, safely pull over and make sure you, your passengers and anyone else involved is safe and unhurt. Call 911 immediately if anyone needs medical attention. Once you have determined that everyone is safe, here are the steps you should follow:

  1. Call the police: If you’ve called for medical aid, police may already be on their way. Otherwise, you can call to report the crash. An officer will arrive on scene, assess the situation and write a report. They will also ask you to recount any information you remember, like the color or make of the vehicle that hit you.
  2. Take photos of the damage: Before you leave the scene, take detailed photos of the damage to your vehicle, if it’s safe to do so. If your car is getting towed, make sure to get the information about where your car will be taken. If you or any of your passengers were treated by paramedics or hospital staff, hold onto those medical records, and keep a record of future medical costs associated with the hit-and-run.
  3. Call your insurance company: Calling your insurance company is the last thing you should do after a hit-and-run, if you want to file a claim on your own policy. An agent can help you understand what your policy may cover and how to file a claim. You may be asked to provide the photos you took and the police report to help expedite the claim process.

Will insurance cover a hit-and-run?

If the at-fault driver is found and has insurance, their liability coverage should take care of your vehicle damages and injury costs.

In Minnesota, your own car insurance policy may cover the damages resulting from a hit-and-run. Every driver is required to carry uninsured motorist coverage, which could pay for your medical expenses. Minnesota drivers also carry personal injury protection (PIP), which is designed to cover your medical costs and other qualifying expenses if you get injured in a crash, regardless of who caused it.

If you have a full coverage policy, your collision coverage could help pay for the damage to your vehicle. However, keep in mind that there is often a deductible on collision coverage.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Minnesota car insurance cost?

In Minnesota, the average cost of car insurance is $1,643 per year for a full coverage policy and $537 per year for a minimum coverage policy. Minnesota drivers pay slightly less for auto insurance than the average American driver. However, car insurance rates are personalized based on unique factors like ZIP code, age, driving record, and the coverage types and levels you choose.

What is the best car insurance company?

The best car insurance company is different for every driver. For example, a driver looking for the cheapest rates might choose a different carrier than a driver looking for the best customer service. To find the best provider for you, you may want to shop around and compare companies based on your personal criteria.

What happens if a hit-and-run driver is never found?

Law enforcement officers investigate most hit-and-run accidents, but it is possible that the driver will never be found. Having proper insurance coverage can help take some of the financial stress off when you are the victim of a hit-and-run, as your own policy could step in to help pay for some of the expenses.


Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:

  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $50,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • $500 collision deductible
  • $500 comprehensive deductible

To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.

These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.

Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.