Maine car insurance laws are some of the most robust in the U.S., with high minimum levels of liability coverage. Those levels are set at 50/100/25. Maine drivers are also required to carry medical payments (medpay) coverage, as well as uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance (UM/UIM) insurance.
Despite these high minimums, Maine insurance premiums are at the low end. The average cost for a minimum-coverage policy in Maine is $227; that number rises to $782 if you add in optional collision and comprehensive coverage.
It is worth noting, however, that even though the minimum levels of coverage are fairly high, they may not be adequate in the case of a serious accident or mishap. Maine drivers should consider purchasing as much insurance, especially liability, as they can afford, from an insurer that understands the needs of Maine drivers.
Car insurance laws in Maine
To meet Maine auto insurance requirements, there are several types of coverage you will need to purchase from your insurer. Although there are additional coverage options you can add to your policy, Maine insurance laws indicate that you need the following at the very least:
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per person, per accident
- $100,000 total bodily injury liability, per accident (if more than one person is injured)
- $25,000 property damage liability
- Medpay coverage of $2,000
- UM/UIM bodily injury liability of $50,000 per person; $100,000 total per accident
Liability insurance in Maine
The liability portion of your coverage means that you, through your insurance company, are responsible for paying the medical and other costs incurred by the driver or passengers in an at-fault accident. Property damage liability, meanwhile, means that you are responsible for damage to the other person’s car or property such as a fence or light post.
The Medpay coverage, as the name suggests, pays for medical costs for you or your passengers. The UM/UIM coverage kicks in if you are involved in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, and they are at fault.
So, for example, if you are rear-ended by another car, and your injuries result in $40,000 worth of medical bills, your UM coverage would be available to pay those bills if the other driver is illegally driving without a license — or if your injuries cost more than their coverage limits.
Medpay is generally used for minor injuries or lost wages in an accident. It may also cover you if you are a pedestrian or riding a bike and are hit by a car. Although the minimum — $2,000 — is fairly low, you can purchase additional medpay insurance inexpensively.
Is Maine a no-fault state?
Maine is not one of the 12 states in the U.S. that is a no-fault state. No-fault states require drivers to carry personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. In these states, you would apply to your own insurer when making a claim, rather than to the other driver’s company if they are at fault.
In Maine, you can take another driver to court if you need to.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Maine
You should always carry proof of your insurance with you in Maine. If you are unable to provide your insurance card when asked by a police officer, you will be fined between $100 and $500. You will also face the possibility of a suspended license if you fail to produce proof of your insurance within 30 days, as well as the revocation of your registration.
Additional auto insurance coverage options in Maine
In addition to the Maine minimum car insurance requirements, there are other, optional coverage types that you can choose to add to your policy. The cost of these will vary depending on a number of factors, from the age of your car to your own credit history. Some common optional coverages include:
- Collision: To provide coverage for your car following an accident that causes damage, you need collision insurance. If your car is old and not worth much, this may not be essential, but for a newer car, it makes sense to purchase collision coverage.
- Comprehensive: Comprehensive covers damage to your car from non-accident mishaps, including theft and vandalism.
- Excess medical payment: This provides added coverage on top of your basic medpay, which may only be for a few thousand dollars.
- Gap insurance: If your car is totaled, your insurance will give you a payout that is based on the car’s depreciated value. But what if you owe more than that on your car loan? Gap insurance can pay the difference between your claim and what you owe, so that you are not stuck with out-of-pocket costs to pay off the loan.
- New car replacement: If your new (two years old or less) car is totaled and you have new car replacement insurance, your insurer will give you enough money to purchase a new model of the same car, rather than paying you the depreciated value.
- Ride-sharing coverage: if you drive for Uber or another ride-sharing company, this is important coverage, since use of a car for business is not covered by a basic car insurance policy.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best car insurance company in Maine?
There are a number of car insurance companies that are writing excellent policies for Maine drivers at a reasonable cost. We recommend you start your search at our Best Maine Car Insurance Companies 2021 listing and get quotes from several insurers to see who best fits your needs.
What is the cheapest car insurance in Maine?
There is no single car insurance company that always has the lowest prices. The insurer who gives your neighbor a low price might not do the same for you. A good place to start your search is with our Cheap Car Insurance Companies of 2021 page. We recommend getting several quotes to see who is most reasonably priced for your own circumstances.
Do I need more than the minimum insurance in Maine?
Insurance professionals suggest that you purchase as much liability insurance as you can comfortably afford. Although Maine’s minimum requirements are fairly high, in a significant accident with multiple injuries the minimum might not be enough to cover all medical fees.