State taxes: Kansas


At Bankrate we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here’s an explanation for

Kansas has 2 state income tax rates: 2.7% and 4.6%. The taxes are collected from residents and nonresidents who earn income in the Sunflower State. More on Kansas taxes can be found in the tabbed pages below.

Personal income tax

Kansas revised its individual income tax system in 2013, going from 3 tax brackets to 2 and reducing the rates for both.

For single taxpayers, they are:

  • 2.7% on the first $15,000 of taxable income.
  • 4.6% on taxable income of $15,001 and more.

For married people filing joint returns, the rates remain the same, but the income brackets are doubled.

Additional rate reductions are scheduled through tax year 2018.

Kansas tax returns are due April 15 or the next business day if that date falls on a weekend or holiday.

State tax forms can be downloaded at the Kansas Department of Revenue website.

Sales taxes

The state sales tax in Kansas increased on July 1, 2015, from 6.15% to 6.5%.

Various cities and counties in Kansas have an additional local sales tax. A list of local retailer sales tax rates is available on the state’s website.

Kansas’ food sales tax credit program is available to eligible taxpayers as a $125 nonrefundable tax credit for every exemption claimed on the filer’s federal income tax.

Personal and real property taxes

Homes, commercial real property and certain other property categories are appraised at “market value” as of the first day of January each year. Market value is the amount of money a well-informed buyer would pay and a well-informed seller would accept for property in an open and competitive market without any outside influence. Property is assessed by county appraisers and collected at the county level.

Agricultural land, certain motor vehicles, and commercial and industrial machinery and equipment are appraised using a value-assessed method, not market value. Check with the division of property valuation for current value and tax rates by property classification.

All individuals, companies and corporations who, on Jan. 1, own or have subject to their control any tangible personal property must file each year a personal property assessment form listing the property with the county appraiser by March 15. Any taxable personal property not listed by the March deadline will have a penalty applied to the assessed value of the property.

All or at least half of the tax is due by Dec. 20, with the second half due by May 10 of the following year. If you have a mortgage loan on your property, you will receive a statement with tax information on it. Your tax bill will be sent to the mortgage company or bank, and the tax will be paid out of your escrow account.

A rebate on a portion of property taxes paid on a Kansas resident’s principal residence is available through the homestead refund. If you meet the requirements, claim the refund by filing Form K-40H.

Inheritance and estate taxes

The Kansas inheritance (succession) tax has been repealed. Due to the retroactive nature of the repeal, any succession tax that has been paid will be refunded.

Kansas no longer imposes a stand-alone (not connected to federal law) estate tax.

Other Kansas tax facts

Kansas’ intangibles tax is a local tax levied on gross earnings received from intangible property such as savings accounts, stocks, bonds, accounts receivable and mortgages. An intangibles tax return must be filed if the tax due is $5 or more. No payment is made with the form. Rather, the local tax official will compute your tax and send you a bill.

Kansas requires individuals classified as drug dealers to pay the state’s drug tax. Anyone who manufactures, produces, ships, transports or imports into Kansas or possesses more than 28 grams of marijuana (processed or marijuana plants), 1 gram of a controlled substance, or 10 or more dosage units of a controlled substance is classified as a drug dealer.

More information is available at the Kansas Department of Revenue website.

To download tax forms on this site, you will need to install a free copy of Adobe Acrobat Reader. Click here for instructions.