Getting a driving under the influence (DUI) citation comes with significant consequences, one of which is higher car insurance rates. After a DUI in Wyoming, your car insurance premium will increase by an average of 91%, slightly lower than the national average rate increase of 99%.
Drunk driving statistics show that drivers who receive a DUI or DWI are riskier to insure, so it is understandable that car insurance companies increase their premiums until the driver can prove safe driving behaviors. However, it is possible to find affordable car insurance after a DUI in Wyoming.
DUI laws in Wyoming
DUI convictions in Wyoming come with severe penalties. You could face up to six months in prison and a maximum fine of $750 for a first Wyoming DUI offense. If driving with a child when you are pulled over, the potential jail sentence is up to one year. For subsequent offenses, the jail sentence and fine can increase significantly.
For a first offense, drivers who have a BAC of .15 or above are required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle. For subsequent DUI offenses in Wyoming, drivers must install an ignition interlock device, regardless of their BAC level, when they were pulled over.
Another Wyoming DUI penalty is that all drivers who get convicted of a DUI or DWI will automatically lose their driving privileges. Your license will be suspended for 90 days for a first offense, and for second and third offenses, your license will be revoked for one year or longer. To get your license reinstated, you are required to provide proof of insurance with an SR-22 certificate.
How a DUI affects your car insurance in Wyoming
The cost of a DUI in Wyoming is significant, especially when it comes to car insurance premiums. On average, a Wyoming driver will see their car insurance premium increase by 91% after a DUI. The average rate increase in Wyoming is only slightly less than the United States national average rate of 99%.
|Pre-DUI||Post DUI||Percent increase|
Typically, a Wyoming DUI will stay on your driving record for a minimum of three years. During that time, you will pay much higher car insurance premiums. After the three years is up, your premium will likely return to its normal level, barring any other traffic violations, claims or changes in personal circumstances. It is possible that your insurance company may not allow you to renew your policy or could deny coverage if you get a DUI.
Another thing to consider is that Wyoming drivers must carry an SR-22 insurance certificate after getting a DUI. SR-22 insurance is not an actual insurance policy but a form of proof of insurance that proves you meet the state’s minimum insurance requirements. You can find SR-22 insurance from providers that specialize in non-standard car insurance.
Finding car insurance after a DUI in Wyoming
Although it can be difficult to find car insurance after a DUI in Wyoming, it is possible to get relatively affordable coverage. Start by shopping around for providers that will insure drivers with a DUI on their record, and then get quotes from a few insurance companies. Here are some sample quotes for a Wyoming driver with one DUI from some of the biggest companies in the region:
|Car insurance company||Average annual premium after a DUI|
During your provider search, look for insurance companies that offer multiple discounts. Most insurance companies will lower your rate if you bundle your home and auto insurance policy, pay your annual premium in full, enroll in automatic payments and take a defensive driving course.
Frequently asked questions
How will a DUI in Wyoming impact my criminal record?
Like many states, a DUI in Wyoming will appear on your criminal record and stay there for your lifetime unless you successfully have it expunged. A first offense DUI is usually a misdemeanor, but if you get convicted of two or more DUIs in Wyoming, you could be charged with a felony, which has more serious consequences. Felony convictions cannot be expunged from your record in Wyoming. The good news is that a DUI will only stay on your driving record for ten years in Wyoming, and, in many cases, insurance rates will begin to drop to pre-DUI levels after three to five years.
How much does an SR-22 cost in Wyoming?
SR-22 insurance certificates in Wyoming are not expensive, although your insurance premiums will likely be higher if you are considered high-risk and required to get one. The SR-22 itself is not insurance, so there is no monthly premium or deductible, and the only cost associated with it is the filing fee. Typically, insurance companies charge around $50 to file the paperwork on your behalf with the Wyoming DOT. You might also have to pay a renewal fee for each year that the SR-22 must stay on your record.
What happens if I lose insurance coverage after a DUI?
After getting a DUI in Wyoming, it is possible that your insurance company could refuse to renew your policy, leaving you uninsured. In this case, your best option is to shop around and find an insurance company that will insure a driver with a DUI on their record. We recommend looking for insurance companies that focus on non-standard insurance, specializing in insurance for high-risk drivers.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.