Skip to Main Content

Finding car insurance in Vermont after a DUI

Vermont, Manchester, main street, dawn
Walter Bibikow/Getty Images
Bankrate Logo

Why you can trust Bankrate

While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation for . This content is powered by (NPN: 8781838). For more information, please see our

Vermont drivers who have been convicted of a DUI pay some of the highest car insurance rates in the state. After receiving a DUI in Vermont, your car insurance premium will increase about 135%, which is more than the United States national average increase of 99%. As a result, it can be challenging to find affordable car insurance after getting a DWI in Vermont.

DUI laws in Vermont

Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is illegal in Vermont, and the consequences are severe. If you get a DUI in Vermont, you will automatically lose your driver’s license and pay an average of $6,500 in fines and court costs. You can also receive jail time for up to two years after a first offense and even longer for any subsequent violations.

In addition, Vermont drivers who get a DUI or DWI are required to attend alcohol and/or drug counseling, which costs between $500 and $1,000. In most cases, drivers are also required to have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle, which comes with an installation fee and monthly monitoring fee. Getting a DUI in Vermont can cost upwards of $10,000 out-of-pocket, not including the increase in car insurance premiums.

How a DUI affects your car insurance in Vermont

Vermont drivers who get a DUI will see their car insurance rate increase by an average of 135%, a much more significant increase than the United States national average rate increase of 99%. If you pay the Vermont statewide average premium of $1,207 for full coverage, your car insurance premium would more than double after a DUI, increasing to $2,839.

Pre-DUI Post DUI Percent increase
Vermont $1,207 $2,839 +135%
National average $1,674 $3,336 +99%

Car insurance rates increase after a DUI because drunk driving or impaired driving shows insurance companies that you are a high-risk driver. If you are willing to get behind the wheel after drinking or using drugs, it suggests that you may not be a responsible driver and are more likely to file claims. As a result, some insurance providers might not renew your policy or may deny coverage if you have a DUI on your record.

Vermont drivers who get convicted of a DUI are also required to purchase SR-22 insurance. SR-22 insurance is not actually a type of insurance but rather a certificate that proves you carry the minimum amount of insurance required in the state. The document is required to get your license back and must remain on your record for three years.

Finding car insurance after a DUI in Vermont

Although it can be difficult to get car insurance after a DUI in Vermont, it is possible to find somewhat affordable coverage. First, take some time to shop around and get quotes from a few different insurance companies. Then, compare the quotes to see which provider can offer the lowest rate for the amount of coverage you need.

To give you a sense of the rates you can expect, we looked at sample quotes for a driver with a single DUI conviction in Vermont. The providers with the most competitive rates were USAA and State Farm. In the table below, we’ve highlighted the average annual rates from five providers after a DUI to show a range of premiums.

Another way to find affordable car insurance post-DUI is to look for providers that offer multiple discounts. Most car insurance companies offer discounts for bundling your home and auto policy, enrolling in automatic payments, insuring a new vehicle and paying your annual premium in full, which a DUI conviction will not impact.

Car insurance company Average annual premium after a DUI
USAA $2,126
State Farm $2,481
Geico $3,227
Nationwide $3,368
Allstate $4,287

Frequently asked questions

How will a DUI in Vermont impact my criminal record?

Driving under the influence is a criminal offense, and if you get convicted of a DUI in Vermont, it will stay on your criminal record for your lifetime. A first and second offense DUI in Vermont is a misdemeanor, but after three offenses or more, you will get charged with a felony. Vermont takes DUIs very seriously, and a DUI cannot be expunged from your record. However, you can petition the court to seal your record, so the conviction is not accessible except in particular circumstances, such as an additional court case. Even then, that option is only available if it’s been ten years, it was a first-time offense and you have not been convicted of any additional crimes in that time. Although a DUI will show up on your criminal record permanently, your car insurance rate will not be affected for your entire life; your rates should begin to drop after three to five years if you maintain a clean driving record.

How much does Vermont SR-22 insurance cost?

Because Vermont SR-22 insurance is not an actual insurance policy, it does not have a premium or a deductible. You will have to pay a filing fee for the insurance company to submit the paperwork to the Vermont DMV, but the cost is usually around $50 or less.

How much car insurance is required in Vermont?

In the state of Vermont, drivers are required to carry 25/50/10 car insurance, which includes $25,000 in bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per accident and $10,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident. However, many drivers choose to raise their liability coverage limits for more protection and purchase optional coverages, like collision and comprehensive insurance.


Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:

  • $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $50,000 property damage liability per accident
  • $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • $500 collision deductible
  • $500 comprehensive deductible

To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.

These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.

Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction and lapse in coverage.

Written by
Elizabeth Rivelli
Insurance Contributor
Elizabeth Rivelli is a contributing insurance writer for Bankrate and has years of experience writing for insurance domains such as The Simple Dollar, and NextAdvisor, among others