The Bankrate promise
At Bankrate, we strive to help you make smarter financial decisions. To help readers understand how insurance affects their finances, we have licensed insurance professionals on staff who have spent a combined 47 years in the auto, home and life insurance industries. While we adhere to strict , this post may contain references to products from our partners. Here's an explanation of . Our content is backed by Coverage.com, LLC, a licensed entity (NPN: 19966249). For more information, please see our .
Driving infractions in West Virginia can affect everything from your license eligibility to your insurance bills. In the case of a speeding ticket, the state penalizes most violators with a fine and points on their license. You will also likely see an increase in your car insurance premiums. The average rate for car insurance in West Virginia before a speeding ticket is $1,580 for full coverage and $421 for minimum coverage. But after a ticket, average rates are $1,843 for full coverage and $491 for minimum coverage.
How much is a speeding ticket in West Virginia?
WV speeding ticket costs can get pretty expensive — fines increase with each infraction. The general fee schedule dictates that your first speeding ticket in the Mountain State will be no more than $100. However, a second conviction within one year can cost up to $200, and a third conviction within two years could cost up to $500. If you were going no more than 10 miles per hour above the posted speed limit on a controlled access highway or interstate highway, the court may charge you just $5 plus court costs.
Note that there are some special circumstances that could amount to increasingly expensive speeding ticket costs in West Virginia. For instance, if you speed more than 15 miles per hour over the posted speed limit near a school while children are present, you could get a ticket costing up to $500 and face six months in jail. West Virginia also assigns points to your driving record for each violation. How long points stay on your license in WV depends on the conviction, but it is typically two years for speeding.
How much does a speeding ticket increase your car insurance in West Virginia?
Your insurance will go up for a speeding ticket in West Virginia. However, given that some drivers pay more to start with, the increase may hit some people harder than others. For instance, men have higher premiums in West Virginia because male drivers get into more accidents. Younger drivers also have much higher annual premiums in West Virginia than drivers ages 25 and over.
On average in WV, your car insurance premiums will go up by 17 percent after a speeding ticket. Depending on how long the speeding ticket stays on your record in West Virginia, your rate may decrease eventually. Most tickets remain for a few years.
The chart below uses data from Quadrant Information Services to illustrate the average increase in premiums based on one speeding ticket.
|Age||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||Percent increase|
How to lower your car insurance after a speeding ticket in West Virginia
While your insurance company in West Virginia is almost certain to assign you a higher premium after a speeding ticket, you can often mitigate the increase. Taking the time to compare insurance companies and hunt down discounts could mean lower car insurance costs.
Get quotes from other car insurance companies
Note that the quote you receive from one company may not reflect the quotes you receive from other insurers. This is largely because each insurance company has a proprietary algorithm for calculating rates based on various factors individual to you. Even before a speeding ticket, you may be able to save hundreds per year by switching carriers. If your current insurer increases your premium after a ticket, it’s always worth getting car insurance quotes from at least three companies.
|Car insurance company||Average annual full coverage premium before speeding ticket||Average annual full coverage premium after speeding ticket||Percent increase|
*Premiums are average annual full coverage premiums for 40-year-olds
Look for discounts
Most car insurance companies offer several discount opportunities that could bring down drivers’ premiums. You may qualify for one or more discounts to help you offset any increases caused by a ticket. Common car insurance discounts include:
- Defensive driving courses: A defensive driving course not only offers beneficial driving and safety tips but may also help you save on car insurance premiums. Make sure the course is approved by the insurer before you enroll.
- Bundling discounts: You may be able to save by having your home and car insurance with the same company.
- Multiple car discounts: Many insurers also offer discounts to customers who have policies on more than one car. If you and your spouse currently have different insurers, consider choosing the same provider.
- Telematics discounts: You may also get a discount by switching to a policy that charges based on your driving habits or annual mileage. These discounts could be ideal for someone who works from home or doesn’t drive a lot.
Frequently asked questions
To find the best car insurance company with a speeding ticket on your record, it pays to shop around. Comparing multiple quotes for the same coverage types and policy limits can help you find the insurer that fits your budget and offers the options you need.
No, you don’t need to notify your insurance company about a speeding ticket. Your insurer will likely pull your driving record the next time they review your account for renewal and recalculate your premium based on any relevant changes.
Nationally, the car insurance companies with the cheapest average rates include Auto-Owners, USAA and Geico. However, the state where you live may have other affordable options. In West Virginia, the cheapest car insurance companies include Encompass and Nationwide. Keep in mind that your rates will vary based on several factors individual to you.
Bankrate utilizes Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2023 rates for ZIP codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Rates are weighted based on the population density in each geographic region. Quoted rates are based on a 40-year-old male and female driver with a clean driving record, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $300,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $50,000 property damage liability per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 comprehensive deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets each state’s requirements. Our base profile drivers own a 2021 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles annually.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparative purposes.
Incidents: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (base), single speeding ticket.
Gender: The following states do not use gender as a determining factor in calculating premiums: California, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, North Carolina, Pennsylvania.
Age: Rates were calculated by evaluating our base profile (40 years) applied. Age is not a contributing rating factor in Hawaii and Massachusetts due to state regulations.